We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Palmas Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Palmas Maya
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

There isnt a way for me to eloquently describe what Las Palmas Maya does for me. The atmosphere is perfect. Since I was last here they have added a communal kitchen as well as a hammock lounge above it. Two VERY nice additions. The kitchen gives a great opportunity to mingle with other guests and make new friends, share stories and experiences, and save tons of money manking your own fresh meals daily. I found this to be one of my favorite features quite honestly. The hammock lounge located just above the kitchen is perfect for lazy days with a book or just taking a nap. Its quiet and comfortable, I especially enjoyed it on rainy days. Tom, the manager of the property, spares no expense to make sure your stay is enjoyable, his in depth knowledge of the area lead me to some gems that i wouldn't have known about otherwise. He runs a tight ship and not once did i need to ask for anything on property. Tulum is a great place to stay and i dont see myself going anywhere else on my future visits. Everything I need is right there at LPM.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
We always love having repeat guests and are so glad that you chose to stay with us again. I am pleased that you approve of all of the upgrades since your last visit! The screened communal kitchen, hammock lounge, 24 hour electricity, etc are things that we believe set us apart and enhance our guests visit to Tulum. Thank you for your kind review and do come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    41
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
146
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Las palmas maya was truly an unexpected gem. When booking lodging in Tulum we really had no idea what to expect... We had traveled to this area in the past but always stayed in the bigger hotel zones and we are so glad we chose LPM. If there was one word that comes to mind over and over it is consistency... We stayed there two separate times during out 3 weeks in the region and day in day out it was the cleanest friendliest most perfect place we have been. Tom(the manager) is the most welcoming, helpful host and he really helps set this place apart. Having lived in tulum for the last 3 years Tom is incredibly knowledgable on the area and really goes out of his way to make that most out of your stay. Tom has an amazingly positive attitude and you can tell he truly loves the beach life, you could not find a better host.
Las Palmas Maya really feels like home away from home. The rooms are spacious and exceptionally clean. The showers were amazing... They run an extra water pump from 5-8 in the evening, this is the best shower pressure in tulum! The property it self is small and intimate.. Located on the jungle side of the beach road and no more than a 20 yard walk to the most amazing sand and blue water you have ever seen. I guess we had no idea what to expect staying in tulum and we could not have been more impressed. The attention to detail is very obvious from the coffee being set out every morning to the beautiful landscaping they have done with the native plants. One thing that set LPM apart was the communal kitchen. I have stayed in plenty of hostels that you wouldn't dare cook in their facilities. The kitchen is kept impeccably clean and there is plenty of space to make some of your meals here. The Chedraui(supermarket) is right down the road and has an amazing selection of produce.
There is plenty to do in tulum from the ruins to the cenotes to the biosphere and Tom has great relationships with a few select tour operators that really offer exceptional tours. Where you want to get out and get after some adventure or spend the days relaxing in paradise, I cannot recommend Las Palmas Maya high enough... This in truly a special unique place and there is no where else in tulum that we would want to stay.... We have only been home for a week and we cannot wait to return to tulum and Las Palmas Maya.

Room Tip: The treehouse suite is amazing and would offer plenty of room for a small family to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback regarding your stay at LPM. The fact that you were with us for an extended period of time and were happy with your accommodations means so much. We hope that when your travels bring you back to the area, that we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Las Palmas Maya was just what we needed for our Tulum getaway: A great size room, safe, close to the beach, clean, and very laid back. It also included a fabulous kitchen (which isn't done justice in the pictures) and an awesome hangout area with hammocks of all shapes and sizes. I also have to say that I had the best sleep in years at Las Palmas and loved the high-pressure shower, which is better than mine at home.

The Tulum beach is filled with all sorts of hotels with different amenities, but none of them have Tom (the manager at LPM) who makes everything easier and delightful. Tom (who lives on site) was able to recommend stellar restaurants, set-up our car rental and excursions, negotiate for taxis, and answer any questions about the area and surrounding towns. His expert knowledge is an invaluable asset, especially for first-time visitors the area! Thanks again for everything! We're already planning our next trip back! -Mel & Justin

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melmmm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Wow! We so appreciate your wonderful review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. The high pressure shower is the best in Tulum (or so we've heard) and we are thrilled that you slept so well. Do come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

If you are in Tulum - Las Palmas Maya is the one! :) atmosphere there is amazing, with a lot of plants, hammocks where you can enjoy your morning coffee, kitchen where you can cook and best of all you have 1 min to get to one of the beautiful beaches i ever saw.
Manager (Tom) is absolutely great. He is really good organizer, he will told you about the best places around Tulum and make it really easy to visit them. What is also very important he is excellent cocktail maker and really fun to be around :D
I am sure if you come to this place you will enjoy your staying and telling everyone about this paradise :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -Anitara-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We really do appreciate your review! Tom is an excellent host and manager and is a man of many talents. ;-) Agreed...the beach across the road and in front of Om is one of the most spectacular ever and has been voted one of the Top Ten beaches in the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Manitoba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here October 18/2013 for 3 nights...... It was our first trip to Tulum and were a little leary regarding accommodations and safety, we quickly realized that there was no need to worry. Tom the manager was an incredible host and it was like staying at a friends house who gave you a key for your freedom but was there to aid in any way or answer any questions.We found Las Palmas Maya excellent value for money during our stay. Its close proximity to the beach and good restaurants close by meant we could indulge at will in our favourite pastimes of swimming, laying on the gorgeous Tulum beach and eating good food! Our room was very clean and comfortable and the ceiling fan and floor fan meant that the lack of air conditioning was no hardship at all. All rooms looked out to the nicely landscaped garden, giving a cosy intimate feeling, away from the bustle of the street. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. The outdoor kitchen was a great place to meet other guests and socialize. The email responses we received before booking were very prompt, because of that we decided to book. Thanks again and we hope to stay longer next time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are so glad that you felt comfortable and safe. For those that have never been to the area, that can be a concern however, as you learned for yourself, Tulum could not be more laid back and safe! =) Glad, too, that you feel we are a good value and we sincerely hope that you are able to return and stay with us a little longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We simply enjoyed our time at Las Palams Maya, therefore we decided to stay one day more there. This is the place for you if you like to feel settled. Awesome beach, which looks like in the advertisement for Raffaello is very close. The owner Tom is born for his job. Even more, he can do the best margarita! You'll not regret if you decide to spend your holidays in Tom's paradise!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Water_SLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We think LPM and Tulum are Paradise too! So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We sincerely enjoyed our time in Tulum at Las Palmas Maya. We can't wait to go back. Everything from the reservation with Cheryl, to Tom's hospitality was simply perfect. We were impressed right away when our taxi pulled up to the front gate and we were greeted by name. The beach at Tulum was amazing. The restaurants are expensive, so the kitchen at LPM is a huge plus for budget travelers. The all inclusive we went to after Tulum was great, but no comparison to hanging out at OM on the beach or the Hammock Lounge above the kitchen.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank iowatraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you! We are glad that you feel the reservation process went smoothly, your initial impression and greeting were warm and particularly that you enjoyed the kitchen and the hammock lounge. Please do come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.5 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#4 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Maya

Property: Las Palmas Maya
Address: Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Maya is a welcome retreat in the jungle of Tulum. With beach access just across the road, you are only footsteps away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The recent addition of 24hr electricity is a huge amenity, offered at only a few beach zone hotels. Our newly renovated communal kitchen and lounge offers guests the opportunity to keep a few groceries on hand for small meals or snacks, and a wonderful place to relax, read, or chat with other guests. Our rooms have been completely remodeled and are fresh, clean and airy. Some of the other amenities offered are private bathrooms with pressurized hot water, free wi-fi, and bicycles available for rent. In addition, Las Palmas Maya is pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Palmas Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing