We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, delightful location with a quiet private beach”
Review of Piedra Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Piedra Escondida
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a wonderful week at Piedra Escondida, in the capable hands of Andrea and Dejanira and friendly staff, a delicious breakfast every morning, within easy walking distance from the village. The staff accommodated our requests to have our rooms next to our kids, and the the morning swim before breakfast will be something we all will remember. The rooms were beautiful, especially the top floors with the palapa roof, and the folded towels on the beds are a lovely touch. Thanks to all the staff for a memorable vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sevier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aministracion, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Piedra Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Sevier,
We were very happy to hear from you.
We love provide a memorable vacation, we will do anything in our power to ensure a wonderful vacation for all our guests. Dont forget to write us back to make your reservation for your next trip with your friends.
We look forward to seeing you then!!!
Wormest regards,

Dejanira and the staff from Piedra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Piedra Escondida
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

First off the most BEAUTIFUL and wonderful place I have ever been too!! My boyfriend and I traveled to Tulum to get away and relax in paradise and we did just that and more!!!!! The food was amazing and the hospitality was so genuine and wonderful :)!!! We felt so welcomed and they treated us like family !! Pure bliss and paradise !!!!!!
We stayed in a hotel down the street which was beautiful and wonderful but when we come back we will stay at Piedra Escondida because of how welcomed we felt, they treated us like family !! The food was amazing and fresh and the experience by all the wonderful employees , Each and every single employee treated us like family and we will continue every single year to just stay at the beautiful Piedra Escondida!!!
The first night we had dinner at Piedra Escondida and we met two servers Marsello and Enrique and they treated us again like family and we felt so comfortable!!! Marsello and Enrique were extremely helpful telling us about all what Tulum has to offer and the best places!!!:) If it weren't for them and their ability to make us feel like we all have been friends forever we wouldn't have had such a wonderful experiences!!!! We stayed at Piedra Escondida for hours just talking to Marsello and Enrique, not only did we have a beautiful and wonderful life experience to be in beautiful Tulum , we also came out with two great friends and people as well, Enrique and Marsello are the reason we had such a great experience because of their hospitality.

STAY AT PIEDRA ESCONDIDA I PROMISE YOU WILL HAVE SUCH AN AMAZING AND WONDERFUL EXPERIENCES!!!!
Thank you Enrique and Marsello and staff of Piedra Escondida!!! SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!!:)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddieBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aministracion, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Piedra Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hello Maddiebeach,
Thank you so much for your comments about our hospitality. I will tell Marcelino and Enrique about you, they will be so happy to hear from you.
Next time dont forget to contact us and make the reservation directly on our website: www.piedraescondida.com. Hopefully you can take advantage of our promotions which we offer when you reserve online.

Kind Regards,

Piedra Escondida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I'm an illustrator and designer and I'm pretty picky about esthetics and sensory experiences. I usually find something to complain about. But I only have raves for the Piedra Escondida. The room, the service, the location—all of it, was pure pleasure, pure paradise.

(Okay, one thing—the dove on our thatched roof DID get up kind of early and started with the COOOING.)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We arrived to Piedra Escondida late at night, hungry and tired. We could not have felt more welcomed! We were showed to our beautiful room and headed us in the direction of food.Very close to food and activities. We woke to the most beautiful sunrise and waves crashing outside our window! WOW! Breakfast was substantial and delicious and served with a smile. The staff was always friendly and very helpful.
Our room was comfortable and very clean as was the bathroom. Fresh water supplied everyday.
Each room has it's own outdoor area that overlooks the private beach. The beach is small but a real treat to have outside your room. Great for relaxing in the sun or under a palapa with a pina colada. Star gazing at night is a must, we even saw a shooting star!!! We feel so lucky to have found such a special place! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We discovered Piedra Escondida last year during a walk down Tulum Beach. After seeing the private beach and secluded cove, we vowed to come back and stay. The palapas on the beach did not disappoint. The staff was very
friendly and the food was fresh & tasty. On some parts of Tulum, there is no electricity after dark. Here we got free wifi & electricity all night. There was also excellent live music in the restaurant at night. We enjoyed our stay @ will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SrCabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We come here quite often, and every time I immediately feel so relaxed and welcome. The water is the color that swimming pools are designed after, and the sand is so soft and fine, like baby powder. The hotel is quaint, charming and quiet, with only 8 or so rooms, all situated on a private beach cove. This is the place dreams are made of and screen savers flash photos of...but no one knows where it is...now you do. It's Pedra Escodida. We will be back...it's our "Happy Place"! Thank you Peidra Escondita for such happy memories! We will be back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank offthewallbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aministracion, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Piedra Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear offthe wallbelize
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again, that means we are able to maintain the quality during the years and it is not easy. We hope to welcome you back to our beach next time you visit Tulum!
And now a statistical curiosity: when we receive a bad or very bad reviews, very few fortunately, these always come from people on their first or second review, the senior reviewer or senior contributor rewards us with excellent reviews.

An argument for statisticians.!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Lovely setting. Experience not the best. Maybe a one or two night stay is ok. We were there for nine nights and did not see the welcoming atmosphere others are citing. The night manager was exceedingly rude. We did not have hot water and air conditioning. The staff with the exception of just two women, was arrogant and dismissive. This little hotel could be an amazing gem with a few upgrades to customer service. If you love to party, the live music from across the street will be a benefit for you...

Room Tip: choose a room on the lower level
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aministracion, Propietario at Piedra Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Mia W, we are very disappointed your holiday was not as expected, we wish to apologize and, in the meantime, advise all the customers that if they notice something wrong please speak out and let us know what is wrong, the owners are present every day and ready to help whenever they can.
Concerning the hot water may be it could have been absent a couple of hours, sometimes in winter time after several consecutive showers the water cools down and need a couple of hours to warm up again, as regards A/C all clients are informed through our web site that it is available at night and precisely from 7 pm till 01am in this period of the year.
Please again: Don’t wait, let us know what’s happening, we are always there to resolve eventual problems to help you enjoy your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,297 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 98 in Tulum
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Escondida

Address: Carretera Tulum Ruinas-Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tulum
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £112 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piedra Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piedra Escondida is a small enchanting hotel located on a stunningly secluded beach in Tulum that offers its guests charming simplicity and breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. There are 9 rooms decorated with local handicrafts and regional furniture all along with their private sitting area and hammock. Wi-Fi is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. As we are dedicated to living in harmony with the surrounding area we use solar and wind energy.Air conditioning is now available during the night hours. Our cozy restaurant with a Caribbean familiar ambiance and a magnificent on-beach terrace brings to life the wonderful authentic flavors of Italy with traditional Mexican cuisine and fresh Caribbean seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Piedra Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piedra Escondida Tulum
Piedra Escondida Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing