We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Bambi for great trip!”
Review of Visit Sian Ka'an

Visit Sian Ka'an
Ranked #19 of 100 Tours in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you are looking for a great outdoor experience away from the big tourist crowds and massive tour groups, then you make the best decision by visiting the natural Reserve of Sian Ka'an with Visit Sian Ka'an. This tour company allows you to visit Sian Ka'an and combine activites in a way, that no other tour provider does, thanks to the owner's first hand experience and being a native to the area. If you are a great nature lover, enjoy to snorkel and explore the diverse marine life and different ecosystems, such as untouched beaches, lagoons, mangroves and islands, cenotes, tropical jungle, hidden maya ruins, a relaxing float in the fresh water canal, seeing bird and wildlife in their natural habitat without minimal human interaction - then this tour company will be a great option for an adventurous day in the protected Biosphere Reserve Sian Ka'an.
Pijnacker, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Captain Bambi for great trip!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We would like to thank en recommend Capt. Bambi. He organizes excellent boat tours in the lagoon without mass tourism. We've had a great 3 - 4 hour trip and saw many of the wild life there!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    12
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

very beautiful lagoon and place in general! well worth the trip, although we only went to the visitor center and not Pt Allen. Operators take you on a boat thru canals and then you float for about 30 mins.... wish I could be there right now! (instead of sitting in my office writing this review ;))

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spydr_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Sian Ka'an is a huge biological reserve south of the Tulum beach area. There are several ways to get there and many things to see. We took a Community Tour and liked it very much, but covered only a small part of this vast reserve. This is a site that is very worth seeing even if it doesn't get a lot of publicity. However, be sure choose your tour carefully.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingston_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ALDO you were an amazing tour guide!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

*****Thank you for this great experience Aldo*****

I would like to comment on the wonderful experience I had with Aldo a couple of months ago. It was me and a couple. First of, Aldo was very warm, kind and welcoming. He picked me up at the hotel and then we drove to the couple's hotel and picked them up. He gave me also a little tour through Tulum on our way to the couple's hotel, and gave me some great insights, e.g. where to get the best local foods (you will only meet locals there). As we arrived at the reserve, he provided a lot of information. I enjoyed our little group very much. Aldo would always answer any question we had, he accommodated each of our requests. Learning more about Aldo, he is super respectful of the environment in general and also very proud to educate people. I find this extremely important. He is very passionate about his field.
I also had contact with Kathrin, who was very kind and is very trust worthy. Taking tours by yourself as a woman can sometimes be a challenge, I do have different experiences from other parts of the world. I always felt safe. Nature, the ruins, the culture....amazing. At the end Aldo took us all out for coffee. This day trip is great for for anyone! It would also be great for children. They can really gain a lot of knowledge from this!

Thank you Aldo and Kathrin.

Greetings from San Diego

Ricarda

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RicardaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great first day in Tulum”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent a really great first day in Tulum with Aldo in Sian Ka'an. The bio reserve itself is a really big and beautiful place and Aldo has a huge knowledge of it. Also, he is really a really fun and has a great respect to the area which was really important to us when booking our tour. He also hosts only small groups which we found really pleasant, there was only one other couple on the boat tour.

We saw so many birds, fish, one little crocodile and lots on different fauna. We also went floating in a mangrove canal which was lots of fun! Unfortunaly the waves were so big that it wasn't safe to snorkle but there was nothing you could do about it and instead we had great time elsewhere in Sian Ka'an. If you appreciate an ecological, fun, knowledgable and intimate tour in Sian Ka'an we can highly recommend Aldo's!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mirkka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Visit Sian Ka'an also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Visit Sian Ka'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing