We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A let down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Jardin de Frida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Jardin de Frida
Ranked #6 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hostel is miles from the beach and there was no bar. The beds were comfy and the showers were hot. It was not too expensive, but we ended up spending more money on taxis to the beach.

Tips:- get the local white mini van buses along the coast to Acumal and beyond. There is a local supermarket near by selling cheap beer. The local cafes sell good food but the language is a problem so its a gamble what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chitch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    52
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
59
51
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon trip in mexico allthough we planned to stay initally shorter in Tulum. Rooms are very spaciosus, breakfast amazing and hammocks in the garden for you to truly enjoy the moments. The cab to the beach is 25 pesos if u re lazy to walk. Definetly would recommend to rent a bike for a day to visit Tulum ruins and its numerous iguana inhabitants. As well there are so many cenotes and lagunas in surrounding which are to far to walk to.

As already commented before super tasty restaurant with one of best ceviches i had in my life its just across the street.

A tip for tulum - while enjoying sunset its also worth to go diving the coral reef we went with local boys who charged for both of us 200 pesos (inclusive with equipment) for amazing 1 and half hour of snorkling and seeing all fluorescent fished, admiring the beauty of the second biggest coral reef in the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _Matea_2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have stayed there twice in November 2013.
This is certainly a place, where you want to comeback, if you enjoy unique places to stay to.
Around small garden there are some rooms, private and dormitories, which design has been inspired by frieda kahlo art. There are interesting paintings on the walls and unique printed fabrics in the windows.
The spacius room I have spend few nights had his own terrace with a "jungle" like view, it was very nice to spend mornings outside on the sofa reading books. There was also really quiet place, although the hostel is standing just at the main road.

The staff is young, nice, and extremely helpful responsing for all questions and hosts needs.
The only thing that could be better were breakfasts, which were very simple, just a piece of bread, butter and jam or branflakes with banana. It wasn't a big deal because the kitchen is equipped with all accessories, so it was possible to make own meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neuromancerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at El Jardin de Frida for 2 nights in a private double room with bathroom. The room was huge with a giant sized bed (a rarity in hostels), wardrobe & hammock in the room. There is no AC, but there are 2 ceiling fans & a stand alone fan, which cooled the room sufficiently.

The hostel is about a 10-15 minute walk from Tulum bus station. It is located close to restaurants, a petrol station & two small supermarkets. There is a great seafood & ceviche restaurant opposite the hostel. The two guys on reception were also really helpful with recommending some cheap Mexican places to eat at, where the locals go. I can't remember the names of the places, but just ask at reception & they should be able to help you.

There is a communal kitchen for use & basic help yourself breakfast is included. There is also a book exchange split into different languages. Wifi is strong in the communal areas and OK in the bedrooms.

Tip: Don't just visit Tulum ruins when you visit, save some time to visit Gran Cenote too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I love this place. It's by beautiful, with colorful murals all over the walls and a luscious courtyard full of tropical vegetation and fun little statues. The dorm was comfortable and quiet, which is a welcome break from the noisy hostel atmosphere in Cancun. The shower was the best I've ever had at a hostel, with great water pressure. There is no AC but the fans are super powerful and we lucked out with rainy cool weather for our stay so I was quite comfortable. The location is great, just a 5-10 minute walk from dozens of restaurants and shops, and a 15 minute bike ride to the beach and ruins. Highly recommended for anyone passing through Tulum!

Room Tip: I stayed in the dorm by the kitchen and was very comfortable. Maybe I was just lucky or maybe this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abbyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I really enjoyed staying a few days in the lovely hostel El Jardin de Frida in Tulum. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel and restaurant are wonderfully decorated in the Mexican folk art style. The dorm I stayed in had a jungle theme and was spacious. And then the garden itself... great to spend some time in!
I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

El Jardin the Frida is a special place in Tulum pueblo. The whole place has been decorated very creatively in the Mexican folk art style. Our room was very big as well as the bed. The rooms have nice balconies. There is a fan, but doesn't really cool the room at night. The hotel is a 15 min walk from the center. Breakfast is just cereals and bananas but you can use the kitchen to make your own meals.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaB0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#67 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 115 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin de Frida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin de Frida

Property: El Jardin de Frida
Address: Av. Tulum Mza 32 | Lote 9, Centro, In Front Of Ceviche House El Camello Jr, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardín de Frida is your home in Tulum, we're an Eco-Cultural Poshtel, full of magic, culture and art built around a beautiful botanical garden. The project is inspired not only in Frida Kahlo's amazing life, but also in Mexico's great culture, art and traditions, offering all that in your stay. We are located in Tulum's residential area, on the main avenue, 5 minutes away from downtown and the bus station. We cater to guests looking for a quiet and comfortable place to relax, surrounded by a beautiful lush tropical garden. Our garden is programed to help you heal and release any energy you no longer wish to carry with you. You will be surrounded by the beauty of nature... The singing of the birds in the morning will wake you up and the chirping of the crickets at night will accompany you in your dreams. In our beautiful botanical garden you will find different species of local trees and plants, like the sacred Mayan tree or the chicle (bubble gum) tree, amongst others. Here you can learn about our local flora and their uses. We also have a hammock site where you can lay down below bamboo trees, a great place to arrive and chill after a day of exploring the area. We are concerned not only in the quality of service but also in developing activities that benefit the planet. We offer you a good price, an excellent service and an unforgettable stay full of magic, nature and Mexican culture. Here you SLEEP, LEARN and HEAL. Welcome HOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Jardin de Frida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing