We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Azulik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Azulik
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This place was total paradise! My wife and I just came back from Tulum a couple of days ago, and fell completely in love with the town, but most of all with Azulik. The room was just what we needed, super romantic, with a breathtaking view and right there in the middle of nature, between the sea and the forest. The service was also spectacular! Antonio and Julio were very helpful giving us ideas of which areas we should visit and where to eat every night. Their new manager Roberto, was also super friendly and warm, offering us fresh fruits and juices every morning.

We would 100% recommend this place if you are looking for a truly peaceful and romantic place. It is you, your partner, the sea and the sky. What else would you need?

Room Tip: I would strongly recommend the 11 (where we stayed at) and 12 villas, they are very close to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ofoxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luuuuuu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Azulik, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Ofoxz,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to have served you.
We hope to see you again in Tulum very soon,

Best regards,
Luciana Leguizamón - PR Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    240
    124
    92
    60
See reviews for
18
927
64
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

By far the most beautiful hotel I've stayed at! I spent a week in paradise filled with breathtaking views. I'd fall asleep to the sound of waves crashing and I'd wake up to the beautiful sound of tropical birds singing. The service at Azulik is outstanding, extremely generous, with beautiful clean rooms. Roberto, Julio and Pablo really welcomed us in with opened arms. It was hard to leave but I couldn't imagine spending my vacation any other way!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luuuuuu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Azulik, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to have served you.
We hope to see you again in Tulum very soon,

Best regards,
Luciana Leguizamón - PR Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My first time in the Yucatan and I wouldn't have wanted to spend it any other way. Azulik provided an amazing getaway with breathtaking views. The rooms were always spotless, even after a full day of tracking sand and water inside. Roberto made sure that everything we needed was taken care of. Extra blankets, towels, candles, anything we could ask for. He truly cared for all of our needs. He was one of the most calm and peaceful people I have met. On the last day we spent awhile just looking at the ocean. Definitely didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luuuuuu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Azulik, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Mateo,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to have served you.
We hope to see you again in Tulum very soon,

Best regards,
Luciana Leguizamón - PR Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This place is not only located in paradise. The staff Roberto, Julio, and Pablo to mention a few go out of the way to make you feel at home. Excellent service, very helpful and clean beautiful rooms. We had our wedding here and they just completed that special day for us like I was not expecting. The expectations were exceeded. We will definately continue to come back to this hotel. We felt sad to leave these wonderful people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luuuuuu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Azulik, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Martin y Johanna,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was really a huge honour to have been your destination and resort wedding.

Best wishes to an amazing couple!
We hope to see in Tulum you again very soon,

Best regards,
Luciana Leguizamón - PR Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Azulik for a week in mid-June for our honeymoon. We found the property to be beautiful--stunning--and the lodgings clean and unique. Our wait staff (Roberto-Manager, Antonio-morning desk clerk, Julio-night desk clerk) was informative, kind, generous, and extremely helpful. Roberto even offered to talk with me at length about eco-tourism (Azulik has limited power supply only available for a few hours every day; the cabanas don't have any AC or power and all the cabanas were built with local product), Antonio spent mornings with me discussing local legend and lore, and Julio helped us with everything we might need in the evenings, including bug repellent.

We stayed in one of the nicer suites situated on the top of a 20 ft cliff above the crashing waves. Every night we'd sleep with the doors open and take in the incredibly romantic sounds and smells afforded by the Gulf of Mexico. The decor, though minimal, was memorable: thatched roof, swinging day bed, incredible tree trunk bathtub, and a lockbox. The hotel is in Tulum's Zona Hotelera, about 4 miles east of the city of Tulum. There were days we traveled on foot to the other hotels and restaurants. It is easy to visit the other beaches on foot, and a jauntier walk to the Tulum ruins. We found it best to rent a car rather than paying $70 (pesos) for taxi trips into town and back.

Tulum in itself was a wonderful honeymoon destination. I'd recommend it to any couple who enjoys the outdoors. A lot of hiking, sight-seeing, ruins, and cenotes (swimmable/diveable sinkhole caves). We hope to return again soon. And we hope to once again visit with Roberto, Antonio, and Julio when we do!

Room Tip: We did hear from other guests that the cabanas exposed to the beach (on the south side) didn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luuuuuu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Azulik, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Jdf2013,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to have served you.
We hope to see you again in Tulum very soon,

Best regards,
Luciana Leguizamón - PR Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Ok this is a review I have always wanted to write from my stay in 2012 in this hotel. Since I joined tripadvisor recently this review is a must.

I have probably spent in this hotel one of the most memorable travelling experiences in my life. The hotel villas situation are breathtaking and you really feel like Robinson Crusoe in a wild beach. Is such a pity that this superb hotel is so poorly managed, maintained and been taken care of.

What you pay for in this hotel is the situation but don't expect much apart in terms of service. Which it would be fine if you pay lets say maximum 80$ per night. Hotel management just profits this and I am sure they make a huge amount of money out of this without caring about giving a good service to guests.

So at the end of our stay It felt sweet and sour.

I formally complained to hotel management and i just hope things have changed... but I doubt it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was the worst place we stayed in Mexico. Worth $50 a night - not $230!

- service is non-existent. Be prepared to carry your heavy bags quite a way and walk a little for a friendly face or a coffee
- the cabana was very run down - rusty/crusty plumbing and old furniture
- the only water to get washed in was sea water (a dribble at that!)
- there was bird poop everywhere in the room (!?)
- the bed sheets and towels we're stained
- if you ask the staff for anything they are very unhelpful and unfriendly

- on the last day we went out for breakfast at 8.30am. When we arrived back at the room an hour later (check out was midday), we found the room completely stripped of its bed linen and towels. Plus a parting gift! A poor little mammal was left for us half dead in the middle of our table on top of the hotel's menu - see the photo! When we complained, we were unsurprisingly met with a shrug. We were not due to check out for 2.5 hours and had a night flight that evening!

In summary, this is ECO LAZY, not eco chic. Here, the term Eco is an excuse not to have any standards or try in any way.

We feel extremely short changed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy_travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
339 reviews
3.2 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#24 of 96 in Tulum
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
856 reviews
2.9 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azulik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azulik

Property: Azulik
Address: Tulum Ruinas Road Km. 5.5 | Tulum Hotel Zone, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azulik 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azulik – Adult Eco-Resort and Maya Spa is an extremely private and enchanting, adults only nature retreat and Mayan Wellness Center located by the sea in Tulum, Mexico, just 3 km south of the Tulum Archaeological Zone and 4 km from the center of Tulum town. This one-of-a-kind “off-the grid” Eco-resort (no electricity, no TV, no phones, etc.) features 39 hand-crafted luxury Tree House suites, an organic cafe serving breakfast and lunch and dinner, a beach bar serving fresh Sushi and cool tropical drinks, and Tulum’s premier holistic Maya Spa and Healing Center. At Azulik, the pollution, noise and other distractions of the modern world completely disappear allowing adult couples to reconnect with nature and each other in a loving, romantic and meaningful way. Each of the resort’s majestic wooden Tree Houses, made from Mexican Royal Ebony (Khatalosh), stand high above the jungle floor with spacious interiors, floor to ceiling windows offering plenty of natural daylight, super king size beds with mosquito nets, and custom made in-door baths, creating sensuous sanctuaries for couples seeking the ultimate tropical hideaway. All accommodations have private decks with outdoor day beds and sitting areas allowing for uninterrupted views of the lush green jungle and the azure blue Caribbean Sea day or night. A secluded, guest only “clothing optional” beach is accessed at the south end of the property and is perfect for sunbathing or swimming. Accommodations range from intimate Jungle Tree Houses with partial ocean views to deluxe Ocean Front Tree Houses suspended high above sea with spectacular 180 degree vistas of the Caribbean and the verdant Maya Riviera coastline. Another one of Azulik’s main attractions is our rejuvenating seafront Spa featuring traditional Mayan healing therapies, massages, medicinal herbal baths, Yoga and Tulum’s first Temezcal (Mayan Sweat Lodge). At Maya Spa we draw upon the natural energy of the sea and jungle of Tulum, focusing on the ancient Mayan tradition to transmit sensations and experiences full of love and serenity. We use cardinal points, chants, prayers, the sacred sounds of the Maya Conch Shell Trumpet and the healing power of plants, flowers, aromatherapies and enriched mud to restore the natural state of peace, joy, harmony and health. Azulik is an adult concept for couples over the age of 21. To maintain our atmosphere of romance and serenity, the maximum capacity per Tree House Villa is 2 people. The resort is gay-friendly and our beach is clothing optional. We do not accept children. For ecological preservation of the beaches and jungle, we are unable to accept pets in the hotel. Azulik Adult Eco-Resort & Maya Spa awaits you with open arms to share unique experiences and amazing adventures, creating memories that will last a lifetime. Come and be natural! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Azulik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azulik Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing