We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it here!”

BeTulum Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #134 of 386 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Loved it here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We were staying a few hotels away from Be Tulum. We had tried to stay there but they were fully booked. No matter, we ate breakfast lunch and dinner there (not every day) and was always made very welcome. The food was great, cocktails lovely and staff charming. They also had some live music which was lovely too. Great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Oscarlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at BeTulum Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear "Oscarlake",

Thank you for this positive review and for choosing our restaurant! We are sorry the hotel was full, we would have loved to host you.

We hope to see you again soon at the restaurant!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Restaurant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    28
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Spot in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

OK, we might be a little (er, a lot) biased as we chose Be Tulum for our wedding venue, but the food is ridiculously good. (Even wedding food was fantastic - which I won't include in this review, since most people aren't going there for nuptials!) They have a variety of fresh and healthy options, which make it easier to forgo the chips (also delish, though). It's not cheap, but many of the portions are huge and easy to share (which means you get to sample a lot - score!) For me, standouts included ceviche, octopus and tuna steak. My now-husband is from Peru, so his ringing endorsement of their ceviche means it's legit. Friends couldn't get enough of the shrimp quesadillas and fish tacos. We watched the boat pull in and the chef walk out to pick each fish himself. And the drinks were so inventive and change with the seasons. This time, we had one with fresh squeezed oranges, passion fruit and pisco. Last fall, grapefruit was in season so we had fresh grapefruit, mezcal and cucumber. And the view/ambiance is the best. Very chill beach with service on the sand, they often have live music. Last but certainly not least, service was impeccable. It can't be easy carrying food and drink out to the beach in the hot sun, making sure the wind doesn't whip sand into my chips and salsa. But the servers did it with a smile. They were so, so nice, and one of the highlights of our week in Tulum! Love Be Tulum and will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoyabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Of The Best In Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

One of the most memorable experiences on our first day was at be tulum. We dined "en la playa" enjoying the ambiance with fresh fish tacos, one of their great salads and of course chips with Guacamole. I'm on a mission to determine who has the best margaritas on the Mayan Riviera and be tulum's is one of the top contenders. If you aren't staying at the hotel and want to soak up the sun with be tulum... dining "en la playa is the best way to do just that. If you're not a hotel guest this is the only way to use their facilities. One of the more chic places to enjoy a beautiful sun set. ($$$$)

Please check out my blog with more restaurant, hotel and beach reviews at www.beachcombertraveler.com

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDHayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Beach in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had appetizers and cocktails on the beach before going to dinner. The food was really good (calamari and tuna tartar) and the spicy mezcal margaritas had a great kick to them. The beach is AMAZING! Breathtaking views, quiet, and romantic. Service staff are very attentive. They had a DJ that night playing relaxing, but upbeat tunes. Love this place and would like to try out the resort next time! Rooms 16 and 20 are the best with private pools on the roof!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingQueen1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little over priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was one of the most amazing experiences of our holiday - having walked into the beach restaurant and asked for fish - we were then shown a fishing boat pulling up on the beach and given the chance to choose our fish. It was BBQ'd on an open fire and everything was superb - except the price was a lost more than a London restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katfandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BeTulum Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to BeTulum Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing