We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful spot on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ahau Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“The most beautiful spot on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Everything about Ahau is what a vacation should be - beautiful, relaxing, good service, nice staff. What a treat to step out from our master suite right on to the pure white sand. Special thanks to Jill and Ari at the front desk - always helpful and smiling, Martin and the rest of the staff in the restaurant who always took care of us, and Marco who kept the beach area always clean. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Don't miss going to the top of the water tower at sunset. The view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello!

We want to thank you for the extraordinary review you recently posted about Ahau Tulum and also because you are sharing this with our future guests, therefore, they will have a better view of where are they going to spend their next vacations. We are committed to fulfill all of our guests needs and we are always working to exceed their expectations. We are glad to hear that Marco, Jill, Ari, Martin and all the restaurant staff improved your stay. We hope to see you son back in Ahau.

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    91
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
141
394
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I would like to say a special thank you to the Owners and staff at Ahau for accommodating our family on a last minute stay at the resort.
Ahau is not one of the mega Resorts in Tulum that I am used to staying at. It's a smaller quaint palapa topped bungalow "ecco" resort on the Tulum "Hotel Zone" road that parallels the beautiful beach. Ahaus beaches are the most beautiful pure white sand on the planet (no rocks here) and the staff keeps the beaches clean and the chairs and such are out early every morning! The restaurant on site has plenty of choices and the food and bev manager is happy to fulfil any requests possible!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfl2bze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello!

We want to thank you for the great review you recently posted about Ahau Tulum. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to keep the beach clean and to have the beds and chairs ready for our guests. We are glad to hear that our staff and the food and beverage manager Paris fulfilled your expectations as well as our restaiurant food options. We hope we can see you back in Ahau soon and once again, thank you for the compliments offered to our owners and staff.

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

If you're planning a trip to Tulum, stay at Ahau!!

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 6-night stay at Ahau, and everything about our experience there was excellent. We stayed in a junior suite for the first three nights and a master suite for the remaining three. The master suite was truly the most beautiful room I've ever stayed in. Not having a/c was not an issue at all--the breeze from the ocean was really strong and they provided strong fans as well.

The food at Ahau was incredible--we ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel almost every day and every meal was so fresh, delicious and affordable (the food was even better than some of the "trendy" restaurants in Tulum that are packed at night). Martin (and all of the other restaurant staff) were incredibly friendly and warm, and the service was excellent all around.

Jill and the other staff that ran the reception desk were so helpful in recommending and setting up excursions, giving restaurant recommendations, etc. They booked our transportation to and from the airport, which went really smoothly. Oh and the yoga at Ahau was excellent, too! My boyfriend, who doesn't have much experience practicing yoga, did a few classes with me, and the instructors were really patient and helpful and made him feel welcome.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello!

We want to thank you for the marvelous review you recently posted about Ahau Tulum and also because you are sharing this with our future guests, therefore, they will have a better view of where are they going to spend their next vacations.. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our top level master suites and that you enjoyed the oceans breeze in there. In addition, we are glad to hear that Martin and all the restaurant staff as well as the food surpassed your expectations. We also want to thank your for the good comments about Jill and our front desk staff as well as our Yoga instructors and we are really happy that your boyfriend was able to try the Yoga. We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Ahau!!

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I went to Ahau for a yoga retreat in late January; it was one of the best vacations I have ever experienced. The Hotel was amazing, no shoes necessary, the entire resort is built on finely sifted white sand. We never needed to eat anywhere else, the food at Ahau, including early morning coffee, was fabulous. If this isn't reason enough to vacation at Ahau, then it must be the wonderful, caring staff who catered to our every whim. It was the definition of tropical paradise!
Tulum itself one of the most beautiful places to visit, and there are plenty of restaurants and activities within walking distance, or short cab ride, if you wanted to do something outside the resort.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello!

We want to thank you for the excellent review recently posted about Ahau Tulum and the Yoga retreat. We remember of course all the ladies enjoying the platform on the beach and the restaurant and its food. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Tulum surroundings and that our staff suited your needs at all times. We invite you to come back to Ahau and enjoy the Paradise again!

Warm regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Ahau feels as good as it looks. Mellow, friendly, no attitude. The people there know what they're doing and it shows. There's a great room for yoga and a very sweet room for massage. For massage, and a truly cosmic experience, look for Ines, who has cosmic energy in her beautiful hands.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello,

We want to thank you for the excellent opinion that you have about Ahau Tulum and also because our future guess will be able to read in advance what they can enjoy in our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Yoga and our staff friendliness and professionalism as well as our Yoga and Spa Manager Ines with her cosmic hands as most guests mentioned before. We invite you to come back to Ahau at any time hoping this can be in a near future.

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

If I could spend the rest of my life somewhere, Ahau would be the place!
Although we didn't stay here, my friend and I biked 30 minutes every morning just so we could spend our entire day at this amazing place. The staff was great (special shout out to Marco who showered us with kindness and welcomed us every day with open arms.) The food/drinks are fantastic. The beach is one that dreams are made of. The beachfront huts are beautiful. The overall vibe/energy of this place is absolutely magical. We felt very at home here and were definitely sad to say goodbye. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lessiedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello!

We want to thank you for the great review you recently posted about Ahau Tulum. We are committed to fulfill all of our guests needs and we are always working to exceed their expectations. It is great to know that you enjoyed the hotel even that you did not stay with us, we are always open for outside clients to enjoy our facilities and restaurant. We thank you for mentioning Marco as he is one of our best and he really enjoys to pamper our guests in the restaurant and beach. We hope the nex time you visit Tulum you can stay with us and then we will be able to offer you the service that yopu deserve.

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

If you are looking for a laid back vacation on a beautiful beach that is off the beaten path, this is the place for you! Our friend hosted his wedding at Ahau, and it was perfect, Ahau did an incredible job on every detail. We splurged on the master suite right on the beach, and that is definitely the way to go. (We were upstairs which gave us more privacy than the first floor.) There was nothing better than falling asleep to the ocean breeze and seeing the unobstructed ocean just feet away from our room. The sand is white and clean (no rocks or shells), never hot, and so soft to walk on. Ahau does a great job of cleaning the little algea that washes on shore overnight. Keep in mind that there is no pool or gym, no tvs in the rooms...this place is rustic and laid back but there is yoga every morning and running on the beach is super easy. It is a perfect place to disconnect and relax. The food was amazing. The staff and management were very friendly and eager to meet our needs. We stayed for five days and knew almost everyone at Ahau by name. It is hard to come back to the grind of everyday life after relaxing in this beautiful resort that seems worlds away.

Room Tip: There is a wide range of price points and types of rooms. I think the master suite is worth the mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello!

We want to thank you for the marvelous review you recently posted about Ahau Tulum and also because you are sharing this with our future guests, therefore, they will have a better view of where are they going to spend their next vacations. We are committed to fulfill all of our guests needs and we are always working to exceed their expectations. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our master suites and Tulum's beach which the hotel likes to clean and maintain for our guests and we are glad to hear that you had a great time in your friend's wedding. All the staff that you kindly mentioned will be waiting for you with open arms when you come back to Ahau!!

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Property: Ahau Tulum
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tulum
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahau Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Ahau Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing