We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Malix Pek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada Malix Pek
Ranked #22 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel has a good location, if you want to stay in town and not on the hotel strip along the beach. Cosy, nice and clean.

A bit too expensive for the standard and location. A dog at the hotel was barking a bit too much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EOEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    42
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
70
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My friend and I are a couple of older backpackers travelling through Central America (consequently on a budget) and Tulum was our kick off point. We found this place to be funky, clean and the Italian hosts and their numerous pets went over and beyond to make us feel welcome. It's basic but clean and the central location is ideal as it's literally just minutes from the bus station!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Had a good experience here, but as usual with cash only payment, because we booked online in dollars and payed in pesos, we accepted the exchange rate the hotel offers.(1-2pesos below the current exchange) We stayed 2 nights.
The owners are nice. The rooms are clean, they are minimalistic and modern. We didn't have much water pressure or hot water either day due to roadwork in front. There are a lot of mosquitoes in the little court yard, it's nice but you need insect repellent to sit there.
I would stay here again but I would look for other options before I did.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernest g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerici, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, choosing this Posada also for the comments of Trip Advisor. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. The welcome from the staff was enough good, giving us some basic information. The room with a pour furnishment, absolutely not worth the price paid. For us it was like the usual management by the Italians to cheat tourists. We tried to speak with the owners, but they wasn't never there! Never again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had a hard time finding somewhere to stay in Tulum because we travelled during the holidays, so we ended up here. As others have mentioned, this hotel only accepts cash. That said, there are three banks on the main drag very close by. We had a room on the main floor and it was large and clean. The room was a bit stuffy, but opening the window (onto the courtyard) solved that problem. I think all hotel rooms in Yucatan must be a bit musty because of the climate. The price was a bit high for what you get, but the staff are super friendly and helpful: Five stars! The courtyard is enchanting with plants and colours. Other guests hang out at the tables in the courtyard, and it can get a bit noisy, or the sound of someone's laptop/ipad going 'ping', 'ping' in the middle of the night can be annoying if you're a light sleeper. About five blocks from the bus station. A few hundred metres from a great authentic Yucatan restaurant: Kinich

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't open onto the courtyard if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10flags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Not the best place to stay at (be aware of the 5 star ratings for this place)...
THIS IS A CASH ONLY PLACE!
1) The other reviews are correct that the cleaning lady and the staff are really nice. The place is well located for those who want to enjoy the night life instead of the beach part of town.
2) This place is over priced for a anything over $75 Dollars or $700 Pesos per night because it offers...no TV, no breakfast, no drinking water....just a nice clean room with bed, AC and bathroom.
3) The bathroom had a funny smell, but shower hot water was nice.

If yo do stay here, try to get a room upstairs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

We couldn't afford any of the expensive hotels on the beach so opted to stay in town. This place was a great find, super clean and great location just of the Main Street and next to a bike shop if you want to rent one for the day. If you stay here ask for a room upstairs as the rooms downstairs smell like cigarette smoke... No breakfast included but nice hot showers.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HayLee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Corazon de Jade
Corazon de Jade
#29 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacha Tulum
Pacha Tulum
#11 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada Giana
Hotel Posada Giana
#23 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Sofia
Hotel Casa Sofia
#13 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Abanico Tulum
Casa Abanico Tulum
#20 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mango Tulum Hotel
Mango Tulum Hotel
#3 of 81 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Malix Pek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Malix Pek

Property: Posada Malix Pek
Address: Calle Acuario entre av Tulum y polar ponente, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Malix Pek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Malix Pek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing