We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel, not that awesome staff”
Review of El Jardin de Frida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Jardin de Frida
Ranked #6 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights in a Diego Rivera suite (bed room, kitchen, living room) that was the nicest hostel room I have ever stayed at. We have been here already 2 times because we like the calm location (a bit far from the beach, but all the hostels in Tulum are). It has been very clean on both of the stays we have had and as a place I highly recomend it! The down side of this hostel are that the wifi only works at the reception and that the staff is extremely unfriendly and doesn't know a lot and are not willing to help u (you have to ask many times and normally the answer is just "i don't know" and they are not willing to try and help u. The only person of the staff that was nice and really knew things was the clening lady! Also the breakfast that is included is very poor (cafe, white bread, cereals and banana) and when things run out u have to try to find a staff memember and ask to get more food. All in all, if u don't want to get help from the staff stay here, if u do, you will find better places like for example the secret garden where staff is really nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miromani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

First, I'd like to preface this by saying that my criticism should be seen as constructive as all of these issues are fixable, but they were certainly enough to make my 3 days spent there less enjoyable. We stayed in a private room with a king-sized bed and private bathroom.

Bathroom - it was awful. The walls and floors are covered in months, possibly years, of greenish-blackish mold. The floors were also a little slimy. This made the shower experience an unpleasant one. This is a tropical country and I'm sure the mold grows quickly, so they need to clean it more frequently. On the pro side, the water was hot and the pressure was great.

Noise - Dogs baking all night long. Two of the three nights were filled with dogs barking and fighting for the entire night. At first, I thought nothing could be done about this so I put in my ear plugs and tried to sleep. However, I discovered the source of the dog barking was Frida, the hotel's dog. Next door is an auto body shop with two rough guard dogs. Each night, an El Jardin employee leaves Frida (the adorable hotel dog) out front. Frida then picks fights with the two junk yard dogs and they go at it all night. This could EASILY be resolved by management by leaving Frida inside the hotel premises rather than putting her out front. There was one quiet night while staying there because someone forgot to put Frida out. If management says it's for security, they are full of it. Frida loves all people, even thieves and other undesirables, so there's no point having her out front. On the pro side, all hotels along the main street in the town center will be a little noisy. However, El Jardin is away from all of this so traffic and street noise is minimal. MANAGEMENT - please bring Frida inside and you will have the quietest hotel on the entire street. Future guests - if the employees don't bring Frida inside, simply open the front gate and bring her in yourself to get a good night's sleep.

Staff - Cesar, the man who works the desk in the mornings, was decent. He didn't go out of his way to be helpful, but he was OK. The woman who works the desk after that needs to be replaced. She spends most of her time watching movies and TV shows on the computer. She's very unhelpful and I would say lazy wouldn't be too inaccurate.

Cleaning service - there isn't one. They clean when you check out. That's it. You'll bring in plenty of sand and gravel from outside when you come back in the room which then ends up in your bathroom and bed. Basically the bottoms of your feet are black and dirty for the entire length of your stay. If management did a very quick mopping job every day (instead of watching videos on the reception computer), then this wouldn't be an issue.

Kitchen - It's a kitchen and you cook it in it. No complaints. However, and this is the big one, it closes early. Why? No idea. Security reasons? What security reasons? It's a fridge with your food in it and a water machine. The hotel already has a secure front gate so I'm not sure why the kitchen needs to be closed so early. This is awful if you come home after 8pm and you're thirsty or you need water to brush your teeth. You spend all day in the sun, get dehydrated, go out dancing or walking around at night, have some drinks, and then you come home and you're out of luck. No water for you! Management - please leave the kitchen open for water access!! It's a hot country and people get dehydrated! If you can't leave it open, then put the water machine in a different location or give guests access to a kitchen key.

Breakfast - I read another review that this place had the best breakfast in town. They were being sarcastic. It's corn flakes and bitter strong coffee. They need more options especially for those who shell out more money for the private rooms.

Other notes:

Restaurant - there isn't one. Other reviews speak about the restaurant next door. This is out of date as it no longer exists. To eat out at a decent place, you need to walk 10 minutes. This isn't a bad thing, but wanted to include it so you're not surprised by a lack of nearby food options with the exception of the seafood restaurant across the street (closed on Wednesdays).

King size bed was comfortable. Pillows were a little flat but could be folded in half to make them normal sized. Cute paintings on the wall in the room.

Overall, if you're on a tight budget, then this is your place, but there are other options nearby. If you're on a really tight budget, you should avoid Tulum completely as it's pretty pricey.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and some kind of sandals or aqua shoes for the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ATEX79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We spent four awesome days at Jardin de Frida. It was the perfect place to stay. Clean, friendly, relaxing, nice people, colors make feel you are in Mexico, good service. You don't need your car. Just rent a bike!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights at el jardin de Frida. We liked the nice garden , the kitchen where you can prepare your breakfast and other meals, the use of the fridge, the nice people we met from all over the world,and Cesar the receptionist who gave us great tips aboutTulum.
We stayed 2 nights in the suite this room is large with a good bed, nice bathroom, kitchen and lovely terrace, the down side is the location in the front section of the hostal which is located at the main street of Tulum ( as most hotels are in Tulum) there is a lot of traffic especially during the night ,huge trucks have to stop almost in front of the hostel, so bring earplugs if you stay in the suites. The last 2 nights we stayed in room La Sirena. This room is located in the building at the rear of the garden (where you can also find the dormitories) and so there is less noise from the street. The room is very nice with beautiful wall paintings and a small balcony overlooking greenery. We really enjoyed staying at this hostel but recommend to rent a bike to go to the beach and visit the temple and cenotes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eva1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Jardin de Frida. Frida really does exist. The staff were wonderful.
We had booked a private room and all was good there. Breakfast was fine but we supplemented from the fruit and grocery store nearby.
We met wonderful people from all over the world. The hostel is truely a melting pot .
The gardens are beautiful and tranquil.
The restaurant is awesome. Run by great people.
Our experience was outstanding. Don't hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jwisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Very clean dorms and overall people were quite respectful of each others. The garden and communal area are extremely peaceful and pleasant and this hostal has it all: big breakfast and shared kitchen, book lending, strong wifi. The only downside is they couldn't lend us padlocks. If you want to rent a bike they'll send you to Kelly's: go there early because all your dorm mates will go there as well and the stock of bikes runs out quickly! The one downside of this place is that it's a bit out of the center of Tulum pueblo. Lots of walking, no sidewalks... forget about heels!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank parismeadville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We are a young couple, stayed here for a few nights over New Years. We loved the unique art work everywhere and the homely feel. Our room was spacious and the shower was great pressure with plenty of hot water. Nice features like side tables and wardrobe and big comfy couch on back deck of our room. Lovely dog on site called Frida too. Staff were super friendly. Location is a bit off the beaten track but it's a ten minute walk to town or a very cheap taxi ride if your too hot. Means you'll easily get a quiet night sleep anyway. The room next to ours looked even better, hammock in room and king size bed. The best part about staying at Fridas is we discovered their new on site restaurant - the BEST food we have eaten in Mexico during our 4 week trip, gourmet fusion and really reasonably priced. Highly recommend stopping by here even if you don't stay at the hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milly1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Rancho Tranquilo
Rancho Tranquilo
#66 of 98 in Tulum
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#34 of 98 in Tulum
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 134 in Tulum
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#13 of 134 in Tulum
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#25 of 134 in Tulum
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secret Garden Hotel
Secret Garden Hotel
#2 of 91 in Tulum
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin de Frida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin de Frida

Address: Av. Tulum Mza 32 | Lote 9, Centro, In Front Of Ceviche House El Camello Jr, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £16 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardín de Frida is your home in Tulum, we're an Eco-Cultural Poshtel, full of magic, culture and art built around a beautiful botanical garden. The project is inspired not only in Frida Kahlo's amazing life, but also in Mexico's great culture, art and traditions, offering all that in your stay. We are located in Tulum's residential area, on the main avenue, 5 minutes away from downtown and the bus station. We cater to guests looking for a quiet and comfortable place to relax, surrounded by a beautiful lush tropical garden. Our garden is programed to help you heal and release any energy you no longer wish to carry with you. You will be surrounded by the beauty of nature... The singing of the birds in the morning will wake you up and the chirping of the crickets at night will accompany you in your dreams. In our beautiful botanical garden you will find different species of local trees and plants, like the sacred Mayan tree or the chicle (bubble gum) tree, amongst others. Here you can learn about our local flora and their uses. We also have a hammock site where you can lay down below bamboo trees, a great place to arrive and chill after a day of exploring the area. We are concerned not only in the quality of service but also in developing activities that benefit the planet. We offer you a good price, an excellent service and an unforgettable stay full of magic, nature and Mexican culture. Here you SLEEP, LEARN and HEAL. Welcome HOME! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing