We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hidden Gem in Tulum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosa del Viento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosa del Viento
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best hidden Gem in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We were surprised from the minute we walked up the lobby. The restaurant was very nice. The rooms were very clean. Tulum is very secluded with no services like water, sewage or electricity. However, this place had it all. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay here again next time we are in Tulum. The complimentary breakfast was not bad and plenty. Lunch and dinner were fantastic. Fresh lobster caught the same day. Delicious. Cesar the waiter was great and shared some local stories from his town. We learned a lot from Mayan culture through Cesar. I recommend this place as it is simply the hidden gem of Tulum.

Room Tip: Chose the second floor of the cabanas. They have awesome views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernando g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    218
    53
    20
    16
See reviews for
88
437
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We rented two rooms here for two nights (we had children in tow). Rooms are spotless and great; very nicely done, feels brand new. We totally lucked into it -- we wanted to stay on the beach our last two nights, so we just drove down the main drag checking on availability, and this place had rooms. Owners are nice, and cut us a deal on the second room since they did not have a single room that could accommodate our family. Beach is gorgeous. It is pretty far south on the beach road, almost to the nature preserve, but this just means it is more remote. Highly recommend if you want to stay on the beach. Of course, you can stay on the other side of the beach road for about half of what you pay to be on the beach, so choose your poison.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artieg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here very recently for a photo shoot and absolutely loved it. The rooms were great - comfortably furnished (ceiling fans were put up when we were there), the staff very friendly and worked hard (especially the 2 little boys who helped on the beach) and the food was wonderful. Although we were working, the place was very relaxing, very photogenic and the beach is beautiful with very comfortable sunbeds. Massimo is extremely welcoming and helpful. I would really recommend the hotel for a quiet, good value, relaxing holiday - you hardly need to leave your hotel - everything is there including a high chair for a baby!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room nearest the sea for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This place is absolutely beautiful...breath taking! Small, quiet hotel in great location directly on the beach. This is 5 stars level. Everything is new and well decorated, from the entrance to the rooms and the restaurant. The room was clean, spacious, and with an incredible ocean view. My wife and I were overly impressed by the grounds and hospitality of the staff.The food is delicious, generous portions, and very reasonably priced. Really can't say enough good about this place! You can't imagine how Rosa del Viento is amazing place, you just have to go there...!!!
Ela & Norbert from Poland

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were a little late in booking our stay in Tulum, so a lot of hotels in the beach area that were highly recommend were allready full. So we ended up reserving a room in Rosa del Viento,, which had rooms available, I guess because it's relatively new and quite far South.

After a long flight from Amsterdam we arrived in the hotel around 7 and we very warmly welcomed by Massimo with a cocktail. On top of that we received an upgrade to a room right on the beach, because of a late cancellation. Great start of what turned out to be a great stay. Rooms a very pretty and clean (as is the whole hotel). Service is very friendly and to top it off the hotel has a great restaurant, doing both mexican inspired and italian dishes. I would especially like to mention a great seafood pasta, that the chef made specially for us, after ordering a ravioli that was not available. I must admit that their lunches and diners are better than the breakfast, which is solid, but nothing special.

After a weeklong trip around Yucatan we came back for a second four day stay. Again very good. If we go to Yucatan again we will definitely go back to Rosa del Viento.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel but did eat at the restaurant 4 different times and of the four, only one could be described as excellent for food, service and value. Breakfast the first time was very, very slow, as is expected in Mexico, but others arriving after us were taken care of quickly. Turns out they were family. Dinner the first time was very good and we were eager to return. We did return, I ordered the same dish and had to return it as unedible. Tasted like fettucine soaked in dishwater and the owner explained that the flour in the pasta had soaked up all the flavor of the dish and left it tasteless so he would change the basilla he uses. My husband also had a pasta dish and his was fine so don't understand the explanation. Breakfast a few days later was loaded with salt and sent back uneaten. Would not return to this restaurant even though it is one of the few at the south end of the beach. Would rather take a drive and get something less expensive and better tasting. Sorry.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetlnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosadelviento2012, Propietario at Rosa del Viento, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
wowwww really sorry your bad experience at our restaurant ... I find no explanation for what happened because we are known for having a highly recommended food ... only hope to have the chance again to show that we improve every day ... Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I spend several weeks per year in Tulum, and over the last 5 years have visited the majority of the beach clubs, boutique hotels, and restaurants both on the beach and in the town. We, like many, have several favorite spots, but this one has just taken over the #1 ranking for us. Marco and his business partner Massimo have created an outstanding addition to the hotel/beach clubs onTulum beach. They are located almost at the end of the beach road, just before the Sian Kaan gates. A beautiful curved wall of stone with the Rosa del Viento sign on it gives you your first hint that they did not cut corners here. Everything, from the cabanas, the restaurant, the beach furniture and palapas, are elegant and high end, while still retaining that magical charm that Tulum is famous for. The beach itself is welcoming and spectacular of course, but as Tulum has continued to grow, the element of just a little more seclusion than usual has "RELAX" written all over it!
We had a chance to see the rooms in the Cabana's, and although we didn't stay overnight, they are all brand new, bright and airy, and beautifully finished with mexican hardwood furniture, and elegant decorating.
The wait staff is friendly, and accomodating, both on the beach,and in the restaurant. We had drinks on the beach, and both lunch and dinner in the restaurant. The food was excellent, with some subtle touches that showed thought in the menu creation. Not easy to find an authentic caprese salad in Mexico! How great is that! Pastas and pizzas of course, were all excellent, but the highlight of the dinner menu is the seafood, which is caught fresh daily. (We watched the boat come in with the days catch 2 or 3 times, which is pretty entertaining in itself.) They've also got a great wine list, with a focus on Italian wines of course. The prices for drinks and lunch are on par with other similiar places on the beach, but we were pleasantly surprised to discover that their dinner pricing is actually a bit less expensive than what you normally see on the beach, especially when you get a "beach at night" atmosphere that is spectacular. Like everywhere else in Tulum, the service can sometimes take a bit longer, but the entire place has a great laid-back vibe, so just embrace it. We highly recommend checking out this new addition to Tulum beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 40belowdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
5.6 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa del Viento

Property: Rosa del Viento
Address: Carretera Bocapaila km. 10, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel boutique de 15 habitaciones ubicado a 500 mts. de la biosfera de Sian kaán, una playa privilegiada...Cuenta con restaurant en donde la especialidad son las pizzas y los pescados salidos de nuestro horno a leña ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rosa del Viento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing