We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway in Paradise”
why you come to Tankah! our beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
why you come to Tankah! our beach
Downstairs sleeping area equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
18 reviews
why you come to Tankah! our beach
Downstairs sleeping area
equipped kitchen
spacious loft
Cenote Manati just a 15 minute walk
shaded reading area
fresh coconut from our trees
dining area
turtle returning to sea after laying and burying eggs
tankah sunrise
talavera bathroom
ladder to loft
side view from porch
Tulum ruins only 15 minutes away
garden flower
minicenote in ocean floor 10 min walk south
the kasita
Two person kayak to take out on our calm and beautiful bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JLMM612
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was a perfect little house for 2 on a private bay near Tulum. The neighborhood felt very safe and secure. The property was beautiful and very private. Juan, the caretaker is awesome and cuts open a fresh coco for you upon arrival. Every room of the little house was clean and new. The owner was very easy to communicate with about the property beforehand.

You will need a rental car. We didn't get one (it was our first time in MX and had no idea what to expect), and we walked a lot. It was a great adventure, but next time we are staying in Tankah bay - and there will be a next time - we will definitely rent a car. If you do like to walk, the collectivos will take you anywhere you want to go for cheap - you just walk out to the highway about 1.5 miles down the road.

Overall, we loved our stay at the Kasita. Would go back in a heartbeat.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Private and secluded
Liked least: Cooking utensils and needed a car
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loreek123...
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate in relaxation and enjoyment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kasita Katalina for 6 weeks, Jan 23-Mar 6/13. We brought our spaniel "Tommy" with us and it was the absolute best vacation ever!! The cottage is lovely, well equiped and clean. The beach is stunning as well as the view. Juan the caretaker was extremely friendly, bringing us coconuts whenever we wanted them and he is a very talented artist! We bought 2 of his paintings and were enthralled at watching his progress on a large sculpture he was working on at Casa Cenote. Kathy Flyn, the owner has a wealth of knowledge and history of the area and we enjoyed meeting her and her Chihuauah "Nico". Proximity to town and ease of transportation made everything simple and easy. We rented a car for part of the time and used the "Collectivo" the rest of the time. All in all we highly recommend this property and we are already planning and hoping to return again next winter for a longterm stay!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything from the house, the beach, the weather...EVERYTHING!
Liked least: It was ALL good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly...
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil Cottage On A Private Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent Christmas week at Kasita Katalina, and it was heaven. The cottage is charming and clean, the property is nicely landscaped and very tranquil, and what's really spectacular about it is the private beach space. It's your own slice of paradise while you are there; you can relax in a lounger or a hammock on your own quiet beach space while watching beautiful sunrises and sunsets, and see pelicans fish in the mornings. If you are looking for a relaxing, tranquil, cabin style getaway in Mexico, Kasita Katalina is it. The cottage is in walking distance of two restaurants, one of which is a B&B where you can get breakfast and WIFI if you need a technology fix, and it's also just a short drive from Tulum, where you get groceries and enjoy many great restaurants, including Cetli and Altamar. We were glad we chose Kasita Katalina over a large resort; the big resorts blast loud music on their overcrowded cabanas and beaches, but at Kasita Katalina, you have a peaceful slice of beachfront where the only sounds are those of the ocean and nature, and you can enjoy swimming and wading in a shallow, unspoiled natural reef. You can rent a kayak from the B&B and explore the reef and coastline as well. We could not have asked for a more beautiful and relaxing vacation, and we would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants the same, because you won't find this kind of bliss at a resort.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The private beach
Liked least: There wasn't really anything about the property that we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LexA352
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

The Kasita Katalina is a great little house situated in a quiet bay, providing a real feeling of being away from it all.
We were looking for a vacation where we could do as little as possible (aside from lying on the beach or swimming in the ocean) and see as few people as possible. Kasita Katalina delivered!
When we arrived, Juan, the caretaker, had left two coconuts chilling in the fridge for us. It was a wonderful welcome especially given the heat of the day. During our week-long stay, he visited 3 times to keep the property clear of fallen debris (i.e. large palm fronds felled by a storm or even trash and weeds that washed up onto the beach. By contrast, you can look south to the defunct resort and see all of the trash and weeds that build up when there is nobody there to remove them.
The house itself can be described as a studio cottage with a separate sleeping loft. There is a well-appointed kitchen, 2 beds (one upstairs, one down) and a bathroom with a tiled shower (no tub). There is bottled drinking water also, and it is on a delivery route in case you run out. There are 2 A/C units, one above the kitchen and one in the sleeping loft, but be aware that there is an extra charge for using them (extremely reasonable given the energy costs associated with running them). If you're there in a cooler time of year, I imagine opening the windows would be enough to forgo the A/C charge.
Important to note that the Kasita is set back away from the water and you don’t really have a view of the ocean from it (you can kind of see some of it through the upstairs window) but it’s just a walk through the garden to the beach where there are hammocks and ample seating options with the palms to shade you. Also, there is a decaying little cottage on the property between the Kasita and the beach so don’t be surprised by that. It doesn’t look to be a safety hazard (just don’t try to climb the stairs) and isn’t really in the way, it just ads a little charm and provides a nice shaded area to keep your stuff if you don’t want to leave it on the beach and don’t want to take it back into the Kasita. Look along the foundation at night for Hermit crabs, they seem to live in there.
Despite its remote location, the property feels safe. There is a security guard monitoring the road in and patrolling the beaches at night.
Cenote Manati is walking distance either along the beach or the road. Definitely worth the admission price. You can also rent kayaks from Casa Cenote by the hour.
Snorkeling is not bad if you’re willing to swim a little way out (don’t attempt without flippers and preferably a flotation device). There’s a really nice reef formation maybe 150-200 meters off-shore. Swim toward the buoy and you’ll run into it. We saw all kinds of fish and crustaceans out there.
Kathy(Katalina) was extremely helpful, answering my barrage of questions about the property and the area. You can tell that this is not a mere source of extra income, but rather a home-away-from-home; the place has a warm, comfortable feel to it.
All in all, the Kasita was a perfect place for a romantic getaway, though I wouldn’t hesitate to bring kids here too. I would definitely stay here again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Aside from the location, the garden was really nice; lots of trees on the property. She tries to keep it close to natural.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smh65
Grenada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the house, it's fairly small but tastefully decorated and set in it's own grounds.

We were looking for somewhere where we could relax and allow our two young children space to run around without constant supervision and this was the ideal location. (Only issue is there are some very steep steps to the upstairs bedroom, so you may have to watch young children).

The grounds lead onto a pristine white beach, with coconut trees, hammocks, there is a small reef directly in front for snorkelling and if you're lucky (we were) you may even see turtles nesting on the beach at night!

There's no TV or Wifi and the house is situated a short drive away from the main tourist stretch in Tulum but we considered this to be a plus.

Juan, the handy man, picked us fresh coconuts in the morning and ensured that everything was clean, tidy and in order.

Exceptional value.. and a hidden treasure!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beautiful unspoilt beach
Liked least: Soft Mattresses
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisr155
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great place to relax and get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Ideal location right on the beach.Quiet private setting. Good snorkeling. Beautiful sunrises. Peaceful walks on the beach. Restaurants within walking distance. Cenote right near by. 7 min drive to Tulum. Good security. Nice new house. Good cooking area.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: peaceful location on the beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agostinas...
Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Todo.
Liked least: Nada; es genial
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
I have enjoyed your visit as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$145
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing