We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean and by a perfect beach.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Palmas Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Palmas Maya
Ranked #9 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and by a perfect beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Rarely is a hotel distinguished by the hospitality of the Manager, it’s comfort, cleanliness and proximity to attractions. LPM is all these and more. First and foremost Tom, who managers the little jewel is knowledgeable, friendly and takes pride in helping his guests make the best of the vacation that they are looking for.
The hotel is tiny, only 4 rooms and a suite, but the rooms and the grounds are ample in size and airy with lots of room to relax. The hotel has a very spacious kitchen that sparkles in it’s pristine cleanliness, it comes equipped with two gas stoves and a fridge, BBQ, plus great quality cooking and eating utensils (plus blenders to perfect your mixology craft). If you are looking for a self-catering option that is clean, friendly and provides for opportunities to meet other travellers and tourist then this might be the best place for you.
Good Internet is available 24 hours a day, as are hot showers and electricity. But the best part is that just a few steps away lies one of the most beautiful beaches you can imagine. Additionally it is very easy to visit the Mayan ruins of Coba, Chitchen itza and Tulum plus many other fantastic places that you can only experience in Yucatan and Q Roo.

Not least of all the hotel is located on a quieter stretch of the Hotel Zone, but still only a stone thrown away from great happy hour, breakfast and eating places. My favourite Happy hour was at La Casa Viloeta, because it is just so beautiful at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moniks20012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It makes us happy that you appreciated so many of the amenities that we have worked towards perfecting, and I thank you for speaking of them so eloquently! Please do come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    41
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
146
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had a great stay at LPM - clean, comfortable, and economical. The room was pleasant and comfortable. LPM has good infrastructure for water, potable water, electricity, and wifi. Best of all for us was the roomy communal kitchen, which allowed us to prepare some of our own meals, with basic supplies, a refrigerator and stove, storage space, and cold drinks available. The hosts were helpful and friendly, even before we arrived, and the manager was a great guy, always willing to help. All his travel tips were spot on.

LPM is across the street from the beach, but access was quick and easy.

We'd go back again. Nice additions would be a place to store our clothes in the room, and an arrangement for chairs at the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we are so pleased that you used and enjoyed the new communal kitchen! As "luck" would have it, the Cangrejo room where you stayed is the only one that does not yet have shelves and a bench for clothes...I promise it will soon! Also, we have recently worked a deal with Om, mutually purchasing more lounge chairs for the beach for the benefit of our guests and theirs - presently waiting for their delivery. Thank you again for your thoughtful comments, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We came to Yucatan Peninsula for our honeymoon and were fortunate enough to spend most of that time at Las Palmas Maya. Located just across the street from the beach, it offers a wonderful blend of jungle, ocean, and home stylings. Tom, Frank, and Cheryl were incredibly attentive and did everything they could to make our stay exactly as we wanted it, and we couldn't have asked for anything more from them. The only drawback is that LPM's neighbors run loud generators most of the day (and night), but besides that there is nothing about which we could complain. A great price for a great location and great service! Thanks LPM! Best of luck!

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms throughout our stay (our fault, not theirs), and the Gecko room was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
We were so honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us, and do appreciate your kind review. As you probably know, we recently spent a considerable amount of money and invested in a "quiet pack" diesel generator, as well as a solid, concrete block building in which to house it. Fortunately, our generator is almost inaudible, but unfortunately we cannot control what the properties around us choose to do! Perhaps one day the Tulum municipality will step in with the proper noise ordinances, but until then all we can do is take care of our guests the best way we know how...comfortable beds, fans, and earplugs, to assist in a pleasant night's sleep.
Thanks for the compliments on our service and price. I think an anniversary trip back to LPM should be on your agenda next year! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed a couple of nights at Las Palmas Maya - and I really enjoyed it!
The area itself is very cosy and one of the most beautiful beaches in the world are just a minutes walk from the hotel.
The hotel is small, but it has a big common room/kitchen without walls, which make you feel like you're outside. Everything is very well-cleaned! Tom, the manager of the place, is a great guy to hang out with. He's funny, caring and very helpful. And he has two cute dogs!
If you're going to Las Palmas Maya, make sure you get a Coco Colada drink, which is one of the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilla156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
We really enjoyed meeting you and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Tulum. I would have to agree, Tom makes the best coco-coladas and his dogs are adorable, too...even Skyy...lol. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljungby, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at the Palmas Maya for 7 nights this christmas and enjoyed it very mutch! On a beach where I feel that most places are overpriced, at this place it felt like one got ones moneys worth. It was just within our price range so I really hope they don´t raise the prices. Tom was the nicest and most helpfull person ever and helpt us book some great tours. The place was really nice and clean all the time. The common kitchen is just perfect for morning coffey or if one wanted to prepare food, and meet other guests. A really nice place were it feels like they care about the guests wellbeing. I am definitly comming back! (excuse my english spelling, not my first laguage)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
We are so glad that you chose to spend your holidays with Las Palmas Maya! We strive to be one of the most affordable accommodations with beach access, and also provide our guests with special amenities. We love the new communal kitchen, too! Looking forward to having you as guests again, as soon as you can make your way back to our little piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

My friend Jess and I stayed here for a week in November 2012 in the tree top suite. The room was cleaned every day by Tom and Maria (often with a cool towel oragami construction by Maria!) and everyone went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and help out with anything we needed. For example, the ATM at the adjacent hotel was broken when we first arrived and Frank lent us $USD80 cash until we could get to an ATM. Tom also picked up the odd item for us at the supermarket and was always on hand with insect repellant or anything else we needed. The property is a short minute walk from the beach and has bike and beach towel hire. Would definitley recommend this place and stay again next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLover8689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure to try and make your stay as comfortable as possible, particularly after your exhausting travel day (night?). We hope that you have an opporunity to visit Tulum again and be look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We could not have been happier with our stay at Las Palmas Maya! We were nervous about booking a place that was not directly on the beach, but we couldn't afford the high prices at most places in the area and we were so lucky to find LPM!

First of all, the beach is 30 seconds away and easily accessible through the hotel across the street. Though it costs a third of most places nearby, LPM is impeccably run. You can tell the owners really care about the quality of their guests' experience. The rooms received a thorough cleaning daily. And the manager, Tom, took such great care of us--booking tours and cabs, making sure we were picked up at early hours of the morning, giving us info about the area. When we decided to take a long mountain bike trip, he suddenly appeared with ropes that made the trip possible.

In addition to how efficiently and pleasantly run LPM is, it has the incredible benefit of a large outdoor kitchen that is entirely protected by mosquito netting. There are few affordable restaurants in the area, so this kitchen easily shaved hundreds of dollars off our trip. But it also engendered a feeling of community with the other travelers at LPM. It almost felt a bit like camp!

Overall we really felt at home. I am grateful to the owners, Cheryl and Frank, for keeping a little piece of Tulum affordable for those of us without Wall Street jobs.

Room Tip: Our "crab" room seemed to have the most privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ondine6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
We are all practically blushing at your heartfelt review! It was sincerely our pleasure to have you both as our guests. It is our intention to keep LPM affordable, so that all can enjoy the tranquillity of our beaches and jungle paradise. Thank you for mentioning the value that the communal kitchen brings to one's overall travel budget. We have a lot of blood, sweat, and tears (not to mention money!) in it and are so glad that you enjoyed using it. Our doors are open for you anytime you can come our way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
9.1 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.2 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Maya

Property: Las Palmas Maya
Address: Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Maya is a welcome retreat in the jungle of Tulum. With beach access just across the road, you are only footsteps away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The recent addition of 24hr electricity is a huge amenity, offered at only a few beach zone hotels. Our newly renovated communal kitchen and lounge offers guests the opportunity to keep a few groceries on hand for small meals or snacks, and a wonderful place to relax, read, or chat with other guests. Our rooms have been completely remodeled and are fresh, clean and airy. Some of the other amenities offered are private bathrooms with pressurized hot water, free wi-fi, and bicycles available for rent. In addition, Las Palmas Maya is pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Palmas Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing