We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”
Review of Mama's Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mama's Home
Ranked #1 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Jose is a really nice guy, very helpful! Hostel is clean, kitchen has what you need. There is a very relaxed atmosphere at the hostel, easy to just pass a couple of hours in a hammock. Dorm room was nice and looked like it was taken care of regularly

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Linseofdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Every hostel owner should come and take tips from Jose! Great hostel, cleaned every day, breakfast included, aircon dorm and a relaxed atmosphere in the centre of Tulum. Jose will go out of his way to make sure you have a fantastic experience in Tulum. 100% recommended!

Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Excellent hostel, clean, welcoming, good showers, lovely communal space & atmosphere, full kitchen, free drinking water, free wifi, delicious breakfast included, bike & snorkel rental etc...the list goes on. Great value, I shared a twin room on the upper level overlooking the court yard, it had 2 double beds (amazing!), en suite hot & cold water, AC & a writing desk.

Good location in downtown Tulum, can walk to bars and restaurants in the evening, 15-20 minutes cycle to the beach & surrounding cenotes. Hire a bike & use collectivos, don't bother with taxi's . Right across the street there is a super cheap Mexican restaurant serving up generous portions of tasty local food try the Azteca soup

Hostel is very well run Jose & his team are always around to help & answer any questions with tireless enthusiasm whether it's where's the laundry or where's the best place to eat in town.

Room Tip: We had room 5 on the first floor looking down into the court yard - perfect for us & you can han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessaahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This Hostel is amazing. Jose, the owner, is maybe the best hostelowner in the world. He's always concerned to make everything perfect. The Dorms are spotless, there are plenty of bathrooms, the atmosphere is awesome! And on top of that all I had the best! free breakfast here ever. They are incredibly creative and it's always a perfect surprise. Chocolatecroissants with fresh mango inside, toast with cucumber, springonions , tomatoes and fried egg on top...
I felt really welcome in this Hostal and had a perfect time.
Thank you so much for that!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Mama`s Home is a clean, well looked after place with people who care about their guests. Not only did we get a bed to rest our heads, but also a handful of tips on what to do in the neighborhood, all specific and accurate. Breakfasts served meet the hotel standards and the engagement of Jose - the owner - is beyond expectations.

Fingers crossed and all the best,
Ewelina, Ola, Dominika, Piotr

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pestka64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The list of great things about Mama's Home is a long one! Clean, friendly and amazing breakfasts. It is just the right size to get to know everyone and people rarely stay for just one night. Jose has done a fabulous job improving this place and I'm sure it will keep getting better and better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Mama's Home made my stay in Tulum! Jose (the owner) has been running the show for about 3 months and has been making ongoing improvements to the place since the management handover. He makes everyone feel right at home and cooks amazing breakfasts (which are included), every morning there is something different. I think Jose should open his own breakfast cafe personally! Jose also hosts different events a couple of times a week such as movie nights and cocktail nights, which was a fantastic way to meet other travellers enjoying jose's hospitality.
The atmosphere is relaxing, fun and comfortable for any traveller I believe. Our room was sound proof so if there are some nights you don't feel like socialising, you can go to sleep easily. The rooms are air conditioned, clean, safe, aesthetically pleasing and affordable. My partner and I stayed in a private room which was extremely spacious and was cleaned each day. The hostel/b&b is in a great location, in the middle of town, a small stroll back from the main street, which is a bonus as it's away from traffic and noise. If you need any information about anything... Tours, hiring bicycles, restaurants, Jose is more than happy to help! Very informative!

Apologies for the blab... But as you can see, I highly recommend staying at Mama's home!

Room Tip: If there are any issues with the room, Jose is happy to assist to make your stay as comfortable as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqdavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 102 in Tulum
954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#23 of 102 in Tulum
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#11 of 146 in Tulum
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lucky Traveler Hostel
Lucky Traveler Hostel
#36 of 146 in Tulum
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#6 of 146 in Tulum
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quintana Roots Hostel
Quintana Roots Hostel
#8 of 146 in Tulum
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Home

Address: Calle Orion sur Entre Venus y Sol Oriente 316, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £11 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing