We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt meet expectations and horrible customer service”
Review of Azulik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azulik
Ranked #19 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Bottom Line = Not worth the price + really poor customer service. They need to work on the privacy of the rooms and the cleanliness. The place has good bones and a great foundation but needs a lot work to make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaxmccalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear visitor,

Thanks for giving us your point of view regarding your non-stay at Azulik. We remember absolutely every detail of our meeting last May.
Your couple booked our #2 seavilla but when you both came to the hotel reception you just realized you or him got the wrong hotel. There was a total misunderstanding of which was our property and its main concept and philosophy.
As well as we remember this was not a “we did not fill your expectation” problem. It was just you did not know what you were booking at the first place.
Our site is very clear (we are always updating it from our guests reviews) regarding our eco policies, nature and wild atmosphere, clothing optional, etc. Your couple even mentioned he did not now we do not have electricity at the villas.
Because of this lack of awareness our reservation manager was coordinating your stay at another friend hotel but it was difficult to help you out.

Azulik Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here 3 years ago and it was a disappointment—dirty sheets, stains, dog poop in the outdoor tub that they refused to clean up. It was such a shame because it has all the right raw materials - location, swing beds, outdoor tubs, etc.

We stayed again because we got a great deal and it looked as if they had new management.

Wow, I'm impressed. They had people at the desk who were helpful and the rooms were in tip top shape. It's not for everyone. If you are a prissy traveller and need your hotel to be fussy, this isn't for you. This is a really natural experience that is a little closer to camping. Really really nice camping.

I'm really happy they got some of the kinks worked out. We'll come again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wornoutshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

The most amazing thing about your review is that you wrote a really hard one of Azulik back in March, 2011.
You were such important for us in that moment as you are now. Why? Because you made us realize that we do had "potential" as you have mentioned but we just needed to make it happen.
And then of course... because you gave us another chance.

So, THANK YOU and then... THANK YOU again!
We hope you keep coming back and surprise yourself.
Next time I can promise you will be able to enjoy some benefits from our frequently-guests program.

Blessings,
Luciana Leguizamon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you're looking for a true Mayan adventure with someone special, and are open to leaving a concrete jungle for the real thing, then Azulik is the best choice by FAR!!

NOTE: If you're looking for a fun adventure with friends or traveling with family and looking for "all-inclusive" then look further down for something like La Zebra or something neighboring. Azulik is made especially for couples looking to escape to paradise together.

Here are a few things that make Azulik Amazing and a few tips to heighten the experience
Azulik
- The 3 receptionists are AMAZING, so pleasant, enjoyable, friendly, and accommodating, not to mention locals
- The hotel is amazing in both rain or shine - a true jungle/ocean front experience
- The rooms are cabins within the jungle, so yes, there are some insects and iguanas roaming around, but both you and your things are safe both day and night
- no electricity makes it even more amazing
- prime location to the small town with access to beach front drinks at the other hotels/bars and shopping
- Spa amenities are a bit on the $$$ side, but worth the experience if you're up for it
- Clothing optional beach - perfect place to try something new with your partner and feel comfortable (gay friendly is important here, and everyone was!)
- They have free coffee and cookies in the am as well as fresh filtered water available 24/7
- They are renovating to expand and build a restaurant above the tree line for 360 views

Some helpful tips
- bring some mobile chargers (solar chargers available on amazon) if you want to use your phone at the many places that have free wifi
- bring a flash light (go for the cooler looking ones on amazon) worth it for walking at night or hailing a cab
- from 3-8p it's happy hour in Tulum. Bars vary with their 2 hour time slot, but when one ends, just walk next door
- Go to Mateos for the sunset and hammocks and vibes both in the morning and night
- Go Across the street from Mateos to the bar that's through the ally way - FAVORITE SPOT, the bar has swings
- Try the WHOLE FISH everywhere you go
- Book a Cenote Tour with AdventureTours.com Ask for Jeff, Kate or Ben. $75pp (via paypal) for 3 Cenotes, BUY an EKAT water proof case (http://ekusa.com/icat-2/i5-dri-cat-neck-it) so you can grab some underwater video
- Take a cab down to La Zebra Area or walk along the beach and stop into the cool beach front hotels and grab a cabana and a drink - Posada Margarita is fun, every hotel has a different look
- Rent a bike from the first shop on the left, $100 pesos per day, book in the afternoon and keep it for the evening as long as you return it before 8a
- Drink from a coconut, order whatever drinks come inside them as well
- Bike to the Ruins (15 min away), stop along the way back at the beach front bars for happy hours
- Check out Tulum town (20 min bike ride) for gifts, some bars, but nothing else is really there...stick to the beaches
- Budget $2000 Pesos per day and you're golden




ALSO - not to be a hater, but anyone who wrote a bad review for Azulik, was just not cut out for having a cool nature friendly adventure


If it makes it any better, this is my first ever review I've written and I wish I could go back right now. But my partner and I will 100% will be returning...look for his review on here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We came here for our honey moon and felt like in paradise! This place is amazing! The room was perfect and so beaitiful, located in a jungle right infront of the sea with beautiful relaxing view. The bath was the most relaxing we ever had!

The staff was so helpful and nice, and we felt they thought about every detail to make our stay perfect.

This is by far the most amazing place to sleep in the beautiful tulum.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank talzadikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We loved our week at Azulik, a beautiful romantic eco resort with gorgeous cabanas, lovely grounds, attentive service, privacy, a fine beach and close to many great restaurants along the shores of Tulum. The resort has its own private beach and a new cabana for reading out of the sun. This was our best vacation ever and we are well traveled throughout Mexico and the world.
Patrice Wynne and Ernesto Perez

Room Tip: We loved the cabanas on the beach for privacy and the hanging bed over the sea but then we moved to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanMiguelPatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierAzulik, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Azulik, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Dear Patrice and Ernesto,

We would like to thank you for such a beatiful comments. Azulik was created to give you a natural enviroment to enjoy of a peaceful atmosphere and create the magic that takes you to the reconnection. Our Villas are design to be integrated in the landscape of Tulum. Right over the cliff, and in front of the Caribbean Sea, all you need is lay down on the external balibed, or in the jacuzzi and enjoy of the stunning views.

We really hope to see you soon back in Azulik, that now you can consider as your home

Welcome to the Azulik tribu

Feel the Enchanting, live Azulik!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We loved our stay here. The cabins are spacious, and the multitude of bathtubs (including one on the porch, out over the ocean) was perfect. The cabins do have plugs for phones, cameras, etc which is convenient. I wish we were brave enough to push back the mosquito netting. There weren't many mosquitos and I think it would have been a little cooler. The beach was gorgeous and about 1 minute walk or less from our cabin. Staff was pleasant and helpful, and with many bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. Would happily stay here again!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you like standard hotels this may not be for you but for everyone else its paradise.Where else can you have a bath outside with the sea below you. Its a perfect place to relax with a loved one.
Just enjoy the baths, beach, balcony and chill

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 99 in Tulum
415 reviews
3.2 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#25 of 99 in Tulum
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
2.9 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azulik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azulik

Address: Tulum Ruinas Road Km. 5.5 | Tulum Hotel Zone, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £346 - £861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azulik 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azulik – Adult Eco-Resort and Maya Spa is an extremely private and enchanting, adults only nature retreat and Mayan Wellness Center located by the sea in Tulum, Mexico, just 3 km south of the Tulum Archaeological Zone and 4 km from the center of Tulum town. This one-of-a-kind “off-the grid” Eco-resort (no electricity, no TV, no phones, etc.) features 39 hand-crafted luxury Tree House suites, an organic cafe serving breakfast and lunch and dinner, a beach bar serving fresh Sushi and cool tropical drinks, and Tulum’s premier holistic Maya Spa and Healing Center. At Azulik, the pollution, noise and other distractions of the modern world completely disappear allowing adult couples to reconnect with nature and each other in a loving, romantic and meaningful way. Each of the resort’s majestic wooden Tree Houses, made from Mexican Royal Ebony (Khatalosh), stand high above the jungle floor with spacious interiors, floor to ceiling windows offering plenty of natural daylight, super king size beds with mosquito nets, and custom made in-door baths, creating sensuous sanctuaries for couples seeking the ultimate tropical hideaway. All accommodations have private decks with outdoor day beds and sitting areas allowing for uninterrupted views of the lush green jungle and the azure blue Caribbean Sea day or night. A secluded, guest only “clothing optional” beach is accessed at the south end of the property and is perfect for sunbathing or swimming. Accommodations range from intimate Jungle Tree Houses with partial ocean views to deluxe Ocean Front Tree Houses suspended high above sea with spectacular 180 degree vistas of the Caribbean and the verdant Maya Riviera coastline. Another one of Azulik’s main attractions is our rejuvenating seafront Spa featuring traditional Mayan healing therapies, massages, medicinal herbal baths, Yoga and Tulum’s first Temezcal (Mayan Sweat Lodge). At Maya Spa we draw upon the natural energy of the sea and jungle of Tulum, focusing on the ancient Mayan tradition to transmit sensations and experiences full of love and serenity. We use cardinal points, chants, prayers, the sacred sounds of the Maya Conch Shell Trumpet and the healing power of plants, flowers, aromatherapies and enriched mud to restore the natural state of peace, joy, harmony and health. Azulik is an adult concept for couples over the age of 21. To maintain our atmosphere of romance and serenity, the maximum capacity per Tree House Villa is 2 people. The resort is gay-friendly and our beach is clothing optional. We do not accept children. For ecological preservation of the beaches and jungle, we are unable to accept pets in the hotel. Azulik Adult Eco-Resort & Maya Spa awaits you with open arms to share unique experiences and amazing adventures, creating memories that will last a lifetime. Come and be natural! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Azulik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azulik Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing