We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Las Palmas Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Palmas Maya
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My friend Jess and I stayed here for a week in November 2012 in the tree top suite. The room was cleaned every day by Tom and Maria (often with a cool towel oragami construction by Maria!) and everyone went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and help out with anything we needed. For example, the ATM at the adjacent hotel was broken when we first arrived and Frank lent us $USD80 cash until we could get to an ATM. Tom also picked up the odd item for us at the supermarket and was always on hand with insect repellant or anything else we needed. The property is a short minute walk from the beach and has bike and beach towel hire. Would definitley recommend this place and stay again next time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLover8689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure to try and make your stay as comfortable as possible, particularly after your exhausting travel day (night?). We hope that you have an opporunity to visit Tulum again and be look forward to having you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

We could not have been happier with our stay at Las Palmas Maya! We were nervous about booking a place that was not directly on the beach, but we couldn't afford the high prices at most places in the area and we were so lucky to find LPM!

First of all, the beach is 30 seconds away and easily accessible through the hotel across the street. Though it costs a third of most places nearby, LPM is impeccably run. You can tell the owners really care about the quality of their guests' experience. The rooms received a thorough cleaning daily. And the manager, Tom, took such great care of us--booking tours and cabs, making sure we were picked up at early hours of the morning, giving us info about the area. When we decided to take a long mountain bike trip, he suddenly appeared with ropes that made the trip possible.

In addition to how efficiently and pleasantly run LPM is, it has the incredible benefit of a large outdoor kitchen that is entirely protected by mosquito netting. There are few affordable restaurants in the area, so this kitchen easily shaved hundreds of dollars off our trip. But it also engendered a feeling of community with the other travelers at LPM. It almost felt a bit like camp!

Overall we really felt at home. I am grateful to the owners, Cheryl and Frank, for keeping a little piece of Tulum affordable for those of us without Wall Street jobs.

Room Tip: Our "crab" room seemed to have the most privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ondine6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

We are all practically blushing at your heartfelt review! It was sincerely our pleasure to have you both as our guests. It is our intention to keep LPM affordable, so that all can enjoy the tranquillity of our beaches and jungle paradise. Thank you for mentioning the value that the communal kitchen brings to one's overall travel budget. We have a lot of blood, sweat, and tears (not to mention money!) in it and are so glad that you enjoyed using it. Our doors are open for you anytime you can come our way again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had an excellent 8 night stay at LPM in December. The room was always clean and tidy. The owners and the manager Tom were very helpful and friendly. The property is not on the beach but a short walk across the road so the beach is easily accessible. One of the best features is the new communal kitchen area where you can store and make food meaning you don't need to eat out for every meal. We would recommend LPM for those looking for cabana-style accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danish1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

We all enjoyed having the two of you as our guests and appreciate your kind review! The new communal kitchen does help with the overall dining budget and we are glad you were able to put it to good use. Please do come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the treetop suite in the beginning of December. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious, even considering there were 3 adults and 2 children there.

The highlight of Las Palmas though has to be the incredible hospitality of Tom, the manager. He gave us loca advice on what to see, drew up great maps, and was willing to bend over backwards to make sure we had a great stay. The communal kitchen was amazing, we cooked almost every meal there and saved a fortune on eating out.

Overall it was a great stay and we expect to come back again sometime in 2013!

Note for management - One little improvement you could make is to have some kind of compost bin. For an eco-conscious area like Tulum it was rather disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quarfelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review and we are so happy that your family enjoyed the Treetop Suite and our new communal kitchen! We feel the kitchen is a huge amenity with the value it brings for saving on one's overall travel budget. I like your idea of a compost bin, and it is something we will consider as we strive to become more eco-friendly!

For sure, our manager, Tom, is the man to see for tours and information around Tulum. His first priority is our guests and thank you for recognizing that. Please do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of Oct 2012 and we had best time. The owners and Tom (manager) were wonderful and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. My kids love the room and chasing after the geckos. Tom is great source of information, and he recommended a cenote near Coba which we tried out and loved. We would go again. Thanks, JJ

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catandwill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

It was a pleasure hosting your family...do come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

All inclusive or large hotel complexes after a few visits all seem about the same. Having said that our visit to Las Palmas Maya offered a laid back, relaxed natural atmosphere and environment experience that we intend to repeat, a staff that knows the area well and makes a concerted effort to ensure you enjoy all it has to offer, sit back and enjoy a cold beverage on the beach or visit any number of area attractions. If you like experiencing a true taste of the areas you visit (no room service, bed turn downs or chocolates on your pillows here), this may be an experience that you may not soon forget. Beautiful beaches and palms swaying in the breeze. A special "Thank you" to Tom and the staff for a memorable visit. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joegreene0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

It was great having you with us, although your stay was too brief! ;) You are spot on with LPM and Tulum...a laid back, friendly atmosphere with no pretension. Do come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in November 2012. Frank/Cheryl (the owners) and Tom (the resident manager) are wonderful people, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. They gave me excellent restaurant and activity recommendations, and I also met some amazing folks at the breakfast table. I can't wait to return and stay at Las Palmas Maya again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kunal-Ghevaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we are so happy that your vacation experience in Tulum improved from how it began. Please do come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
886 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 98 in Tulum
594 reviews
4.5 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#13 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Maya

Address: Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: £38 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Maya is a welcome retreat in the jungle of Tulum. With beach access just across the road, you are only footsteps away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The recent addition of 24hr electricity is a huge amenity, offered at only a few beach zone hotels. Our newly renovated communal kitchen and lounge offers guests the opportunity to keep a few groceries on hand for small meals or snacks, and a wonderful place to relax, read, or chat with other guests. Our rooms have been completely remodeled and are fresh, clean and airy. Some of the other amenities offered are private bathrooms with pressurized hot water, free wi-fi, and bicycles available for rent. In addition, Las Palmas Maya is pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Palmas Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing