We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and But Nice”
Review of Zamas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zamas
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simple and But Nice”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights in August. It was clean, simple and nice with a great location on the beach. Everyone was so friendly and helpful here. I will return. The food for breakfast and dinner were both quite good and the bartenders/staff were a blast.

Room Tip: Go for the beachfront rooms. They are extra, but nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    167
    48
    37
    25
See reviews for
92
216
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for one night and it was an amazing experience. The service was excellent, and the rooms fit perfectly to the relaxation and chill out mood. The style and decoration are great. We loved the honey scent shampoo. The hammocks right outside the room are perfect to enjoy the breeze and beautiful scenery of the sea. Very romantic! I will definitely go back to this hotel and stay longer next time! Beautiful hotel, great location, and fantastic staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your “amazing experience.” We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay – the beauty, locale and “fantastic staff.” We look forward to your return visit soon! Please let us know when you'd like to return so we can make sure your next stay is just as special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had huge bathroom with a garden shower - sort of outside meets inside with natural products and Good bed linen and Insect net - not nasty synthetic. Private hammock and patio and no need to keep out the weather, listen to the surf and relax deeply, We like Zamas as its not too New Age or Luxury, the right level of tranquil and chill with live music over on the beach / bar , beautiful breakfasts and juices watching Pelicans swoop and steel fish. Great location away from the Traveller/Yoga/Honeymoon region - lovely road leads to Nature reserve, great for bicycle and snorkel trips in Akumal with turtles -recommended... and of course Mayan ruins in Tulum, i would love to return - healthy holiday and also romantic

Room Tip: the ones with private bathrooms, spacious and with beams in ceiling and big washrooms,, all other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lady_luciana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments. We love hearing that you enjoyed the Tulum vibe at ZAMAS. We look forward to your return visit for a romantic-chill holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This review is based on the incredible service that we received at Zamas. I can not rave enough about how well we were treated while we were guests at this hotel. The staff bent over backwards and literally did EVERYTHING they could to make sure that our stay was as pleasant as possible. This meant everything from carrying our very heavy luggage instead of wheeling it through the sand, making sure that we got the best room for our needs and being flexible when the needs of our party changed. I really enjoyed my stay at Zamas. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to return with my boyfriend next year. Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkmilaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our “incredible service” during your stay. We look forward to your return visit next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I recently got a chance to spend 10 days at Zamas in Tulum. It was truly heaven upon earth.

Zamas is unique in that it was one of the very first hotels ever built in Tulum. As a result, it has one of the best locations. It sits on its own beach, with only one other hotel in site at the other side of the bay. It's a quick walk to the hotel rows and large expansive beaches, but if you ask me, it's lovely to be able to retreat to the solitude of Zamas.

Zamas has also maintained an authentic Mexican charm. There are several very fancy, chic hotels up and down the coast in monochromatic themes, which are beautiful and very hip. But they are packed close together and don't offer the details and luxury that Zamas has to offer. Zamas makes you feel like you are in Mexico. It's colorful and vibrant while still giving you every comfort and luxury. Zamas thinks about the small details. My beachfront room had a hammock outside the door as well as lounge chairs, reading chairs, tables, and umbrellas. My ocean view room, had a wrap around deck, chairs, hammocks so that I could enjoy the sun and view at every time of day. The rooms, which are all different, have lots of color and texture, beautiful tiles and shapes. You can tell they've thought about where to put the light and the bedside table. It's a visual delight while also being livable and comfortable.

The restaurant is one of the few places you can actually dine on the beach--not just overlooking the beach, I mean, your feet can be in the sand, while the waves crash a few feet away. Of course, you can also sit on the patio and keep your feet clean if you prefer. They have a great varied menu for each meal. I ate every single meal there for 10 days and still felt like there were things on the menu I wanted to try. And, they keep the menu modern and up to date by inviting guest chefs, usually from San Francisco, the food mecca. After each guest chef, a few new items permanently appear on the menu that are exciting and interesting. The restaurant service is fabulous and charming. The waiters all made an effort to know my name and remember my regular orders.

The hotel service at Zamas is equally exceptional. Everyone speaks English and is willing to jump in and help. While I was there, someone got heat stroke while exploring the close by cenotes. It seemed like the whole staff jumped in to help bring water, coconuts, aloe vera--you name it.

Zamas is a truly special place: A gorgeous hotel, in a prime location, with friendly courteous staff and an amazing restaurant.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are special for different reasons. But the beachfront cabanas are very special sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahK9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience – we’re thrilled to hear that ZAMAS is a “truly special place” for you. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and we can’t wait for you to return! Come back soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

That's a return trip that we definitely won't repeat. Stayed here several years ago and had a pleasant stay. This time, it was quite different. Best to start with the hotel itself. The best rooms are the cabanas located right on the beach, which are lovely inside. Don't let the exterior put you off. There are more rooms located across the road behind the cabanas. These are quite nice and also come with sea views.
The restaurant is also located on the beach and that's the best thing about it. The food is overpriced and not of a great quality. Typical example, Zamas hangs a special sign out front advertising brick oven pizzas with fresh mozzarella. Not sure how hot their brick oven is but the pizza was completely undercooked and definitely made using local cheese. Obviously much cheaper that way. This is the problem in general, we ate breakfast once and decided to just eat just across the road each morning as it was so much better in value and taste.
Zamas had just employed a new restaurant manager whom was very professional and wanted to improve the restaurant, bring in music etc. Hopefully he'll be allowed to do his job. They have an excellent location and the place is very nice at night.
But for sure we'll never return after what we experienced when our rental 4x4 was vandalized whilst parked at Zamas. On our last evening we pulled in to Zamas at 5pm. According the the local police sometime before 6pm our 4x4 had the front wheel completely removed. Not sure why the police didn't inform anyone at the hotel, as it was obviously a tourist rental. Zamas's security guard whom apparently isn't paid to help watch guests cars or worry about them (he never checks on guests cars) which is illustrated by a small sign to park at your own risk and they mean it. The fact being that the SUV was lying in the sand and was apparent to anyone especially a security guard and still nobody cared to Inform us. The next morning we had to resolve this issue we can state that we experienced no help from the staff of Zamas nor did anybody care in the slightest. If someone had even let us know the night before, then we wouldn't have had to file a police report on the morning of our departure and consequently nearly miss our flight. We were also informed by a local taxi driver that this thieving had been happening regularly in the area and especially with our particular model of SUV. When I emailed Zamas directly to make them aware. Their response which is typical of their attitude in general was that this wasn't their responsibility and these things just happen. Not as much as thank you for the information and we'll make our security guard aware. Such consideration for their future guests means we'll certainly not be anywhere near Zamas again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fergalandorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, General Manager at Zamas, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
As we expressed to you in our correspondence earlier this year, we’re very sorry that the tire of your rental car was stolen.

Here is the copy of our correspondence to you:
“Thank you for the nice comments about our staff -- I will pass these on to Erika and Lalo. They really appreciate hearing about a job well done!

With regard to the unfortunate incident with the rented car, we're sorry that you had this experience. It truly is unfortunate when an incident like this taints your vacation experience. We at ZAMAS do try to warn our guests about potential risk factors. With that in mind, we ALWAYS recommend that our guests get Mexican car insurance as it is the only insurance recognized in Mexico. We hope that you did not experience any significant losses as a result of the theft of your tire.

With regard to our security, we do have staff on throughout the afternoon and night. During the daylight hours, our security personnel is walking the property while also responsible for certain infrastructure duties -- we do not have a dedicated person for just the parking lot. We will review what we can do with this incident in mind.

That said, we have not had an incident of a car tire being stolen from a car at ZAMAS. This is an isolated incidence for the hotel and we were not informed of any such incidences prior to the theft of your rental car's tire. We always inform the police of any problems at our hotel -- and thankfully we have had very few.

Again, our sincere regrets that you experienced this incident. We hope that our staff assisted you in handling this matter and that you were treated well by both the car rental agency and the police. Any thing we can do to assist with your claim in this matter, please do not hesitate to ask. I'm sure some of our staff can corroborate the theft.

Thank you for staying with us at ZAMAS and thanks again for the lovely comments about our staff.”

Please note that we have not had another tire stolen since this incidence – we believe this was an isolated incident that unfortunately tainted your view of Tulum and of ZAMAS. If there is anything we can do to help alleviate this negative view, please feel free to write to us at info@zamas.com.

Best Regards from all of us at ZAMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I took a last minute trip to Cancun in May 2013 and stayed at Zamas. Loved every-bit of it. The people were great. stayed here 3 nights and 2 nights at a resort. Found out that we are not the resort type of people, at this time anyhow. During out stay we had a guest chef from San Francisco, all I have to say is order what their cooking. Where ever you may be. My husband did and I didn't and boy was I sorry. All the food was great, don't get me wrong, but I've learned that if there a guest chef don't pass it up. We would definitely come back and stay even longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRC0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, General Manager at Zamas, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments and we’re thrilled that you enjoyed our Guest Chef program. We will be hosting guest chefs intermittently throughout this year and next; please see the information posted at zamas.com. And please let us know when you'd like to return, we want to ensure your stay is just as special next time around. Warm regards from all of us at ZAMAS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#18 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#12 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamas

Property: Zamas
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 5 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#12 Family Hotel in Tulum
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zamas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZAMAS is a boutique beach hotel situated on a strip of the Caribbean coast in Tulum. Inviting accommodations reflect a locally-inspired, organic architecture. Thatch roofs, stucco walls in beach-worn hues, and vibrant decor exude tropical warmth. Since it opened in December 1993 ZAMAS, with its hip beachfront style, has enjoyed an eclectic and international clientele of honeymooners, fashion professionals, artists, families, techies, and everyone in between. It is a quintessential hangout, mixing colorful urban roots with laid back local vibes and jungle ambience. The devoted clientele has spread the word and made ZAMAS one of the most popular spots in Tulum today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Zamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamas Hotel Tulum
Zamas Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing