We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the beach”
Review of Playa Esperanza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Playa Esperanza
Ranked #10 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My mom and I stayed here for 3 nights in March in Camarota and wished we could have stayed longer. The remoteness and uniqueness of this hotel was perfect to spend a few days relaxing and soaking up the sun. Our room was located right on the beach and was clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. We used the common bathroom and shower, but it was always clean and for the most part availability wasn't an issue. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The timing and availability of wi-fi and electricity was never an issue. Definitely would recommend having a car if staying on the beach side otherwise you will be taking taxis at night and having your own car gives you more freedom to go into town to try to great restaurants. I can't wait to come back to Tulum and will definitely be staying at Playa Esperanza when I do. Can't beat the price and the setting!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachgirl541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Compred to prices of other beach resorts in Tulum, this hotel has really good value! Really a cute diamond! The resort is right on the beach. The yard is nicely and homely decorated and there are some hammocks and sun chairs. No bikes available. You have to take a taxi (about 7usd) to the store, village and restaurants (about 5km).

We spent 4 nights in Linda Vista cabana. Electricity was on only from about 19-23 o'clock but same in all resorts. Our room was quite dark even with lights on so bring your own reading light if you wanna read after dark. Wifi was best in the mornings close to the reception. Hot water in the shared bathrooms :) Would recommend this place for couples and families, it's very quiet for solo travellers.

The restaurant was disapointing and wasn't open for breakfast for example.We bought own breakfast stuff to the room but then also got cockroaches :(

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninnu8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We come to stay in Playa Esperanza for 1 night and we stayed 5 nights in 3 different suites.
For us, the locaction, the atmosphere, the energy of the place was just right. The hotel is just on the beach, provides cabanas in different price catogories to suit different budget. That creates an interesting mixture of people. We also very much like the affiliated restaurant Cuccina Nostra (run by an excellent & beautiful Argentinian chef) and we had some of the best meals in Mexico there The staff - Marta & her mexican team are very friendly and always smiling, always helpful. There may be some small imperfection here and there, but they are counter-balanced for the energy and, in my view, refelcted in the prices which seemed very reasonable. Big recommendation for Playa Esperanza. Jirina & Leszek, 27 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jirina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

First the good things: the location is stunning, right on perhaps the most perfect all-round beach I have visited. The cabanas are also very picturesque - this is the place passersby stop to take photos of.

But now for the bad: from the price (70-100 $ per room per night outside of high peak) and the website I expected something pretty nice. However, the whole place is disintegrating and has not been maintained at all - the loungers and chairs were all rotten through and broken, during our stay the shower head broke and the wardrobe door fell off. But the worst is that none of the 3 rooms our family stayed in were waterproof and in fact we had to move from one room to another hotel because all our possessions including electronics got wet in our room. True the weather was particularly wet while we were there but storms and wet weather are not uncommon here and should not be used as an excuse. There were visible holes/patches in the roofs that had not been properly fixed.

On top of this, the water was cold in 2 of the 3 rooms we stayed in (not mentioned before booking), towels are only changed every 3 days but never dry in the humid environment and rooms were all very dark. The electricity only comes in in the evening but the lights are not sufficient to read by. Wifi rarely works.

This holiday was a large expense and meant to be a one off treat for us so we were disappointed by what we actually got for that hefty price tag. I have stayed in accommodation all over the world ranging from $5 a night to 5 star and this place was one of the worst value for money places I have stayed.

I gave 2 stars rather than 1 to reflect that we were refunded some money after we complained. However, I still could not recommend this place to anybody until serious investment is made to bring it up to scratch.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We checked in for 3 nights, and 9 days later I had to tear myself away :) This place is magic, I can't wait to go back! We stayed in a little bungalow with a view from the balcony of one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. So romantic!!!! The staff was amazing, so kind and accommodating. The owners were incredible, they treated us like long lost friends! There is a range of accommodations here, some tiny, some large, private and shared baths, so you can find whatever you like. But no matter your taste or needs, you will find it here, and more importantly you will find true peace and relaxation in one of the most amazing places on earth.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vantine8665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, there are beautiful views of the beach and the rooms are very nice. The rooms are decorated simplistically, be prepared for insects though and the odd cockroach! (boxes are provided for you to put your food in). I agree with other reviews that the bathrooms aren't the best-cold trickle of a shower, but not much of a problem in hot weather. The cabanas are also far from town so make sure you have a car or bikes to get to restaurants etc. overall we had a really relaxing stay here, lovely to wake up to the sound of the ocean and tulum is just gorgeous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We booked this place based on the reviews here. I consider myself a fair person and have stayed in a lot of different places and this place confused me - it is very odd! The website sells it as a boutique hotel with upmarket cabanas and at 100 USD a night you expect certain things.
On arrival the front gate is impressive. You go inside and are confronted by a confusing lack of anything except the storage area with the bins and generator. You wander around in the sand lugging your suitcase and arrive at the cabanas - looks nice. You can see the sea and white sand. But where's the reception? No sign of anything, no directional signs anywhere. You wonder about looking lost until someone notices you and points you in the right direction (the cabana facing the dining area is the reception but there are no signs anywhere). We were really not impressed with the welcome. Not sure who was working there during the first few days of our stay but she could do with some lessons in customer service. No welcome just grumpy information about how we couldn't use the kitchen as there was a problem with the water. Felt like we were interrupting her day. Not a good start.
Our room however was lovely (Casa Elo). We had our own terrace with sun loungers overlooking the sea. The decor was very chic and old fashioned style. Mosquito nets provided. The bathroom however was odd. Cold showers (not that it's a problem in the warm weather) and a shower head that just trickles (not the flashy dinner plate ones in the online photos). I don't mind this but they shouldn't misrepresent it. On one evening we had a lot of heavy rain and our bathroom leaked a lot and had bits of the roof and water everywhere. This was not cleaned up until the following day. Also you get big cockroaches but that is part of the 'au natural' experience!
Breakfast is not included and with the kitchen out of order there was no way to get a coffee in the morning until the kitchen got into gear (around 9am to 9.15am - later than the advertised 8am).
The restaurant looks really cool. I love the layout and the quirky bits and pieces decorating it. My boyfriend ate there for lunch and it was OK price for a choripan and beer. The next day we both ate there for lunch. The same meal which cost 80 pesos the day before was suddenly 120 pesos. We were told this was because it was on offer the day before (even though exactly same advert was on the board the second day). There was 20% added onto our bill with no explanation. When I enquired if this was a tip i was told no, it was a 'beach tax' for eating on the beach. There was no 'tax' the day before and there is no option but to eat on the beach as that is where the place is. All just felt a bit weird.
What would sort this place out and make the most of a great location and stylish decor is better management - someone who knows about running a hotel who is based on site, better customer service and more honesty on the website.
Make of that what you will!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 99 in Tulum
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 99 in Tulum
595 reviews
2 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 99 in Tulum
1,345 reviews
4.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Esperanza

Address: Carretera Tulum _ Boca Baila km 2.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing