We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tulum Trattoria Romana

Tulum Trattoria Romana
Ranked #35 of 382 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We found this place to be just average. Good, but not great food. Good service. I'm not sure if we just ordered the wrong items from the menu, but it was just okay. We loved Il Basilico across the street. However, there is nothing that stood out as really bad or really good. I wouldn't want to warn anyone away and would like to give it another try in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel4sushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    93
    25
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still raving about this place 6 months later..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Best Italian food I have ever had - hands down! Fresh pasta, fantastically welcoming service, and great margaritas to boot. The owner was awesome and we found him always outside on the sidewalk welcoming passers-by to come and try his place (which we did twice on our weeklong trip). You wouldn't expect your favorite restaurant on a trip to Mexico to be an Italian place, but it certainly was for us. We can't wait to go back to Tulum again this winter and make another visit to the Trattoria!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JLMM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian (Roman) Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

A real authentic italian restaurant in Tulum. We tried the pasta with seafood, arrabbiata and amatriciana. Everything was tasty and nicely prepared. Also the Tiramisu was delicious. The owners are two brothers from Rome. Alessio, one of the owners, is a very friendly and talkative guy, who looks very well after his guests and makes them feel very welcome. His brother is in the kitchen ensuring the right preparation of each dish.
Also all of their staff is friendly and courteous, and also informed about the daily specials, ingredients etc.

I am italian myself, and greatly appreciated the possibility of having some real italian cuisine during our two weeks in Mexico.

The prices are very honest, especially considering the large portions served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anjapiranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

The one rule to remember when eating in Tulum is eat where the locals eat. If you are craving Italian, walk downtown and you will find many Italians at Trattoria Romana. The food is fresh, the service is good and you will probably have enough left over for another meal. My favorite meal is the Rigatoni Gorgonzola although I doubt there is a bad choice to be made there. Mangia!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliefromBuford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

One of the best restaurants in Tulum. The food is just delicious. The service is great, they are very friendly, especially Matteo. You really have to try these dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroimwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tulum Trattoria Romana also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Tulum Trattoria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing