We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but beach is better south.”
Review of Piedra Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piedra Escondida
Ranked #21 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed 5 nights.

The hotel is located at a private beach. (sharing with one other hotel). The beach is ok, but swimming from the beach is a bit difficult because of rocks and waves. The beach 1 km. more south is better.

In the information (internet and confirmation) about the rooms, it says "AC during the night". AC was started in the evening, but shuts down at 3 am. We stayed in room 9 (upstairs from the reception/restaurant), and it got realy hot shortly after the AC stopped running. We complained, and was told, that the AC only could run for a certain amount of time (8 hours), but it was possible to keep it running to 4 am. After another night, we complained again, and asked if it was possible to start in at midnight and then it would stop at 8 am. The management came up with another proposal: we could get 2 other rooms downstairs in the adjacent building.

We accepted this solution, and had 3 real good nights.

If we come to Tulum-beach again, we will try to get a hotel more south.

Room Tip: Stay out of top-roof rooms, doe to the AC shut down at 3 am. When the AC is off it gets really hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SoerensenKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This place had A/C but it was only from 8:30pm - 3am. But, the night stay was only $136 for the night! It didn't however have fresh water for bathing but rather the 80/20 mixture the most cheaper places have there in Tulum. If you want a quiet place to stay, this is not the place because of the live music just a few feet away. But if you want to be close to good food and music then, this is the place to stay for a low price. They only have 10 units so, its a must to book with time.

Room Tip: Don't put a deposit if you aren't going to stay there because they will not reimburse you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECart51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Dont miss out on this great place. Relax, unwind for a great price. Pleas ask for Nayeli and Manuel Tax. Nayeli was awesome when it came to renting these fabulous huts. Manuel was a great waiter! Good Job Manuel! See you next year for sure! We had to leave but we didnt want to. Thats how nice it was! Dont think twice and stay! Special thanks to Nayeli (leasing manager)!

Thanks Piedra Escondida!

We will be back!

Room Tip: Close to the Mayan ruins and Xelha water park. Many other places in Tulum! Rooms face the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudyrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

this is a very charming intimate hotel, the rooms were lovely and very private.
the staff were very gracious and thoughtful,,,friendly...
we got a lot of help from the manager Andreas, for all our questions and different excursions
we could take... the breakfast included was terrific, and the endless cups of great coffee.
we went in early June when the weather was very hot and somewhat cloudy, but there
were no crowds. It's a terrific location, very close to the town, and lest we forget the aroma
from the itallian food they prepared at dinner was intoxicating... we can't wait to go back!
we were a couple and we saw the families having a great time ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have stayed here three different times now and love it. Beautiful setting and management is great. There are only 8 rooms and every room has breathtaking views of ocean (especially the upper rooms, which also have great patios). I can only describe this place as heaven on earth. I have recommended it to others and have brought friends there as well. Everyone agrees, this place is amazing. It's location is great, situated in a little hub of small hotels and great restaurants. We have witnessed baby sea turtles hatching there at night. Bike rentals next door and it's an easy ride up to the public beach, which is the best beach I've ever seen in person.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in May 2014 in room 4. Piedra Escondida is in a beautiful location, situated on what is effectively it's own private beach and well located to several local amenities and good restaurants. It is very nice, but nothing particularly shone for us for the money; but maybe that's because Tulum is a fairly expensive area to stay in for Mexico.

I have stayed in cabana style accommodation several times and it was to a fairly high standard, but if you're coming from a cold climate then the aircon turns off (we were aware of this) really just when we wanted it most (3am) to aid sleeping and I'm not really sure why. There were some gaps in the thatching which allowed you to watch the lightning at night. Also, I wasn't completely aware when I booked of how rough the sea is in Tulum, thinking it'd be really romantic like the lapping of water at a Mediterranean beach or even of the Mexican Gulf (such as further north) I hadn't realised it's actually quite loud and can keep you awake - no complaint, just keep this in consideration if you add on some jet-lag it makes for some restless nights.

Although the beach is stunning and the view to the sea is picturesque, access to the water isn't easy as it is quite rocky. Also, it's hit and miss if it's a seaweed day or not depending on tides, weather etc.

The breakfast was basic and a bit hit or miss; one day very lack lustre the next pretty good - the coffee mainly lack lustre but better on some days.

It is in a good location, easy enough to jump into a Taxi and get to town, several good restaurants around, mini-market and some other shopping stalls. We also walked to the ruins - which is do-able, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend the walk as it's fairly un-interesting and very hot - although you can get to the beach at one point and finish the walk there.

I have no complaints, Piedra Escondida suited our needs at Tulum and it is really idyllic to be stepping out of your cabana onto beach to go for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chunkylover53__x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at this property for our last 3 nights in Tulum. I truly enjoyed the atmosphere at this location. It's right in the heart of Tulum, but it's a very small place. The beach is a tiny little cove compared to an all inclusive resort we stayed at our first 4 nights. I LOVE this beach. It's so beautiful, it was ridiculous.

The restaurant is fantastic, breakfast is included with the room rate. You have about 4 free choices, with other options you can pay for. Outside seating right on the beach. The service is great. One of the staff, Carlos, in particular was very kind to us during our stay. He spoke English very well, and we were able to communicate with ease. Carlos gave us great recommendations while we were in Tulum.

The rest of the staff were great too. Everyone was very friendly, and helpful. We had a great time at this property.

The only bad experience happened to be on my birthday. We asked one of the Italian guys in the front reception for advice on where to go swim with the sea turtles. I was so excited to show my boyfriend the turtles. It's the only thing I really wanted to do on my actual birthday. The guy I spoke with wasn't the owner, or the manager. It was a taller guy with glasses.. He told me to go to this specific lagoon to see the turtles, on the north side of Akumal. We we ended up driving right past all the best places, only to arrive at horrible lagoon where we didn't see any sea life, let alone turtles. As soon as we pulled up we found out we were in the wrong place. It turned into a horrible day. I was so disappointed, and kind of still am. As a Concierge I know better than to give out the wrong information. There was no misunderstanding here, he was VERY specific about going to that particular lagoon. Fail. At least the rest of our stay was good.

I would stay at this property again because it's just so beautiful! I loved everything about the room. It was $200 per night so... There's no TV's in the room, which I like. There's a couch. The shower and bathroom did smell a bit strange, like really salty. But it wasn't that big of a deal. There's a porch in front with a hammock, and two chairs. Our room was upstairs. I only saw like two bugs, but heard lots of birds! It was so cool waking up to the birds chirping, and perching on our roof. Coconut trees everywhere. We had one window facing the road, but the noise was not a big deal to me either. The whole experience was great.

I have to say the food in the restaurant was really good. The service was great. All of the gentlemen that work there were very friendly with us. Especially Carlos, who, as I said before, made some excellent recommendations for us.

I can't wait to visit Tulum again!

PS Random tips for travelling to Mexico in general:

Exchange your money for pesos before you get there
Taxis are very expensive, don't be afraid to rent a car
Bring your own maps, it's hard to get a proper one

Room Tip: One of the rooms has two balconies. Some rooms face the street. I didn't have a problem with our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleKapiolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
626 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
922 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 101 in Tulum
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
#8 of 101 in Tulum
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 101 in Tulum
471 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#32 of 101 in Tulum
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Escondida

Address: Carretera Tulum Ruinas-Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tulum
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £131 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piedra Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piedra Escondida is a small enchanting hotel located on a stunningly secluded beach in Tulum that offers its guests charming simplicity and breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. There are 9 rooms decorated with local handicrafts and regional furniture all along with their private sitting area and hammock. Wi-Fi is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. As we are dedicated to living in harmony with the surrounding area we use solar and wind energy.Air conditioning is now available during the night hours. Our cozy restaurant with a Caribbean familiar ambiance and a magnificent on-beach terrace brings to life the wonderful authentic flavors of Italy with traditional Mexican cuisine and fresh Caribbean seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Piedra Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piedra Escondida Tulum
Piedra Escondida Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing