We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of Piedra Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piedra Escondida
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2006

Paradise Found.

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for seven short days. There are eight rooms in two units of four. Our room was 20 feet from the ocean, with double French doors onto a small balcony overlooking the ocean and a larger balcony with two Adirondack chairs and a hand made hammock. I fell asleep to the sound of the waves and woke up to a beautiful sunrise. There are several palapas and tons of beach chairs. Although the beach is shared with two other hotels we never had to fight for a chair and if you didn’t like that beach all you had to do was walk ten minutes up the beach and there was beautiful stretches of beach with maybe two people. Breakfast is included, table service of either continental or a variety of hot meals from eggs to enchiladas. But just because it is included don’t forget to tip; these people rely on tips for the majority of their salary. Meals are amazing. Everything is prepared to order so relax and enjoy everything from fresh fish to pasta. Unwind on the only veranda that is right on the beach. But be prepared the rooms are rustic. They have tile floors; a couch, one or two beds with a romantic mosquito net. Our room was on the upper floor so it had a thatch roof. There is a shower but it is gravity feed salt water. Tulum beach is part of an Eco Sanctuary so the toilets are on a septic system and they do not want you to put your toilet paper in the toilet, there is a waste basket provided. That takes a little getting used to. The rooms are cleaned daily and they need to be because of all the sand you track in. Power is provided by generator that is on from 7-3, then again from 5 -11. Candles for hurricane lamps are provided. Very romantic. We checked out all the other hotels and were happy with our choice. Many were trying too hard to be little Cancun with loud music and “American” style food. I am already in the process of booking my flights and arranging for our vacation for next year. Best vacation I ever had!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CarolefromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2006

It was with some trepidation that we set out to explore a few destinations on the Mayan Riviera coast post hurricane season. We'd heard lots of rumours, but knew that no matter where we stayed, we'd find a beach, blue waters, and the amazing hospitality we have always received in this area of the world. We looked at a number of options in the Tulum area, and decided to try Piedra Escondida. A great choice for those who love everything that's antithetical to the big all-inclusives. There are only 8 units. Ours was a lower one with tiled floors, step-in shower, two beds and a little deck with two chairs and hammock. Ultra clean ... breakfast included at the lovely little beach restaurant. Very little hurricane damage showing as they had worked hard to repair the palapas roofs etc. and bring the walls at the restaurant back to repair. Certainly the main road and some of the destinations were heavily hit, but Piedra Escondida was in great shape.

Don't go expecting TV's, plug-ins for hairdryers etc. This is a destination where the generator goes off at 10 or 11 pm. and doesn't come on til dinner time. But what you get in return is that wonderful quiet that comes from travellers who, like you, appreciate the private little bay, great sand beach, and proximity to all the beaches of Tulum, from the Tulum Ruins all the way down to the Sian Ka'an reserve. A bike rental place next door provided us with bikes for the day and we headed up to the ruins before all the tour buses arrived. Spent each day exploring beach to beach down the coastline, trying out little beachfront restaurants along the way (the one at Vite e Bella was lovely, and the beach at Don Cafeto Restaurant was amazing) ... and our favourite bike destination was further down the south coast at Ana Y Jose's where we had ceviche and beer at their great restaurant and walked along the beaches for miles before bicycling back to Piedra Escondida. It's a simple life -- leave dresses and dressy sandals and resort wear for another trip. Pack simply with books to read, shorts, bathing suits, sports sandals, day pack, and little else. And try out a few of the places. We looked at Vite e Bella, Zamas, and Ana Y Jose and decided all of them would be fun to try on our next trip to the Tulum Beaches. (No need for a car: Taxis are cheap and plentiful into Tulum Town for dinner, shopping etc.) We rented a car for a day to go to the ruins at Coba but otherwise were happy just bicycling or taxi cabbing it around. Nightlife is pretty non-existent except into Tulum or up at a new Euro style disco hotel/restaurant/bar called Mezzanine ... but that wasn't really the trip we were looking for so we can't say much about that end of things. We booked our transportation online from Cancun straight to Piedra Escondida. It was about $80 but worth it as we had arrived late into Cancun and weren't up to figuring out public transportation. If you're getting in early, there are lots of options for cheaper transport. have fun!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Cwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Connecticut
114
Reviewed 3 January 2006

Piedras Escondidas was fantastic. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The owner turned me onto a local sculptor and other artisians. The place was clean, great Italian food (especially since you are in Mexico) and the beach outside your room was perfect. Best of all, it was affordable compared to other hotels next door. Give Piedras Escondidas a try and eat also at Zamas next door and go get a massage next door at the maya spa at Copal. This was a great hotel to centralize oneself in the Tulum area. Highly recommended!

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GiorgioRoma_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2005

19  Thank BethinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank RitaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Milano Italia
123
Reviewed 24 April 2005

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 100 in Tulum
608 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
908 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#12 of 100 in Tulum
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 100 in Tulum
451 reviews
0 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#73 of 100 in Tulum
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Escondida

Address: Carretera Tulum Ruinas-Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tulum
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £136 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piedra Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piedra Escondida is a small enchanting hotel located on a stunningly secluded beach in Tulum that offers its guests charming simplicity and breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. There are 9 rooms decorated with local handicrafts and regional furniture all along with their private sitting area and hammock. Wi-Fi is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. As we are dedicated to living in harmony with the surrounding area we use solar and wind energy.Air conditioning is now available during the night hours. Our cozy restaurant with a Caribbean familiar ambiance and a magnificent on-beach terrace brings to life the wonderful authentic flavors of Italy with traditional Mexican cuisine and fresh Caribbean seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Piedra Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piedra Escondida Tulum
Piedra Escondida Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing