We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Las Palmas Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Palmas Maya
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here when the world was supposed to end or something like that! We thought the room was really nice and although the shower was poor, Tom was quick to fix it once we brought it to his attention. Would recommend this ace to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeffynTheGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thankfully, the world did not end December 21, 2012! We are all still here, and enjoying all that Tulum has to offer. Thank you for your thoughts and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Las Palmas Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed in Las Palmas Maya with my wife and 3 yr old son in April 2013. We were welcomed by the manager who proudly showed us around the lovely installations. He was warm, welcoming and had a wealth of knowledge about the area, tours, and places to visit. The palapa we rented was the first one entering from the road, on the right hand side (second floor). It was large, cool (despite the heat of the day), had a lovely thatched (palapa) roof enabling the room to breathe and keep fresh, a large bathroom and it nicely decorated.

We didn't really take advantage of the hammock area, kitchen and chillax area as we made the most of the great wind and spent the day on the beach kiteboarding and relaxing. However, I would like to say that this is an awesome touch for those who are looking for great value for money place to stay with self catering: fridge, pantry with private spaces for each room, cookers, fresh coffee each morning, this is the place for you. It has a lovely vibe to the place and feels like your home on the holiday.

We will be back next year!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was the biggest. It has 2 double beds and is very spacious!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Okay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We are so pleased that your family enjoyed the comforts of the Treetop Suite and your time at LPM. Thank you for your review and please do return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

We really did our research to find this place. After spending over 2 hours driving up and down the hotel strip going into many, many hotels to check out their rooms and rates this was definitely the best comfort and service for a very reasonable price.

We found that most of the restaurant and hotel staff we spoke to in Tulum while asking around about hotels knew Tom ( the manager at Las Palmas Maya) and had nothing but great things to say about him. After finally meeting him it was clear why. His friendly, high energy positivity is contagious and he really goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great trip. He is so warm and welcoming, and really made us feel like old friends staying at his house instead of customers are a hotel. The other staff at the hotel was great too, Cecilia his assistant was very sweet and absolutely adorable! If you stay here, make sure you sit down with Tom for a drink and get to know him, his funny stories and knowledge of Tulum kept us very entertained.

The rooms although simple are very comfortable and 24 hour electricity, hot water and good water pressure are real luxuries in Tulum. The water pressure in the evening is so strong it feels like a water massage! You'll be hard pressed to find all these at another hotel this close to the beach for this price. Although there is no AC the fans here are quite powerful and definitely superior to the ones in the other hotels we stayed at in Tulum. The decor is very colourful and funky (Martha Steward might not approve, but I liked it) and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The kitchen is very, very well stocked (they even have a blender!) and is very clean.

This hotel is not on the beach but you have access to the clean beautiful beach, beach chairs and umbrellas across the street at Om hotel. We found that being across from the beach instead of on it meant there were less creepy crawlies around. We really enjoyed seeing all the gekos and found that the neon green mosquito nets keept the Mosquitos from biting us as long as we kept them closed at all times. If you are really worried about critters, I suggest a cruise to Alaska instead of Tulum, but you might still want to talk to Tom as he has some great advice about preparing for cruises.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

It gives us such a great feeling to know that you liked LPM well enough that you extended your visit! Although we are in the jungle, we know our guests appreciate a few special amenities, including the fans and high pressure/hot water showers. We do have a treasure in Tom, and he is a fantastic host. You are right, Martha Stewart might gasp at the rooms, but perhaps Andy Warhol would approve?? Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and do please come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

A friend and I spent 2 weeks here in late April/early May in the Treetop Suite. Las Palmas Maya fills a unique travelers niche in Tulum - think in terms of a backpacker with private rooms and baths, and suitable for all ages. Rooms are reasonably priced and simple, but comfortable and impeccably clean. The hotel has 24 hr electricity which means fans overnight. Tulum veterans know that on the jungle side of the road, this can be the difference between an uncomfortable and comfortable night’s sleep (fans also help drown out the minimal road noise). There is yoga across the street at Casa Violeta. Hotel Om graciously provides beach access and use of beach side furniture, and provides food and beverage service from their restaurant/bar. Las Palmas staff are friendly and helpful. Manager Tomas makes you feel as if you are an old friend and guest in his personal home. Bikes are available for rental for trips to town or exploring the restaurants and shops on the beach road. There are of course an abundance of restaurants within easy walking distance. There is a full communal kitchen (spotlessly clean) with designated dry/cold food storage areas and 24hr access to drinking water and ice. My only suggestion for improvement would be more hammocks in the hammock pavilion. There is only one and I fear I co-opted it too frequently.......

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serendipity-2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience, particularly so that you had a nice, long stay! Every attempt is made to provide rooms as clean and comfortable as possible in this jungle paradise, and we so happy that you found that to be the case! We WILL get more hammocks up there, so when you return you can try out a different one! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed just one night in April, but that was enough time to be impressed with Las Palmas. The owners have put a lot of effort into making the place clean, comfortable and casual. The manager Tom is very friendly and accommodating. The shared kitchen facilities is a real advantage for people staying a while because going out to eat every meal in Tulum can be very expensive. Each room has a shelf in the frig and access to a fully equipped kitchen. Its across the street from the beach, but they have a arrangement with the hotel there so their clients have full beach access. A good choice!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edbarnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that, although your stay was brief, you had a pleasant experience and appreciated our amenities. Hopefully when your travels have you returning to our little slice of paradise, you will again choose to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Overall this place is great. The location is excellent and there's easy beach access just across the road. The rooms have everything you can hope for and are well above basic, certainly excellent value. Mosquito nets are a huge plus (without them it would be unbearable), the hammock lounge upstairs is incredibly peaceful and a great way to watch the makings of a sunset. Having a kitchen is perfect for making your own meals and it's well stocked and spotless. The bikes are a bit average for 100 pesos per day (rusty chain etc - they just need some basic maintenance, about 100 pesos worth) but great for getting around. Wifi actually works all over the property - unheard of! Noise travels easily from the common areas but it's quiet time from 11 so this isn't an issue. Both the managers we encountered were incredibly friendly and welcoming, with Tom more than happy to offer advice and tips for getting around the area. This is actually where my one complaint about my stay here stems from.

When inquiring about visiting Coba, Tom advised that the money saved on the bus wasn't worth the added hassle of catching it and he knew a guy who would do the trip for 750 pesos. 65 dollars!! I'm well acquainted with ADO buses and their deservedly excellent reputation. The trip is around 50 pesos each way and could not be easier. I also read online of people making this trip for as little as 400 return in a taxi. This experience made my second similar run in less surprising. On the way in from town I forgot to negotiate a cab fare and the driver got lost so I knew it'd be steep. 100 pesos - not too bad really. I asked a local girl how much a cab to town should be and she said don't pay a peso over sixty. I had no problems negotiating this for the remainder of my time and most drivers would only start at 80. Until it was time to head to the bus stop that is, when Tom hailed a cab for me and informed me that it would be 100 pesos. I objected and he negotiated it down to 90 with the driver. These are minor grievances but frankly it really dampened my time here because this was supposed to be a blissful break from the constant haggling and touting that you encounter as a budget traveler in the region. I know that it's tourism and everyone is just trying to make a buck, but it actually bothered me more because he made out like he was helping us - at least you know the touts are trying to scam you! Just do your research and you'll be fine. Otherwise our stay was 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cleggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. We're glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your recent visit with us. We pride ourselves on being more reasonably priced than alternatives on the "beach side", with a lot of amenities not offered by our competition, including our unusually strong WiFi signal and communal kitchen.

Our bicycles are overhauled every year, and regularly serviced. They are cleaned and inspected daily. No concerns were mentioned by you after your day of cycling. Chains rust, as does almost every piece of metal down here and we've never had one break because we proactively replace them as needed.

When you asked about Coba, it was explained that there are options: Bus, taxi or rental car. The ADO bus, which we personally use when we travel, is indeed a wonderful service to many locations. Our challenge with this particular route is two-fold. They do not include the schedule for this location on their website, so when routes change, as they often do, you physically have to go into town to check. For guests traveling without a vehicle, this creates additional taxi fees. Additionally, the hours are not convenient for most guests because it doesn't allow a lot of time to see the ruins, as well as the cenote(s), the latter being a big part of the visit to the ruins site because it offers a different experience This would require additional taxi service to reach them, have the driver wait and then return to the ruins site to catch the bus. Since the website doesn't have this location, let's say each way is 5 USD, per person. That's 20 dollars round trip for 2, plus 10 dollars each way for taxi service to and from the bus station (20 US round trip) and 10-15 dollars for taxi service to and from the cenotes. This amounts to no less than 50 US, which is exactly 15 dollars less than the cab ride Tom arranged for you. For that 15 dollars, you have the convenience of a direct path, privacy and no waiting for anybody except members of your party. You could certainly shave 15 dollars off by taking the bus - this involves a stop at the bus station, waiting in line for ticketing, boarding the bus, departing the bus, hiring a taxi to view the cenote(s), re-boarding the bus, departing the bus and hiring another taxi home. The taxi ride at 65 US guarantees you that driver for 5-6 hours of personal service which most find an incredible value, especially when you factor in the previously mentioned conveniences and not having to rush through the experience. Had our manager understood that you were only interested in the least expensive option, he would've urged you to take the bus.

Finally, regarding your taxi ride that was 10 pesos higher than you hoped - we work with a variety of reputable drivers in the area and our hotel is located at KM 8.5. If you check the posted rates at the grocery store and inside of every cab, you will see the laminated price sheet states a minimum of 100 pesos from the grocery store to our hotel. Typically, we negotiate 80 pesos to the grocery store, 100 pesos to the bus station (further) and 120 pesos to the south end of town(furthest). The ride to the bus station is about 15 minutes and while some taxi drivers will settle for less, we support their posted rates as they are professional members of our local taxi syndicate. Since we operate a hotel, they are flexible because we provide a stream of business, as was the driver in your case, who agreed to charge 90. We do not make a commission off of these trips and Tom's attempt to help you was genuine - we're sorry that you feel otherwise.

We take exception to your comment "its tourism and everyone is trying to make a buck". The reality is, yes we are trying to make a living, however our highest priority is ensuring our guests have a remarkable vacation experience at a reasonable price. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I recently stayed at Las Palmas Maya for 4 nights and had an overall good experience. Although not directly on the beach, the location is in a great spot right across the street from Om Hotel and just down the street from La Zebra (both offer great beach access with comfortable lounge chairs all for the price of a few cervezas). If you haven't been to Tulum, you need to know that "across the street" means literally a few steps across a small paved road shrouded in tropical vegetation.

Tom, the Las Palmas manager, is very hospitable and incredibly knowledgeable about Tulum. His margaritas are the best in area! Unfortunately, Tom left for a few days of R&R during our stay and his support was much less attentive (including allowing dog poop from Tom's two dogs to sit on the gravel path for a day!). Otherwise, the property is clean, well maintained, and very relaxing. The only negative (other than the dog squeeze on the path) was the noise from the indigenous neighbor's barking dogs and the boom box from little bodega next door. They were, however, quiet at night.

The high-pressure shower, available from 5pm to 8pm daily (unless Tom isn't there, then no high pressure water for some reason), is a nice luxury in an area where most showers are gravity pressure only. The communal kitchen is great for cooking breakfast and for storing a few bottles of Mexican lager (Please...somebody brew an IPA in Mexico!!).

Room Tip: Rooms are all laid out the same, upper level may be more insulated from other room noises. No A/C or...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at LPM. We pride ourselves on our beach proximity with value, hospitality, unique amenities and cleanliness. I apologize that a couple of those were not up to our usual standards (the "package" left by the pup and the lack of the pressurized shower). Trust that this has been addressed and we feel confident will not happen again. We hope that you will have an opportunity to return and that we will exceed all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
4.5 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#19 of 98 in Tulum
585 reviews
2.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 98 in Tulum
1,298 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 98 in Tulum
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Maya

Address: Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: £39 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Maya is a welcome retreat in the jungle of Tulum. With beach access just across the road, you are only footsteps away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The recent addition of 24hr electricity is a huge amenity, offered at only a few beach zone hotels. Our newly renovated communal kitchen and lounge offers guests the opportunity to keep a few groceries on hand for small meals or snacks, and a wonderful place to relax, read, or chat with other guests. Our rooms have been completely remodeled and are fresh, clean and airy. Some of the other amenities offered are private bathrooms with pressurized hot water, free wi-fi, and bicycles available for rent. In addition, Las Palmas Maya is pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Palmas Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing