We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted with Encantada”
Review of Encantada Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Encantada Tulum
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The name of the resort means Enchanted and that is without question a perfect description of the place. My husband and I recently spent four magical nights at Encantada and felt as though we'd landed in paradise. The rooms were romantic and beautifully constructed. We enjoyed both an Oceanview, Sol and Beach Front Upper, Estrella with the same layout and though Sol was slightly setback from the ocean, we preferred it, being close enough to have a view and hear the waves. The restaurant serves Mayan cuisine and the meals were outstanding some of the best we had and we ate at the top restaurants, whether dining al fresco or inside the quiet bar/dining area. The service was friendly, attentive and first rate. The last half of the week we stayed at a resort on the beach and in retrospect felt that Encantada would have been worth the extra money and overall was a far better deal. If you would like to escape to a quiet oasis, we have no hesitation recommending this charming boutique get away. We hope you find it as enchanting as the name promises.

Room Tip: The best value for the money was Sol, close enough to the ocean, with a slightly less expensive pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Everything about this small boutique hotel was simply understated and elegant.
Upon entering Encantada, I was greeted by the warmth and hospitality of its remarkable staff, the hush of the surroundings and the smell and sound of the ocean. My stay started with a delicious welcome cocktail. I was shown to my lovely private room which was appointed with all that was necessary for this chic rustic vacation. The lovely beach is just a few simple steps away. You are surrounded by the beauty of nature. Their restaurant is quaint, small and charming and the food is just superb. Carlos who served me my heavenly breakfast every morning, makes one feel like family. The breakfasts are lavish, and are included with the room - although after the third day, it felt slightly repetitious to have the same exact thing as 2 days before. A little variation, even a slight one, would have been nice.
All in all, this was a wonderful experience which I hope to repeat again.
Many thanks to all the staff, in particular, Javier, Carlos and Maria, for their gracious hospitality. Thank you also to Lisa M who helped with my reservations with courtesy professionalism and promptness.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NNMESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I had wanted to go to Tulum for a long time and when we finally made the decision to make the trip I did a lot of research on where to stay. I must admit originally this was not my first choice but having stayed there now if I ever return to Tulum, I would not want to stay anywhere else. This hotel is in many ways my idea of perfection for a relaxing beach holiday, that said it may not appeal to everybody. There is a real emphasis in Tulum on eco friendly tourism, in this hotel there is no air conditioning in the rooms and the electricity is limited – that said it wasn’t a problem for us at all.

We visited in May and stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor at the front of the hotel – the name of the room was “Estrella”. I think there were 8 rooms in total but that is the room I would choose if I stayed again. We could literally see the sun rising over the ocean from our bed in the morning. I was apprehensive about being somewhere hot and tropical and not having air conditioning but it was not a problem at all - the sea breeze through our screen door kept the room at a perfect temperature.

If you are looking for a lot of atmosphere or a social clientele this hotel may not be what you are looking for. It seemed to be couples relaxing, wanting peace and quiet. That was perfect for us. The beach at the front of the hotel is AMAZING! One of, if not the best I’ve ever seen! They will bring drinks to you through-out the day but if there is nobody at the beach to take your order it really is a matter of meters to walk to the bar and order drinks.

The restaurant and bar are quite small. We particularly liked the breakfast they did. We ate at the restaurant for dinner once and admittedly the food was great, but it is also was not cheap and lacked atmosphere.

One of the things we loved doing of an afternoon was taking the bikes that were on offer from the hotel for a leisurely ride up the long road that runs parallel to the beach behind the hotel. If you are into food there are some great restaurants in Tulum we loved Hartwood, Casa Banana and Lila’s to name a few.

Room Tip: "Estrella" would be our pick of all the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trent1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

After reading the reviews we were not disappointed by this beautiful boutique hotel. Set right on the beach with lovely rooms and a cute dining area, we were relaxed immediately. The food is the star of the show here - delicious ceviche and a great breakfast served by the wonderful Carlos. All the staff are friendly and attentive but leave you to enjoy the fantastic Tulum experience. Highly recommended and it was hard to leave!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank bobbyrockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It was our first time in Tulum and we had no idea what to expect. Encantada provided the best experience imaginable. The staff are so accommodating and good-humored it was contagious. I lost my green card on the way there from Cancun and they went above and beyond to help me relocate it. I got the mayan cocoa body scrub one day and the deep tissue massage the next which were both amazing. The cocoa body scrub is a weird experience as they wrap you in plastic to absorb the nutrients. My boyfriend thought that sensation was a bit uncomfortable but I love the smell of the chocolate and they scrub you with sugar and honey first which leaves your skin feeling really smooth after.

The food at Encantada, we thought, was better than most of the other restaurants we ate at. The mango fish tacos are divine. And if you don't want the mango you can substitute another sauce from the menu. The second time we ordered it with the chipotle sauce. They have this green chaya leaf juice specialty which is healthy and tastes great, with honey and ginger and some other tasty ingredients. And the cactus salad is one of the best salads I've ever had. Even my boyfriend loved it and he never eats salad. They also have great margaritas and a tequila flight so you can try different ones. Ask for the sangrita to go with that.

The hotel only has 6 rooms and was sadly booked up on our last night. The hotel we stayed on the last night paled in comparison. It was also an eco hotel but they only provided electricity for 5 hours in the evening and wouldn't print a map off for us.

Encantada is right on the beach in a section that feels really private, except for the other guests. The rooms are spacious and simply but elegantly decorated with a white and turquoise color scheme, and the beds are really comfortable.

One of the best experiences you could possibly hope for!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenriTiefenthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We went to Tulum for our honeymoon and Encantada was highly recommended to us by a work colleague. When we arrived we were totally blown away and it absolutely exceeded our expectations. The staff were so delightful and played an important role in the overall experience. They were friendly, informative and created a great vibe to the place. The rooms were exceptional and we could see the sunrise over the ocean from our incredible bed. The showers were beautiful and the room decor was gorgeous. The location was unbeatable and we had everything we needed. The breakfast menu was great which included hot freshly baked banana bread and coconut cookies. We feel blessed to have stay at Encantada and it was such an experience. Will definitely be going back. We are from a tropical place and travel frequently and we feel we found a hidden slice of paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front bottom room on the left which had an unbroken view of the beach. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I've not yet stayed at Encantada, but we had reason to interact with Lisa M regarding a tricky reservation. She could not have been more professional and understanding. It is good to know that hotels like Encantada exist and that they have people like Lisa. There was clearly a very personal touch that you don't experience at amny larger hotels and chains

Based on our experience we will no doubt be having my stays at Encantada in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank sunlover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.9 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 102 in Tulum
317 reviews
2.9 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#24 of 102 in Tulum
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 102 in Tulum
656 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
#7 of 102 in Tulum
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 102 in Tulum
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encantada Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encantada Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum-Bocapaila KM 8.7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico (Formerly Encantada Beachfront Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: £298 - £810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Encantada Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxuriously appointed, rustic Tulum cabanas sit on a secluded stretch of white, powder-fine sand where one can enjoy the view from your private deck, steps away from the crystal clear Caribbean waters. Up and down the coastline you will find a natural peacefulness, gentle breezes and the hypnotic sounds of waves crashing against the sand, all in the simple tranquility of Tulum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Encantada Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing