We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much-needed respite from the busy world...”
Review of Maya Tulum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maya Tulum Resort
Ranked #48 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A much-needed respite from the busy world...”
Reviewed 22 November 2009

- Beach-front cabana - literally steps from the ocean. Cute, clean, simple. There were so many windows it was like we were sitting over the ocean!
- Beautiful location, far enough from the crazy-party atmosphere of Cancun.
- Customer service was impeccable throughout our stay.
- Spa treatments: so good...best I've ever had.
- Yoga and meditation classes - perfect for beginners.
- Great food! Breakfast included a buffet with yogurt, granola, loads of fruit, scrambled eggs, oatmeal, pancakes, fresh juice. Lunch ranged from fish tacos to grilled veggie sandwiches. The dinner menu included options ranging from pasta to Mayan specialties and traditional Mexican food.

Considerations: This place may not be everyone's taste. It is definitely a calm, restorative location - not a party hotel (although they do serve great margaritas!). If you want somewhere to relax and unplug, this is a perfect spot. No TVs, no phones, no town to shop in. Very simple... and worth it!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kassegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    92
    32
    23
    18
See reviews for
33
80
75
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

A truly relaxing, intimate and friendly resort. I HIGHLY recommend that you stay in Rooms #6,8,10,12,2 for oceanfront. The other side of the hotel is not beach friendly and rocky and seaweed (or something) stinky. You really do need the bug spray and the mosquite net but I was careful and didn't have any bug issues but others did.
The yoga classes were wonderful, especially Victor and the spa services were fantastic. Fabian for a holistic massage is a MUST and you should book your massages upon arrival for the best options for your week.
The food was very good and the staff everywhere was very accommodating. The juices are handmade upon order, incredible. Orange juice and chaya, amazing!! Their homemade granola, amazing!!
I just cannot say enough about how wonderful and relaxing this resort was for me.

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoHounddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I had been to Maya Tulum before and knew that it was wonderful. This time I went down on business and took the opportunity to sink deeply into my experience there. The food, the accommodations, the people, the spa treatments, all wonderful! It felt like family to me and I did not want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quiana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

This place is awesome! I went there on a retreat with some instructors from the yoga studio I go to in Pittsburgh and I had an amazing time. The food is almost entirely vegetarian which was exciting for me. Eating vegan can be tough when traveling and it was pretty simple at Maya Tulum. Not only was it healthy but it was delicious. They served a different fresh juice at every meal.

The sunrises there were spectacular and the spa treatments out of this world. I recommend Mayan Clay treatment. The grounds are very well kept and while there can be a lot of seaweed on the beach there appears to be full time staff removing it.

Make sure you bring LOTS of bug spray, a flash light, and surge protector. The front desk does NOT have snorkel equipment even though they say they do on their web site. It was sort of a hassle to rent so bring your own if you want to snorkel right off the beach.

There is no night life to speak of anywhere close by this time of year (Sept) but our salsa teacher said there is a salsa party on the beach every Sunday night. You will probably be too tired to do anything but read at night anyway if you are doing yoga twice a day like we were.

This is the perfect place to recharge in a breathtaking and historic part of N. America. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatBarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I highly recommend Maya Tulum: I just spent 10 days there and my stay was blissful. Beautiful huts (if a bit creaky: when the wind was blowing hard outside, my curtains danced). Good and varied yoga classes ranging from Kundalini to Restorative in lovely halls whose open windows let in the ocean breeze. A restaurant that serves tasty (if not the most healthy) food and whose staff is extremely friendly and accommodating (one waitress even brought me chamomile tea to aid my efforts at becoming blonder!). Excellent spa services to the sound of the waves and classical music. A fine beach (the only downer being that the water was often full of seaweed -- but a 100-yard stroll to the south would usually ensure perfectly turquoise water).

All in all, I would give Maya Tulum 4.5 out of 5 stars. It`s quite expensive, but if you`re going to splurge on a restorative vacation, I don`t know of a better place to do it than there. Especially with the Riviera Maya having been unfairly hit by the flu alarm! (Apparently not a single case has been reported in that area, yet tourism is on life support.)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I took this trip with a group from my yoga studio. The resort is amazingly beautiful and eco-friendly. If you're looking for a "typical" Cancun style vacation, this is not the place for you. If you're ready to enjoy nature and get to know yourself a little better, Maya Tulum is the place to be. The spa treatments are to die for (I highly recomment Fabien and Chandree), the food was delicious (and good for you!), the yoga was phenomenal, and the views couldn't be beat. Do take bug spray with you if mosquitoes tend to find you tasty, and definitely stay in the ocean view or ocean front cabanas if you don't like the heat. Leave your hairdryer at home. Not only can you not use it, you're not going to want to use it. You can feel completely comfortable walking around in your swimsuit and cover-up or yoga gear. Shoes are optional. This was the most restorative and restful vacation I've ever taken.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsophelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Nine days relaxation - beautiful beach walks, incredible massages, great breakfasts and afternoon smoothies. Didn't do "the plan" but enjoyed the morning yoga classes, peaceful atmosphere, swimming in front of our unit, excellent front desk help picking restaurants, tours, cenotes to visit for a swim. Windy during our stay so swims in nearby cenotes and lagoons essential. Lots of good and reasonable restaurants in walking distance which we thought a better bet than the meal plan at Maya Tulum. So much to do in the area, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#40 of 96 in Tulum
311 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#22 of 96 in Tulum
572 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
498 reviews
7.2 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Tulum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Tulum Resort

Property: Maya Tulum Resort
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, Km 7 | Hotel Zone, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#18 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#27 Family Hotel in Tulum
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maya Tulum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexico’s Maya Tulum Resort is a destination like no other - a vortex of natural energy and wonder. Located an hour and a half from Cancun on the sparkling waters of the Mexican Riviera, Maya Tulum Resort guests are encouraged to engage in a life-transformational yoga experience, indulge in healthy cuisine, be pampered by gifted healers and spend lazy afternoons basking alongside the azure waters of the Caribbean Sea. Maya Tulum Resort features two fully-equipped yoga halls offering classes twice daily under the skilled and gentle guidance of experienced teachers. Yoga classes are offered in many different styles and variations - including Hatha, Vinyasa, Iyengar and SUP Yoga - plus a variety of special yoga retreats. Maya Tulum Resort also offers outdoor oceanfront yoga, a Meditation Labyrinth and a Temazcal Sweat Lodge for traditional Mayan ceremonies. Maya Tulum Resort offers 49 spectacular thatched-roof guest accommodations, including Villas, Beach Front Cabanas and Ocean View Cabanas. Each secluded bungalow was designed to let in the light, fresh air and the soothing sounds of the ocean. Guests can enjoy immaculate beds with crisp white linens, well-appointed tiled bathrooms and daily maid service. To help guests truly retreat and disconnect, Maya Tulum Resort offers no televisions, phones or clocks in the guest rooms. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and at the Front Desk. Maya Tulum Resort features a seaside restaurant with cool marble floors, white limestone walls and enormous windows offering fantastic views of the turquoise Caribbean Sea. The restaurant serves a variety of fresh dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including proteins, seafood and vegetarian meals, along with Americano coffee, fresh juices and a selection of house teas; a full bar is also offered. Great focus is placed on nutrition and meals are designed to accommodate a wide range of dietary preferences. Maya Tulum Resort features eight individual spa rooms specially designed to help guests find absolute peace of mind within the beauty and elegance of simplicity. Rooted in ancient inspiration, the resort offers a variety of relaxing spa treatments based on ancient Mayan specialties, including the Mayan Honey Xuunan Kab and a traditional Mayan Clay Massage. Additional options include Aromatherapy, Hot Stones Therapy, Reiki, facials, body treatments and exfoliations. Guests are encouraged to explore Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula through a variety of guided half and full day adventure tours. Excursion options include visiting the Tulum Ruins or the Coba Ruins to learn about the ancient Mayan culture, snorkeling trips to a lagoon filled with tropical fish and coral formations or a tour of the Aktun Chen caverns followed by a cool, refreshing dip in the Xunaan-Ha Cenote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maya Tulum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Tulum Retreat Hotel Tulum
Maya Tulum Retreat And Resort
Maya Tulum Retreat Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing