We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite Winner”
Review of Ahau Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definite Winner”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Ahau had only been open about a month when we happened upon it on a beach walk on the southern end of Tulum. A stunning structure of Bali thatched roof meets colonial wrap around porch on the most beautiful part of the beach. The upper Master Guest Suites with their tall ceilings boast an amazing view of the beach with total privacy, The downstairs Master Suites open directly onto a porch with hammocks, onto the sand 25 yards from the ocean. The place was still under construction so I have to say some basics were missing at the time we were there (closets, drawers, hooks) but I have no doubt they are coming. The wood work for the rooms is all done on the property, They are very proud of their state of the art water reclamation system which we were quite impressed with after our tour. David, a bright and engaging architect from New York, is clearly invested in this property as more than a business opportunity. He has a nice mixture of business sense and commitment to the spiritual air of Tulum. Though the Master Suites are quite expensive by Tulum standards, soon the Junior suites will be ready and there are also small huts with dry toilets and outdoor showers in the making. Finally, there is a bunk house on the property for those on a really tight budget. I think the variety of people hanging out in the indoor/outdoor lobby is what makes this hotel so attractive. Ahau also offers yoga classes every morning in an open studio with a view to the ocean, We enjoyed both instructors very much. In essence, a work in progress with tremendous potential with an owner who knows how to actualize the dream. We will certainly be back and it seems, from what David tells us, that we will be able to afford it financially and morally.

Room Tip: Only the Master Suites were finished at the time of our stay and upstairs or down was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctraveller702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    92
    40
    11
    9
See reviews for
148
414
83
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Imagine a place where the wind never stops rushing against your body and touching your soul... where the sand feels like a divine alchemy of flour and sugar... where the turquoise ocean ushers in fantastic waves that are as gentle as pillows... where the night sky boasts millions of stars and planets for you to gaze at and ponder your place in the universe... Imagine a place that transcends time.

Welcome to Ahau... the newest, hippest eco-resort in this fabulous beach community. David and Milana and their fabulous team are the perfect hosts for your retreat into nature and beyond. It doesn’t matter if you’re a big spender or a backpacker... The community they’ve created can host every kind of traveler in the mac-daddy beach front palapas buildings, the guests suites, or in the hostel.

Picture a beautifully rustic and luxurious room with exotic hardwood four post beds to rest your head after a long day of travel or a fun filled day of sun and sand. The restaurant boasts the quickest service in Tulum and sumptuous Mexican fare. Take daily yoga and meditation classes and get a massage from Couran to excite your body, calm your mind, and invigorate your soul. Catch a beautiful sunrise or take off for the day to explore the near by Mayan ruins.

Let your light shine from within as you take in the breathtaking nature... let your spirit soar high in the winds.. and let your being take a rest from the grind of city life.

Ahau is the place to be.. It is unlike any other.

I hope you enjoy your stay! We did. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JericaCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

If you're looking for the perfect getaway, look no further than ahau. This place was built with love and it shows in everything from helpful staff, to the beauty of the rooms, to the delicious fresh food that's prepared there everyday. It also doesn't hurt that it is situated on one of the world's most pristine beaches :). It's safe to say that everyone who has stayed there is counting the days until they can go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This place is Heaven on Earth. This is a brand new property, constructions were still underway (very close to finish) when we visited Ahau in the first week of January, 2012. Let me clarify: I have not stayed here overnight. But I can't wait to come back. Location: (reminds me of Santa Teresa-Mal Pais in Costa Rica) on a beautiful stretch of endless beach, with many other small hidden eco-places, amazing restaurants, a few little shops. Cabanas: Jose showed us the two-floor suites and junior suites with decks that are blends in perfectly with the surrounding palm trees. Luxurious minimalist earthy and peaceful design with amazing views straight from the bed. Hard to choose between top floor and beach level units. They are offering other type of accommodations as well, but we didn't have a chance to see. Common places - the open-air lobby, restaurant area were getting finishing touches and were in use already. Activities: at the time of our visit was planned for near future - could be already running - yoga, spa; kitesurfing (available next door). Without seeing the finished work of this amazing property I'm certain that the tranquility of Sun God (Ahau) is the perfect place to unwind and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank BTCS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

all I have to say is WOW! This place is unbelievable from the staff to the beach to the food every single thing is perfect. i highly recommend AHAU to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Tulum. It is home away from home and i cant wait to go back...................

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ralfmadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

First of all those photos on your website are NOT Ahau Hotel, as Ahau hotel is brand new built on the same site of the Esmeralda K hotel ( a place best forgotten)

Ahua is a dream come true a place to relax have fun, and enjoy one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

Everything in this place is built with love, style and everything is fist class: all linens are delicious the mattresses are the best ones to be found in Tulum (trust me iv been hunting for a good bed in this place for 10 years) The Suits are stunning, airy and different from anything Tulum has to offer, the food is just right for the place, and thou they are still ironing a few kinks as they only opened a few weeks ago this is my new favorite place in Tulum and i cant wait to come back! How long till the next holiday??

Room Tip: rooms away from the restaurant are quiet, views from second floor suits are stuning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norma231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Arrived a few weeks into the completion of the the new management facelift. This place is amazing. This is what vacations are supposed to be like. If you want fancy high scale resort, this place is not for you. If you want clean, peaceful, serene cabanas that melt into the jungle surroundings for a truly relaxing vacation in a charming little beach town. Than look no further.

Room Tip: Know what you are looking for. The cheaper rooms are for backpackers and yoga retreat enthusiasts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler31Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#24 of 96 in Tulum
865 reviews
2.0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
273 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Property: Ahau Tulum
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahau Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing