We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool people, nice place, there may be better hostels but this one isn't too shabby :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama's Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mama's Home
Ranked #1 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool people, nice place, there may be better hostels but this one isn't too shabby :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Reasonable price for a clean bed and filling breakfast. The people that work there are chill. They have snorkel equipment and bikes for rent.
Not the closest to the ADO bus station but totally walkable. I didn't have a grasp on the "address" so I took a taxi and it was quite unnecessary. Pick up one of the cartoony type maps of Tulum and you won't have a hard time finding the place.
Not the closest to the beach... some walked or rode a bike but it's a bit of a haul at an hour (walking).
Overall I'd say it's a solid hostel.
Often times it's the people that make the experience :) When I was there in early December I was surrounded by awesome people!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJillyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    58
    15
    4
    11
See reviews for
9
119
123
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I loved my stay in Mama[s House. We stayed for 3 nights and had such a great time. We stayed in a room with 2 double beds. It was clean and nice. The location is perfect. The breakfast in the morning is the best I have had anywhere in Latin America - pancakes, bananas, omelettes - amazing! The wifi was great, very quick. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pele_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Mamas Home was our first accommodation on our Yucatan journey. We just booked it for one night but when we arrived and ckecked in we immediately booked a second night here. We felt welcome from the first moment here. The rooms are very clean, quiat and have enough space. The location is good. You have some really good restaurants in walking distance (I suggest “El marriachi”) and with a rental car it is no problem to reach the many attractions around Tulum in a short time. Also parking is no problem, you can park for free n front of the hostel.
But the best is Mama (and also Wolf) herself. A really nice person who helps who helps you with every question and gives you some good tips what’s the best tings and times to visit. And she makes the best breakfast, every morning different fresh cooked things.
We really loved it here – thank you Mama

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had booked only one night, but we ended up staying there for 2 nights - and we liked it very much.

It is located 3 blocks from the main street through Tulum in a quiet area. Easy to access. We parked our car in the street, just in front, and noting happened. When entering the big door, you find the open area with chairs and tables under big umbrellas - very cozy - and the rooms to the left and upstairs. The dorm is on the 1. floor in the back of the building.

Check-in: Smooth
Room (nr. 1 - on the 1. floor): Very nice and big - with AC. and a nice bathroom.
Sleeping quality: Perfect - as policy says "silence after 11 pm."
Kitchen: Not so big - but sufficient.
Internet: 2 computers to share and wifi
Atmosphere: Relaxed and cozy

Mama's Home is a very nice option if you go to the Si'an Kaan reserve for a whole day - as it is very expensive there.

There is a big big nice supermarket less then 1 km. from there, close to the main road to the beach area....where you can find all what you need....if you want to save money and make your own food.

We would go back....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vennekilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was our first time in Tulum, and we were happy to have booked a place like Mama's Home. It was private, quiet and Cynthia was very helpful. We were able to rent bikes from here for a reasonable price. Breakfast is served every morning which we felt was not the best in terms of taste. Most of the time we opted for a later breakfast at one of the many fantastic restaurants in Tulum. Private rooms were large and clean. We felt this was a safe hotel/hostel and did not have any problems.
*Side note: Tulum has two separate areas; the town and the hotel zone on the beach. They are about a 15 minute bike ride apart. Mama's home is located in town. It is only about a 20 minute bike ride from public beach access. Although town is far from the beach it has its perks, cheap eats, shopping, night life etc. You will pay a lot more to stay on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amack4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Me and my buddy stayed hear whilst doing a dive course in Tulum. Upon arrival Alex was really sound and sorted us out with a twin room with air conditioning at a very reasonable price. The room was spacious a little bland but great value and comfy sleep. They serve breakfast included which was different every day (for the 4 times we ate) and tasty. They also rent bikes to go to the beach which is a nice way to get around (we had a jeep - but I'm sure cycling would be nicer). Plus free internet and really nice vibe in the central eating area where we chatted to different guests from all over the world. Great value stay, would deff recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilthoven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Fantastische prijs - kwaliteit. Leuke mensen, behulpzaam, vriendelijk. Kamers schoon, prima ontbijt, rustig tijdens de nachten, kortom: bezoek Tulum en slaap in Mama's Home!

Price-quality is very good. Nice people, helpfull, friendly. Clean rooms, perfect breakfast, quiet during the nights, shortly: visit Tulum and get a good rest at Mama's Home!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GertJanBilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.8 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#4 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Home

Property: Mama's Home
Address: Calle Orion sur Entre Venus y Sol Oriente 316, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing