We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Maya Tulum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maya Tulum Resort
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I highly recommend Maya Tulum: I just spent 10 days there and my stay was blissful. Beautiful huts (if a bit creaky: when the wind was blowing hard outside, my curtains danced). Good and varied yoga classes ranging from Kundalini to Restorative in lovely halls whose open windows let in the ocean breeze. A restaurant that serves tasty (if not the most healthy) food and whose staff is extremely friendly and accommodating (one waitress even brought me chamomile tea to aid my efforts at becoming blonder!). Excellent spa services to the sound of the waves and classical music. A fine beach (the only downer being that the water was often full of seaweed -- but a 100-yard stroll to the south would usually ensure perfectly turquoise water).

All in all, I would give Maya Tulum 4.5 out of 5 stars. It`s quite expensive, but if you`re going to splurge on a restorative vacation, I don`t know of a better place to do it than there. Especially with the Riviera Maya having been unfairly hit by the flu alarm! (Apparently not a single case has been reported in that area, yet tourism is on life support.)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    90
    31
    23
    17
See reviews for
31
80
74
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I took this trip with a group from my yoga studio. The resort is amazingly beautiful and eco-friendly. If you're looking for a "typical" Cancun style vacation, this is not the place for you. If you're ready to enjoy nature and get to know yourself a little better, Maya Tulum is the place to be. The spa treatments are to die for (I highly recomment Fabien and Chandree), the food was delicious (and good for you!), the yoga was phenomenal, and the views couldn't be beat. Do take bug spray with you if mosquitoes tend to find you tasty, and definitely stay in the ocean view or ocean front cabanas if you don't like the heat. Leave your hairdryer at home. Not only can you not use it, you're not going to want to use it. You can feel completely comfortable walking around in your swimsuit and cover-up or yoga gear. Shoes are optional. This was the most restorative and restful vacation I've ever taken.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsophelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Nine days relaxation - beautiful beach walks, incredible massages, great breakfasts and afternoon smoothies. Didn't do "the plan" but enjoyed the morning yoga classes, peaceful atmosphere, swimming in front of our unit, excellent front desk help picking restaurants, tours, cenotes to visit for a swim. Windy during our stay so swims in nearby cenotes and lagoons essential. Lots of good and reasonable restaurants in walking distance which we thought a better bet than the meal plan at Maya Tulum. So much to do in the area, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Maya Tulum was great in many ways: the yoga classes were very good and varied in style and intensity. The treatments were excellent. I loved the ambiance of the grounds, and the food generally very healthy and tasty. Service was friendly and helpful. But if you're going for a beach/swimming holiday, there are better spots along the beach in Tulum. Despite the exhaustive efforts to cart away the avalanche of seaweed that washes up on the beach daily, it was often nearly impossible to swim directly outside the resort (which is located in a cove that traps seaweed and debris). But, on the plus side, it attracts lots of birds and is a bit of a wildlife sanctuary. There's a lovely fisherman who comes to feed the pelicans every dusk--just great!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We stayed at Maya for one night at the end of out trip in Tulum. Coming from La Zebra and our modern (not on the beach room) to a 240 a night on the beach room was a disappointment.
There is no swimming beach. It's rocky, seaweed and noisy.
There were ants and two cockroaches in our hut. One ant made it into the bed.
While my outdoorsy husband was fine with this, I was not.
A. b.c we were not camping
B. the room was 100 more than the clean modern one I just left.

The food was overpriced, overcooked and was the WORST meal we had on the trip-hands down.

YOGA is great. Don't stay there, just go each day for a $12 yoga class.

I promise you that you can do better.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Micheleriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at Maya Tulum the third week of March 2009. I have to admit that I had some reservations -- I was informed at the last minute that my room was not a true cabana but actually a two-story buidling and was a bit afraid that the hippy-yoga vibe would overwhelm, as that is emphatically not my scene. My fears were unfounded. We had an amazingly peaceful and relaxing vacation; though our room was a more traditional building and not really a cabana, we could not hear our neighbors and it really was right on the beach -- the sound of waves lulled us to sleep every night and there were plenty of ocean breezes that made the lack of electricity after 11pm a non-issue. The room was really nicely decorated and spotless. It's true that there's kind of a granola/yoga-yuppie vibe at this place, but everyone minds their own business and no one is in your face about it (no kumbayas, no pressure to do yoga). One major advantage to this type of clientele is that everyone is very quiet, so there were no people yelling, keeping you up at night, playing boom boxes on the beach, etc. which apparently does happen at some of the more Euro-oriented joints on the beach (e.g. Ana y Jose). The ocean there was a bit murky our first day but then cleared up into picture-perfect sparkling green waters. My only real complaints about Maya Tulum are 1) it is overpriced -- our room was $195 per night, and probably should have been half that and 2) the restaurant is totally mediocre and also overpriced. Luckily there are many, many other places to eat nearby so the food wasn't a problem. If you've got the money to burn and want to chill out to the maximum, Maya Tulum is the place.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

OK-this place is nice to look at. over the years they have made a lot of changes. Here are the problems-starting to look like a resort rather than an escape to TULUM-over priced-same rooms they have had for years-now triple the price-what am I paying for? Terrible food-just terrible-with a wait staff that is trying to hard. The space for the restaurant is the same structure-with the same terrible buffet now served in silver warming trays-big deal! OH- if you're rich or not and smoke-don't stay here you can't enjoy a dinner in an OPEN AIR RESTAURANT with a smoke-go figure. That was it for me-I left. Yes the Yoga rooms a nice and they have massage. This place was so much fun years ago and just beautiful-now it's just another over priced resort with no pool at resort prices-enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tbfairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#34 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#25 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#55 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maria Del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Tulum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Tulum Resort

Property: Maya Tulum Resort
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, Km 7 | Hotel Zone, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#17 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#27 Family Hotel in Tulum
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Tulum Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexico’s Maya Tulum Resort is a destination like no other - a vortex of natural energy and wonder. Located an hour and a half from Cancun on the sparkling waters of the Mexican Riviera, Maya Tulum Resort guests are encouraged to engage in a life-transformational yoga experience, indulge in healthy cuisine, be pampered by gifted healers and spend lazy afternoons basking alongside the azure waters of the Caribbean Sea. Maya Tulum Resort features two fully-equipped yoga halls offering classes twice daily under the skilled and gentle guidance of experienced teachers. Yoga classes are offered in many different styles and variations - including Hatha, Vinyasa, Iyengar and SUP Yoga - plus a variety of special yoga retreats. Maya Tulum Resort also offers outdoor oceanfront yoga, a Meditation Labyrinth and a Temazcal Sweat Lodge for traditional Mayan ceremonies. Maya Tulum Resort offers 49 spectacular thatched-roof guest accommodations, including Villas, Beach Front Cabanas and Ocean View Cabanas. Each secluded bungalow was designed to let in the light, fresh air and the soothing sounds of the ocean. Guests can enjoy immaculate beds with crisp white linens, well-appointed tiled bathrooms and daily maid service. To help guests truly retreat and disconnect, Maya Tulum Resort offers no televisions, phones or clocks in the guest rooms. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and at the Front Desk. Maya Tulum Resort features a seaside restaurant with cool marble floors, white limestone walls and enormous windows offering fantastic views of the turquoise Caribbean Sea. The restaurant serves a variety of fresh dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including proteins, seafood and vegetarian meals, along with Americano coffee, fresh juices and a selection of house teas; a full bar is also offered. Great focus is placed on nutrition and meals are designed to accommodate a wide range of dietary preferences. Maya Tulum Resort features eight individual spa rooms specially designed to help guests find absolute peace of mind within the beauty and elegance of simplicity. Rooted in ancient inspiration, the resort offers a variety of relaxing spa treatments based on ancient Mayan specialties, including the Mayan Honey Xuunan Kab and a traditional Mayan Clay Massage. Additional options include Aromatherapy, Hot Stones Therapy, Reiki, facials, body treatments and exfoliations. Guests are encouraged to explore Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula through a variety of guided half and full day adventure tours. Excursion options include visiting the Tulum Ruins or the Coba Ruins to learn about the ancient Mayan culture, snorkeling trips to a lagoon filled with tropical fish and coral formations or a tour of the Aktun Chen caverns followed by a cool, refreshing dip in the Xunaan-Ha Cenote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maya Tulum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Tulum Retreat And Resort
Maya Tulum Retreat Hotel Tulum
Maya Tulum Retreat Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing