We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relief from the tourist places”
Review of La Palapita Yucateca - CLOSED

La Palapita Yucateca
Price range: US$50 - US$120
Restaurant details
NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relief from the tourist places”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Drawn to this place by the women cooking away in the open and the simple and cheap menu. As vegetarians we wouldn't eat most of the food but quesadillas and empanadas con queso were delicious, and the simple delight of tasty chilequiles con huevos. After all the lights and noise of the other restaurants both in Tulum pueblo and along the beach, this is real comfort street food, served to you sitting on a stool at a bar watching women perform miracles with flour.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egnarocatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
“Delicious: chilaquiles con huevos”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Really tasty mexican food. Friendly. Not touristy. I had my first (and only so far) chilaquiles con huevos here. I'd go again. Really good value.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike_H2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great street side Yucatecan food”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is a typical open-air cenaduria on a side street, with an emphasis on Yucatecan specialties. The panuchos (similar to a taco but where the tortilla has been stuffed with black beans) were delicate and airy, not greasy. The toppings were fresh, the salsas flavorful, and the pickled red onions on top were perfect. At $60MXN a piece, you can pretty much eat until you're stuffed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jthrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viajando ahora por Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best authentic Mexican cuisine”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I highly recommend this place! On the surface looks very modest, but already the same list of snacks encouraged us to submit orders. Every day we were trying other dishes, I recommend sopes, huaraches con res, empanadillas con queso...
Everything is done in front of the customer. They make the dough up on the spot!
Staff is very kind and impeccable.
We are very pleased that after two weeks in Mexico have found this place!
Open from about 7.30 to about 22.30, so you can eat breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“authentic mexican and seriously cheap”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is a tiny place tucked away. We were the only gringos in the place. There is no menu and no one speaks english but they have the usual mexican fare. It was super cheap. Just 60 pesos for both my boyfriend and I.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieswholovefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Palapita Yucateca also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing