We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Azulik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Azulik
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am still dreaming of this hotel...it was that good. The pictures don't do it justice at all, it is so much prettier in real life. We only booked 2 nights here because of some of the reviews, and I am just kicking myself for being concerned over nothing. Never had critter issues, and truly never missed the a/c. The bed was comfortable, the staff was very sweet, the walks up the beach were perfect. Hanging out on the deck was pure heaven. We had massages while there at the spa, and they were amazing. One night we took a bottle of wine out to the beach and were lucky enough to see a turtle come up on the beach and lay it's eggs. Nothing short of magical, can't wait to come back

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #3, it was very nice. The window to the right of the bed opens, and is screened s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melawell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Your review made our day!
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience online for our upcoming guests. It means a lot to me and the staff that you had such a nice tiem with us”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    240
    123
    92
    60
See reviews for
18
926
64
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent 5 nights at Azulik in mid-June and opted to try two different Cabanas- #3 and #4 (the Romance Villa and Sea Villa). We did this because we wanted the Romance or Honeymoon Villas, but they weren't available for parts of our stay (the Honeymoon Villa not at all), so we took what we could get. The staff made it very easy and moved all our luggage for us while we were out for lunch or activities. From the minute we arrived, Angel and Marcella were friendly and helpful. Azulik has a unique and beautiful aesthetic, and whether it strikes your fancy or not, the suspended beds on the decks overlooking the water are AWESOME. There were only a couple of things that rubbed me the wrong way, but they were all things that I knew I would need to make allowances for, seeing as we were opting to stay at an EcoResort in a palapa with no electricity: there were definitely cockroaches at night (I am NOT a bug person), so keep your luggage zipped when you're not using it (and keep food out of the cabana like they tell you to), and the "fresh" water (for bathing, not the potable stuff) was more brackish than fresh, so I never really felt totally clean...but whatever. The only other thing that I would change would be to add padding to their beach chairs- they are colorful, but not comfortable, and the other lodgings that share the same strip of beach offer various hammocks and cushioned lounge chairs. That was it for the bad stuff!

Otherwise my husband and I REALLY enjoyed our stay and it was very laid-back and romantic. It was super relaxing, the cabana decks were not terribly private, being fairly close to their neighbors (the interiors are private enough with blinds and such), but holy moses, what a view!! Everyone really kept to themselves as well, so even if the decks weren't visually all that private, you couldn't really hear anyone else over the surf, so it didn't seem too terribly exposed, either. The breeze off the water at night was wonderful to keep you cool, and there were sections of screened window or door in each cabana to keep the bugs out and let the air in. The clothing-optional policy was nice with the heat (and for an even tan :) and we were not bothered by anyone trying to...push the limits, shall we say? The no kids policy was also awesome. Azulik also provided eco-friendly bath products that were safe to use in the outdoor tub that drains onto the rocks, and we really loved them-- sooo delicious-smelling! There was also always coffee or tea in the reception palapa in the mornings, along with fruits and cookies, and iced tea was available all day. Bottled water was always available as well.

One of the other great things about Azulik is that it's much more conducive to conveniently exploring the pueblo of Tulum, if you're like us and don't do the all-inclusive thing where you never leave your hotel, including meals. It feels very secluded on the grounds, but when you go out to the road, you are within walking distance of several other bars, restaurants, and shops. We had a car, though, so we drove into town every day for meals and such, and Azulik is not so far down the road that it takes forever to get there on a bumpy, poorly-maintained road-- it only took about a 5-minute drive, it was very close to a gas station and 2 supermarkets, and close to the main drag of Tulum. We were actually originally booked at Playa Azul, but they were closed down by the federales, and we ended up being very pleased with our stay and thought perhaps it was a blessing in disguise that we lost our former lodgings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansinleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Dan,

I was so happy to hear that Angelica & Marcella, provided you with an excellent service.
I will be sure to share your feedback with them, and the entire team. They love knowing that guests appreciate their service.”

I have also taken note of your padding suggestions for our beach chairs.

Best regards,
Luciana Leguizamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We absolutely loved this place! We booked a getaway weekend at the last minute and landed a beautiful little room with the most magnificent view of the beach -- it looked like a postcard picture. Though it was hot during the day, it was cool on the covered balcony, and we slept with windows and doors open to take advantage of the ocean breezes at night. The staff was friendly and so helpful, even suggesting a fantastic day trip for us, swimming with whale sharks near Isla Mujeres (check out contoyexcursions.com for that). There's a cute little town nearby, but we could just have easily spent the entire weekend in the ocean and on our back porch. If you want to really get away -- from the internet, from phone calls, from traffic, from ALL of it -- this is the place to go.

A few tips: Pick up a styrofoam ice chest at a grocery on your way out of Cancun and grab ice at a gas station near Azulik so you can keep drinks cold in your room. We bought a bunch of bottled water on the way into town too, but the hotel will actually provide that. A mosquito net encircles the bed, but we didn't have any problems with bugs and found that if we swept the net back, we could enjoy the nighttime breezes even more.

Overall, we LOVED it! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room #12 overlooks the water AND has a swinging bed on the balcony -- we'll be asking for that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gatoredie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.
Your feedback was shared with our team in order to keep inspiring them!
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed once again your expectations,

Blessings,
Luciana Leguizamón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex Fells, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Azulik last July for 4-5 nights, and we loved our stay there!! For us, as a couple, it is exactly what we like, low key, quiet, on the ocean, access to the beach, laid back, and simple.
The vakue was very good for all that, and the staff--Alberto the day or night mgr. depending, and his alternate young mgr, as well as Roberto, the GM, were very attentive to us, our questions , and our simple requests. We look forward to going back asap, hopefully this July. This is a place that couples can enjoy if they are like us. Andrew and Beatriz

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Andrew and Beatriz,

Thank you for your nice words and review!
We’ll recognize any employees that were mentioned in your review. They love knowing that guests appreciate their service.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed once again your expectations.

Best regards,
Luciana Leguizamón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed there only two nights because of some misleading reviews we had read, but Azulik exceeded our expectations. The villas were clean and comfortable. The views, weather, breeze and overall setting of the villas are UNREAL! I even got to hand-feed some friendly iguanas that walked up to our deck. With the only exception of stained towels and bedding (which we had read and were warned about), we had amazing alone time and can't wait to go back next year!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

Azulik tries to be a more eco responsible hotel by using some simple sustainable practices like the fact that we do not clean sheets or towels daily, not if our guests don’t request it explicitly leaving them on the floor.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back at our home,

Be safe,
Luciana Leguizamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If Azulik didn't meet the expectationns of a guest, then it is worth noting that the guest did not do their research, did not understand what Azulik is, or perhaps, is the breed of "traveler" that needs amenities and room service to make a place "worthwhile". This is particularly notable because Azulik is exactly as advertised. The rooms are actually MORE BEAUTIFUL than pictures can possibly detail. Yes, they are absolutely open to the outdoors. In fact, the concept of "indoors" doesn't really exist in TULUM. Seriously, if you have a problem being exposed to nature in all its forms and elements - you should not visit Tulum, let alone Azulik. Every restaurant, store, market, resort, bar is open to nature. It is a free-flowing architecture. It is a free-flowing, natural CULTURE. You live with and in nature. And, consequently - if you do it correctly - you live for a time with the people, culture and environment in flux around you.
So, yes, a standard review of this resort should say it is very well-located to walk, bike or taxi to anywhere in all of Tulum. That it's beautiful. That it, the beaches and town are extremely safe. That the beaches and water are as beautiful as any on Earth. Yes, you will see people in various stages of undress - No different than any European beach I have ever been to. That, yes, it gets dark when the sun goes down and you need candlelight. You have WiFi available to you at reception for the majority of the day and an electrical outlet in your room that works for two separate several-hour sessions a day. That the customer service is, in fact, excellent. Because, Marco, Marcella, and Gabriella were conscientious, attentive, helpful and informed employees of Azulik. But, they were also interesting and lovely people. As were Jorge and Arturo at Matteo's, Criscenzo at Best Mayan Cuisine, Marissa and Eduardo at Casa Nohoch, several of the other guests and many other people in Tulum.
Conclusively, if you want to stay on the 30th Floor of a resort building with Air Conditioning, every amenity and some type of crazy MTV party expectation...Stay in Cancun. If you have ever traveled outside your comfort zone and are the type of traveler who likes to really experience a place and people...Go to Azulik for as long as possible. Eat the freshest food, swim in the most beautiful water, lay in the most beautiful sun and star-splattered sky, experience a beautiful culture of artisans and craftsmen. In short, EXPERIENCE WHAT MEXICO AND ITS PEOPLE ARE. It was a lovely stay. I enjoyed every minute. I hope it never changes. I will be back. And, I sincerely hope to see several of the people I met here in the future.

Room Tip: If you prefer just a little bit more privacy...there are options. Email the resort and inquire for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jeff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello Jeff,

First of all I am sorry it took as so long to answer your review.
It is hard to express how all your words seems to be the perfect ones for Tulum, and more indeed for Azulik.
You just describe us in all aspects... and it feels good!

It is a real relief to know that our website, pictures and self-descriptions are clear enough to give the whole idea of what to expect of us.
We are so impressed and feel so much portrayed by your words that we would like to start sharing your review and experience with our guest, as well as mentioning your review in our website.

It will be nice to be in contact with you and exchange some more ideas,

THANK YOU!
Luciana Leguizamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A wonderful Honeymoon spent here in early May.The beach front cabannas are perfect,you really feel at one with your surroundings,the sound of the ocean rocking you off to sleep at night.The no electricity policy only adds to the experiance.
The staff here are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble,a big thankyou to Marco,Gabriella and Marcela.
In response to some other reviews here that are of a more negative nature,for sure if you are a pampered Prince or Princess the slightly more rustic environment may not be for you? It sounds like an all inclusive in Cancun is what some reviewing this placeneed....

Aso the lack of privacy,if you are a prude and are scared of seeing others flash flesh stay away,likewise if you have your own body hang ups!

We will try to return next year to this amazing property.....one request,can the hot coffee be available at 7am instead of 8am.

Room Tip: Any of the beachfront cabannas,cabanna 12 is close to the public beach so maybe noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulalegui, Public Relations Manager at Azulik, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,

I will be sure to share your feedback with all employees that you have mentioned. They love knowing that guests appreciate their service.
It is also nice realizing that we have such amazing guests as yourself, always embracing nature and giving up electricity or A/C for the real experience...

Hope to welcome you both back soon,
Luciana Leguizamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 96 in Tulum
339 reviews
3.2 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 96 in Tulum
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
857 reviews
2.9 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azulik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azulik

Property: Azulik
Address: Tulum Ruinas Road Km. 5.5 | Tulum Hotel Zone, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azulik 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azulik – Adult Eco-Resort and Maya Spa is an extremely private and enchanting, adults only nature retreat and Mayan Wellness Center located by the sea in Tulum, Mexico, just 3 km south of the Tulum Archaeological Zone and 4 km from the center of Tulum town. This one-of-a-kind “off-the grid” Eco-resort (no electricity, no TV, no phones, etc.) features 39 hand-crafted luxury Tree House suites, an organic cafe serving breakfast and lunch and dinner, a beach bar serving fresh Sushi and cool tropical drinks, and Tulum’s premier holistic Maya Spa and Healing Center. At Azulik, the pollution, noise and other distractions of the modern world completely disappear allowing adult couples to reconnect with nature and each other in a loving, romantic and meaningful way. Each of the resort’s majestic wooden Tree Houses, made from Mexican Royal Ebony (Khatalosh), stand high above the jungle floor with spacious interiors, floor to ceiling windows offering plenty of natural daylight, super king size beds with mosquito nets, and custom made in-door baths, creating sensuous sanctuaries for couples seeking the ultimate tropical hideaway. All accommodations have private decks with outdoor day beds and sitting areas allowing for uninterrupted views of the lush green jungle and the azure blue Caribbean Sea day or night. A secluded, guest only “clothing optional” beach is accessed at the south end of the property and is perfect for sunbathing or swimming. Accommodations range from intimate Jungle Tree Houses with partial ocean views to deluxe Ocean Front Tree Houses suspended high above sea with spectacular 180 degree vistas of the Caribbean and the verdant Maya Riviera coastline. Another one of Azulik’s main attractions is our rejuvenating seafront Spa featuring traditional Mayan healing therapies, massages, medicinal herbal baths, Yoga and Tulum’s first Temezcal (Mayan Sweat Lodge). At Maya Spa we draw upon the natural energy of the sea and jungle of Tulum, focusing on the ancient Mayan tradition to transmit sensations and experiences full of love and serenity. We use cardinal points, chants, prayers, the sacred sounds of the Maya Conch Shell Trumpet and the healing power of plants, flowers, aromatherapies and enriched mud to restore the natural state of peace, joy, harmony and health. Azulik is an adult concept for couples over the age of 21. To maintain our atmosphere of romance and serenity, the maximum capacity per Tree House Villa is 2 people. The resort is gay-friendly and our beach is clothing optional. We do not accept children. For ecological preservation of the beaches and jungle, we are unable to accept pets in the hotel. Azulik Adult Eco-Resort & Maya Spa awaits you with open arms to share unique experiences and amazing adventures, creating memories that will last a lifetime. Come and be natural! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Azulik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azulik Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing