We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for honeymoon”
Review of Ahau Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed three nights on honeymoon. The food and service at the restaurant/bar were excellent. We had a junior suite and our room inside was very nice. However it was not private at all and we could hear every move the family next door made and assume they could hear ours as well. We had a view of the hut in front and everyone in the bar could see us on our balcony. Our experience was not luxury and as the most expensive hotel we stayed in Mexico (at least £70 per night more than any other 4* hotel we stayed) it was the most disappointing. Great for families but would not recommend for romance.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aitkenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hello,
We want to thank you for the recently post about our hotel and also we would like to apologize because you did not receive our special honeymooners service as we did not have any notice that you were in a honey moon trip. Most of the reservations come with a note informing us about special events as birthdays, anniversaries, honey moon, etc. In this case we offer an upgrade to a more secluded, private and romantic junior suite with special amenities. The diversity of guests that Ahau receive every day obligates us to have different room options for families and couples and we have a wonderful and huge beach area with different beach beds for everybody as well as the restaurant and food. Tulum is romantic as itself and Ahau is one of the most famous romantic spots in the area as you can read in all other reviews. We hope you can give us the opportunity to come back and to offer you the best honey moon ever. Tulum and Ahau will be waiting for you.

Warm Regards

Arturo Soto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

I don't know any place more perfect than Ahau Tulum. It is the most inspiring place I have ever been and I am completely in love.
I hope when you visit you get to see one of my original Josana Blue paintings that I created while staying at Ahau. They will be hanging in various rooms along with the elated and calm sweet energy they were created with. A most glorious experience always.
Until next time...

Room Tip: master suits & junior suites are all amazing and have their own special unique touches...all wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hello,

We want to thank you for the excellent opinion posted about Ahau Tulum. We are glad that you were inspired with our hotel and also we are very happy to have some of your art in our rooms, thank you again!! I hope we can see you back here again soon. All Ahau staff will be waiting for you.

Warm regards.

Arturo Soto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Everything about Ahau is what a vacation should be - beautiful, relaxing, good service, nice staff. What a treat to step out from our master suite right on to the pure white sand. Special thanks to Jill and Ari at the front desk - always helpful and smiling, Martin and the rest of the staff in the restaurant who always took care of us, and Marco who kept the beach area always clean. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Don't miss going to the top of the water tower at sunset. The view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hello!

We want to thank you for the extraordinary review you recently posted about Ahau Tulum and also because you are sharing this with our future guests, therefore, they will have a better view of where are they going to spend their next vacations. We are committed to fulfill all of our guests needs and we are always working to exceed their expectations. We are glad to hear that Marco, Jill, Ari, Martin and all the restaurant staff improved your stay. We hope to see you son back in Ahau.

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I would like to say a special thank you to the Owners and staff at Ahau for accommodating our family on a last minute stay at the resort.
Ahau is not one of the mega Resorts in Tulum that I am used to staying at. It's a smaller quaint palapa topped bungalow "ecco" resort on the Tulum "Hotel Zone" road that parallels the beautiful beach. Ahaus beaches are the most beautiful pure white sand on the planet (no rocks here) and the staff keeps the beaches clean and the chairs and such are out early every morning! The restaurant on site has plenty of choices and the food and bev manager is happy to fulfil any requests possible!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bfl2bze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hello!

We want to thank you for the great review you recently posted about Ahau Tulum. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to keep the beach clean and to have the beds and chairs ready for our guests. We are glad to hear that our staff and the food and beverage manager Paris fulfilled your expectations as well as our restaiurant food options. We hope we can see you back in Ahau soon and once again, thank you for the compliments offered to our owners and staff.

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

If you're planning a trip to Tulum, stay at Ahau!!

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 6-night stay at Ahau, and everything about our experience there was excellent. We stayed in a junior suite for the first three nights and a master suite for the remaining three. The master suite was truly the most beautiful room I've ever stayed in. Not having a/c was not an issue at all--the breeze from the ocean was really strong and they provided strong fans as well.

The food at Ahau was incredible--we ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel almost every day and every meal was so fresh, delicious and affordable (the food was even better than some of the "trendy" restaurants in Tulum that are packed at night). Martin (and all of the other restaurant staff) were incredibly friendly and warm, and the service was excellent all around.

Jill and the other staff that ran the reception desk were so helpful in recommending and setting up excursions, giving restaurant recommendations, etc. They booked our transportation to and from the airport, which went really smoothly. Oh and the yoga at Ahau was excellent, too! My boyfriend, who doesn't have much experience practicing yoga, did a few classes with me, and the instructors were really patient and helpful and made him feel welcome.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hello!

We want to thank you for the marvelous review you recently posted about Ahau Tulum and also because you are sharing this with our future guests, therefore, they will have a better view of where are they going to spend their next vacations.. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our top level master suites and that you enjoyed the oceans breeze in there. In addition, we are glad to hear that Martin and all the restaurant staff as well as the food surpassed your expectations. We also want to thank your for the good comments about Jill and our front desk staff as well as our Yoga instructors and we are really happy that your boyfriend was able to try the Yoga. We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Ahau!!

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I went to Ahau for a yoga retreat in late January; it was one of the best vacations I have ever experienced. The Hotel was amazing, no shoes necessary, the entire resort is built on finely sifted white sand. We never needed to eat anywhere else, the food at Ahau, including early morning coffee, was fabulous. If this isn't reason enough to vacation at Ahau, then it must be the wonderful, caring staff who catered to our every whim. It was the definition of tropical paradise!
Tulum itself one of the most beautiful places to visit, and there are plenty of restaurants and activities within walking distance, or short cab ride, if you wanted to do something outside the resort.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hello!

We want to thank you for the excellent review recently posted about Ahau Tulum and the Yoga retreat. We remember of course all the ladies enjoying the platform on the beach and the restaurant and its food. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Tulum surroundings and that our staff suited your needs at all times. We invite you to come back to Ahau and enjoy the Paradise again!

Warm regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Ahau feels as good as it looks. Mellow, friendly, no attitude. The people there know what they're doing and it shows. There's a great room for yoga and a very sweet room for massage. For massage, and a truly cosmic experience, look for Ines, who has cosmic energy in her beautiful hands.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hello,

We want to thank you for the excellent opinion that you have about Ahau Tulum and also because our future guess will be able to read in advance what they can enjoy in our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Yoga and our staff friendliness and professionalism as well as our Yoga and Spa Manager Ines with her cosmic hands as most guests mentioned before. We invite you to come back to Ahau at any time hoping this can be in a near future.

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
459 reviews
1 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 99 in Tulum
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#9 of 99 in Tulum
628 reviews
2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 99 in Tulum
1,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £44 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ahau Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing