We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian outside of Italy...seriously!”
Review of Sale e Pepe

Sale e Pepe
Ranked #27 of 401 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located close to the Tulum ruins, Sale&Pepe is an Italian restaurant that offers the best in Italian food. The menu ranges from a wide variety of pastas, pizzas, calzones, seafood and excellent desserts.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian outside of Italy...seriously!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were looking for a place to stop for a quick bite to eat on our way to Merida and came across this little gem! Having experienced lots of great Italian food outside of Italy, I was absolutely wowed by how authentic their food was - we had the spaghetti carbonara and prosciutto pizza and both were absolutely incredible! If I closed my eyes I was back on the streets of Florence :) Great work, you guys! Fun atmosphere with the World Cup playing in the background, too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HuaHua_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    101
    45
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Big portions, great service and decent prices”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The usual offerings of an Italian menu - antipasti, pizza and pasta - but all served up with big smiles and in large portions. Most dishes seem to be around 100 pesos mark.
The quality of the food is somewhat exceptional. I ordered fettucine with shrimp and zucchini expecting the typical 'search for the shrimp' scenario. Instead my meal was topped with more enormous prawns than I could count.
Evening ambience and lighting is carefully thought out and is good enough for a romantic/intimate meal for 2 if that is what you're looking for (although in that case you might want to find a table away from the TV). Inside and outside seating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deneice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good pizza”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

the pizza is very good. my best pizza ever. try it when you go to Tulum. local is pretty. friendly staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank katia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

it was a quick stop, we were driving towards Merida Yucatan from Playa del carmen, our 5 year old daughter got hungry so decided to stop at Sale Pepe since it is right on the side of the road, just had one pizza very quick, wish we could have more time to try something else, pizza was DELICIOUS, crunchy, thing and tasty. Service very good too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aleflintstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good comfort food when you don't want to look at another tortilla!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I went searching for Da Gigi which claimed to have great homemade pasta as I was craving a seafood spaghetti but it had disappeared and Sale e Pepe was in its place. There wasn't many people dining there so we were apprehensive but decided to take the plunge. We were not disappointed, we had the Caesar salad, mussels and clams in garlic, seafood spaghetti, prosciutto pizza, tiramisu and choc soufflé washed down with some sparkling water and a bottle of Italian cabernet sauvignon. The pizza crust was perfect thin crispy on the bottom and slightly doughy on the top with the perfect amount of topping minimal in the traditional style. Whilst the base was thin it was still the size of a large pizza and at 120 pesos for a traditional pizza you can't go wrong. All the food was fresh with the right balance of flavors, the seafood was all cooked beautifully and was tender. It's not often I crave Italian food but this definitely hit the spot and the bill was very reasonable with 3 courses each and the wine (1012 pesos-with tip/around $75USD/$87AUD) After we sat down a number of other tables filled too. The location being on the highway and at the end of the Centro is why the tables won't always be full but don't let that fool you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasstagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sale e Pepe also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Sale e Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing