We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ZazilKin in Tulum”
Review of Cabanas Zazilkin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabanas Zazilkin
Ranked #75 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Hoopa, California
1 review
“ZazilKin in Tulum”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I recently spent two glorious weeks at this hotel in Tulum with 12 Spanish Club students from the Hoopa Indian Reservation in Northern California. This was a fantastic place to go if you like sun, heat and ocean. The beach was beautiful white sand, the water was warm, the experience was one we will never forget. The setting at this establishment is not at all fancy, the cabanas are small and rustic. We stayed in the hotel itself, taking up 6 rooms. Each room was different and had its own unique characteristics. We had a lot of bug bites.... (your in the middle of the jungle) so this should be expected. make sure you sunscreen several times a day the sun is intense, can't stress this enough. The food at the hotel is very good, somewhat on the high side but town is just three miles away and there are food services everywhere. The staff was so friendly to us, they were fast to respond to all out needs with a smile. We asked for extra towels, sheets etc, no [problems. It was very warm so beds are supplied with only sheets, blankets are available if you need them. We saw Lightning storms, heavy warm rains and burning sunshine all in the same day. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check all rooms that are available, some have mosquito nets for the beds, if you stay in the Cabanas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    99
    55
    30
    42
See reviews for
42
120
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed in the hotel part of the complex--with adequate bathroom and shower, but very poor lighting at night. The architecture (very basic) suggests a pleasing adaptation of local traditions. BUT, the thatched roof makes it easy for bugs and small animals to enter, so one may find occasional evidence of unwelcome visitors in the room! As others have noticed, the service isn't great. Still, the location is unbeatable -- it's on the edge of a gorgeous white beach lapped by turquoise waters, and within a short walk of the archeological ruins of Tulum. It seems expensive (approx $100 per room per night) for the basic amenities provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliBarcherini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

if you like bedbugs and a filthy room this place if for you.
power off often, shower is a joke, no hot water, restaurant is family run and is the highlight of the place.
lots of better places near by.
do yourself a favor and try one of them.

Room Tip: stay away from this :resort"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank russ m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

best beach in tulum and maybe mexico
there are cheap cabanas without bathroom (bamboo building) and expensive ones with air conditioned
white sand beach is amazing
just keep safe your money and your value, some people had problems

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a cabana here for 3 nights. If you are thinking you might want to stay here, I recommend visiting and taking a look to see if it will really suit you. Its not for everybody, but I liked it. The location basically makes up for everything else, in my books. This was the cheapest beach cabana establishment that we found, apparently these used to be everywhere back in the day. No longer, Tulum is rapidly developing. Oh well.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at Zazil Kin in early January. The location is unbeatable - right on the amazing beach with a view on the Tulum ruins. As soon as you step on the property you walk on a beautiful white sand - even inside their restaurant. The food was delicious and happy hour at the bar (from 7 till 10 pm) was very welcome. They only accept cash on the property. We stayed in a premium cabana (Margarita), approx. 100 meters from the beach. The cabana was clean and had its own private bathroom. It is perfect for a couple of nights, although probably too rustic for a longer period. The roof (palapa) had several holes and it rained on the bed one night. The non-premium cabanas looked quite shabby. It all of course doesn't matter much as you are walking and lying on a poster-like beach. Overall very nice stay!

Room Tip: They have only 3 premium cabanas, right next to each in one line. Margarita is the closest to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Zazil-kin is what we have been searching for in Tulum: a rustic throwback of simple cabanas near the beach and the ruins. (We stayed in the cabanas, not the hotel.) It is what we imagined the area was like before everything became an eco-boutique spa/hotel - not that there's anything wrong with that; we just wanted something a little more simple, and less expensive. And that's what Zazil-kin is.

We loved the ambience, the location and the people. You can literally walk in the sand from your cabin to the beach in less than a minute - no shoes required. The cabins are rustic, which means they are very simple - just a bed (or two) and a mosquito net. We actually had a oscillating fan in our room, and a light!

The place does have a small hotel, a beach club, a dining hall, and a bar, so it actually has a lot of other amenities. It did not feel packed although there were a lot of other people staying there. We really enjoyed being able to go swimming every morning (right after waking up), then showering and having breakfast at the restaurant. My favorite breakfast was the 'Tortilla Espanola" with the fresh orange juice.

Being here, you could really unwind and sink into that 'vacation time' and not have to run around doing stuff. The beach is the highlight of this spot; it is extremely clean and nice, with wonderful water - very swimmable - and you get an excellent view of the ruins. You can actually walk (or rent a bike, or take a very short car/cab ride) to the ruins. To me the best of Tulum is right at your doorstep, and you can live comfortably at Zazil-kin for days if you want to, and you don't have to put on shoes!

One of the things I liked best about the place was the cleanliness of the shared bathrooms! When you are staying at a place like this - or camping - you soon realize that the bathrooms become very important to the quality of your experience. We have stayed at other places (that were more expensive) that had lower quality facilities, and those were in our room. Here's the main thing: the bathrooms were spotless and even smelled clean. We felt comfortable going to the bathroom there. (You do have to remember to throw your used toilet paper in the small trashcan since the septic system is an eco-system and not the "normal" system - but even that did not detract from the toilets.) The shower rooms were also kept clean and there was actual water pressure (!) and hot water (!) which in my book counts for a lot! Trust me, no water pressure and a cold shower can be a bummer, even for the most forgiving traveler; here, it was not a problem at all, and in fact, I was relieved to find the bathrooms and the showers so clean.

The only down-side of the hotel was the bed, or more accurately the mattresses, which have definitely seen better days. (That's why I took a star off.) If I could make one recommendation to the owners, it would be to replace the mattresses. Luckily, we travel with an inflatable mattress because we have had issues with hotel beds - even in expensive places - and lack of sleep can be another bummer when you are on vacation. We simply blew up our mattress (with a battery powered inflater), put it on the bed, and slept well every night. I saw some backpackers with sleeping rolls - large foam pads - that looked like that might do the trick also. We also carry a sheet or two, and small pillows because we have had experiences where we didn't want to sleep on the bedding provided, for one reason or another.

In reading a few other reviews of this place I saw some negative comments about the staff; we had no issues at all and, in fact, we found them to be nice and helpful when we interacted with them. I think some other reviewers correctly summed up the obvious - this is not an expensive place where you can have high expectations of service and super comfort. This really is an authentic rustic cabana place that actually offers quite a bit of amenities if you just accept that you are not at a "nice" hotel; if you want that, there are more than enough of those places further down the road. Just be prepared to spend $150-300/night vs.$50/night here. Personally, I think this place is wonderful and a real value for what you get.

Let me just finish by saying this: Zazil-kin is a wonderful, authentic place with simple cabanas tucked behind the dunes of an amazing beach, which has a great view of the Tulum ruins. They have very clean bathrooms and showers (with pressure and hot water), a wonderful restaurant for simple meals, nice staff, and a special ambience. We were happy there, and look forward to going back.

We would advise fellow travelers who want what this place has to offer to stay here (but you might want to bring an air-mattress and a couple of your own sheets and towels); we would advise people who like more comfort and service to look further down the road where they can pay more for those things.

Stay at Zazil-kin for the place it is: a special place when you can connect with nature, unplug from work/life/etc, and really soak in Tulum, its beautiful beaches and historic ruins.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rarahaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.7 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#12 of 95 in Tulum
348 reviews
2.3 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#18 of 95 in Tulum
595 reviews
2.4 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#70 of 95 in Tulum
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 95 in Tulum
482 reviews
2.5 mi away
XscapeTulum
XscapeTulum
#53 of 95 in Tulum
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Zazilkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Zazilkin

Property: Cabanas Zazilkin
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila | Km 0.47, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Zazilkin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cabanas Zazilkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Zazilkin Tulum
Cabanas Zazilkin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing