We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth seeing”
Review of Visit Sian Ka'an

Visit Sian Ka'an
Ranked #17 of 101 Tours in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you are looking for a great outdoor experience away from the big tourist crowds and massive tour groups, then you make the best decision by visiting the natural Reserve of Sian Ka'an with Visit Sian Ka'an. This tour company allows you to visit Sian Ka'an and combine activites in a way, that no other tour provider does, thanks to the owner's first hand experience and being a native to the area. If you are a great nature lover, enjoy to snorkel and explore the diverse marine life and different ecosystems, such as untouched beaches, lagoons, mangroves and islands, cenotes, tropical jungle, hidden maya ruins, a relaxing float in the fresh water canal, seeing bird and wildlife in their natural habitat without minimal human interaction - then this tour company will be a great option for an adventurous day in the protected Biosphere Reserve Sian Ka'an.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Sian Ka'an is a huge biological reserve south of the Tulum beach area. There are several ways to get there and many things to see. We took a Community Tour and liked it very much, but covered only a small part of this vast reserve. This is a site that is very worth seeing even if it doesn't get a lot of publicity. However, be sure choose your tour carefully.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingston_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    10
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ALDO you were an amazing tour guide!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

*****Thank you for this great experience Aldo*****

I would like to comment on the wonderful experience I had with Aldo a couple of months ago. It was me and a couple. First of, Aldo was very warm, kind and welcoming. He picked me up at the hotel and then we drove to the couple's hotel and picked them up. He gave me also a little tour through Tulum on our way to the couple's hotel, and gave me some great insights, e.g. where to get the best local foods (you will only meet locals there). As we arrived at the reserve, he provided a lot of information. I enjoyed our little group very much. Aldo would always answer any question we had, he accommodated each of our requests. Learning more about Aldo, he is super respectful of the environment in general and also very proud to educate people. I find this extremely important. He is very passionate about his field.
I also had contact with Kathrin, who was very kind and is very trust worthy. Taking tours by yourself as a woman can sometimes be a challenge, I do have different experiences from other parts of the world. I always felt safe. Nature, the ruins, the culture....amazing. At the end Aldo took us all out for coffee. This day trip is great for for anyone! It would also be great for children. They can really gain a lot of knowledge from this!

Thank you Aldo and Kathrin.

Greetings from San Diego

Ricarda

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RicardaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great first day in Tulum”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent a really great first day in Tulum with Aldo in Sian Ka'an. The bio reserve itself is a really big and beautiful place and Aldo has a huge knowledge of it. Also, he is really a really fun and has a great respect to the area which was really important to us when booking our tour. He also hosts only small groups which we found really pleasant, there was only one other couple on the boat tour.

We saw so many birds, fish, one little crocodile and lots on different fauna. We also went floating in a mangrove canal which was lots of fun! Unfortunaly the waves were so big that it wasn't safe to snorkle but there was nothing you could do about it and instead we had great time elsewhere in Sian Ka'an. If you appreciate an ecological, fun, knowledgable and intimate tour in Sian Ka'an we can highly recommend Aldo's!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mirkka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful is not enough to say how great this tour was....!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had the pleasure of meeting Aldo on our recent trip to Tulum. I have to say having heard all those wonderful things about him online we were very keen to meet him and experience a great Sian Ka'an adventure with this company.
So we contacted him and Katrin through their contact emails. From the first contact, everything was great. They answered every question we had and the day started out with a pick up from our hotel, ( organized by them). We took the Snorkeling tour with the float in the Mayan Canal. It was awesome. Aldo is such an expert in his field, knows exactely where to find birds, crocs, manatees, so we had a great time seeing all kinds of different birds such as ibis, herons, storks, stingrays and even crocodiles.
The coral reef was amazing, there was no rush throughout the whole day. Aldo gave us always the time we wanted in each activity. The tour only consisted of us, my husband and I and another very friendly young swedish couple. We had a great private tour. Aldo is very accomodating and friendly, answering every question we had and just sharing his great love and knowledge for this beautiful place and wildlife. We rather thought to be out on a trip with old friends instead of a trip with people we have never met before. The float down the Mayan Canal was awesome, so refreshing and relaxing, swiming along the mangroves was a new wonderful experience. We felt so connected with nature during his tour. On our next trip we want to try another tour with Visit Sian Ka'an Tours.

The food throughout the tour was delicious, local specialities and healthy nut and seed snacks. A great choice and thumbs up for a perfect day out!!! The money was definately worth spent every penny. One thing I also want to say, I dont know why some people have commented that this is a rather expensive tour. We payed less on this great private tour, than the tours offered in our hotel and done in big crowds. This would be nothing for us.

We would definately recommend Visit Sian Ka'an tours without any hesitation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Catalina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

It was the second time I visited Tulum and took a tour with Aldo. We took the bird watching tour at sunset and again what an amazing experience!!! Everything from beginning to end was just perfect and so relaxing! Aldo has so much knowledge to offer about the wildlife and nature. The best was to see all the different varieties of tropical birds flying above us on our stop at the bird island. It was again un unforgettable experience andI highly recommend these tours with Aldo.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaKinnaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Visit Sian Ka'an also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Visit Sian Ka'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing