We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly paradise!”
Review of Ahau Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I had our wedding here and we were so thankful upon arriving that we chose Ahau. The second you are there you feel at home. We were amazed at how every single detail was thought of and we couldn't find one thing we would do differently. The entire staff is nothing but warm and friendly (notably Jesus, Martin and Gerardo who were so wonderful and helpful) and if something is wrong they immediately correct it. They genuinely want to make your stay as best as it can possibly be. We walked the entire beach and saw nothing that even came close to Ahau's warmth, class and cleanliness. The rooms are amazing and the sheets and bed are so comfortable. Nisia, who planned our wedding, was so helpful and did an unbelievable job. It was everything we asked for and more and she was so great to work with. I only had one problem with Ahau- they make it so nice you do not want to leave! We look forward to our stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mflippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hello!

It is wonderful to hear from you! We are so happy to hear that everything went as you wished during your wedding and also we want to thank you for all the excellent comments about Nisia, Jesus, Martin and Gerardo as well as about our service and facilities. It is delighting to hear that we could connect with you and your husband as you felt the warmth from Ahau. We are very compromised about giving the extra mile to make things happens and we will be waiting for you when you decide to have your second honeymoon in Tulum!

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
There are newer reviews for Ahau Tulum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have stayed at Ahau a few times and each time we love the experience. Like staying in a small village with everything you need. The villas/rooms are beautifully designed by David one of the owners. The restaurant offer great food, drinks, juices and smoothies.. Sometimes we don't even leave the property. We just relax all day on the beach. Ahau is like a home away from home. We love it and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We always get a beach front villa
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hello!

We want to thank you for all the great comments about Ahau, it is a pleasure to have guests that compare our hotel with their homes, for sure, this is your home and we look forward to see you back here enjoying this small Village with the food, drinks, juices, smoothies and beach.

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The moment we drove down the street leading to Ahau, my wife and I knew we were in for something special. Our friends took over the entire hotel for their wedding. By far, the best wedding experience of our lives. We've been together 15 years so we've gone to many great weddings so this is saying A LOT!!!

The people, beach, food, water temp and views were all unbelievable. There seems to be something else here as well. Something spiritual that allows you to completely disconnect and heal all wounds. I felt a spiritual awakening that has given me so much energy for the past 2 weeks now that I'm back on the grid. The yoga room is something out of a movie. Best yoga of my life!!
I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay, wedding, or special event. Nisia Wasilewilz is an amazing wedding planner at the hotel and did an incredible job with the flow of all of the many events. Jill Engvaldson was amazing in welcoming guests in the hotel and always checked in to make sure we were having fun!! Had the pleasure of meeting the owners and not only were they BEAUTIIFUL on the outside, but were beautiful on the inside. I'm so grateful to this experience and can't wait to come back to my new home away from home!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello!

We love to know that our guests are willing to share their experiences in Ahau Tulum in this world wide tool because this can show in detail to a lot of our future guests to know where they are going to spend their vacations. We are also glad that Nisia and Jill surpassed your expectations as well as our staff, the beach, the food and the ambience of our hotel. We hope you can visit again to have a great experience here in Ahau Tulum. We are grateful to have guests that connect with our hotel in all different ways as you did!

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've been home for two days from Ahau Tulum and am even more annoyed by television than ever!!! Tulum is the perfect place to be a real "being", and Ahau excels at enabling such an experience. Of course, we loved the stunning architecture and soft, fluffy white sand beach and welcoming, enveloping, textured sea waters. Additionally, the staff was always smiling, attentive, and striving to do their very best to make our time there memorable and enjoyable. We may be missing some names here, but we are thankful for the kindness of Marco, Martin, Isaul, Jill, Ari, Pamela, and Rafael in making our time at Ahau a very special experience.
The location on the Tulum road is very convenient. The Ahau restaurant is very good, and there are several other excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. Really easy! Some shops are close by. The yoga space is stunning!!! overlooking the Caribbean! Wow! Such a beautiful place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello!

When we read great comments and reviews about Ahau, we really feel that we are doing our job right, but when we read that Marco, Martin, Isaul, Jill, Ari, Pamela, and Rafael and the rest of our staff were always smiling, attentive and striving to do their best it makes us feel proud as this is always our goal. In addition, we are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant and Yoga studio as well as the beautiful Caribbean Sea from Tulum. We invite to come back and stay with us anytime soon! Thank you!

Warm Regards

Arturo Soto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Where do I start? I cannot say enough about our wonderful stay at Ahau in Tulum. Everyone on the Ahau staff made us feel like we were with family from the moment we arrived to our last minute there. Special thanks to Jill and Pamela for all the special services and great recommendations during our stay. Also, thanks to Marco, Edgar and Paris you went above and beyond to make our stay special. Tulum is a special place and Ahau is THE place to stay for that one of a kind experience. The food... excellent, the Yoga...Amazing. The beach... perfect.... The Service... World Class! My words here really can't do this town and hotel justice ... You will have to come and experience it for yourself... And like us will want to return year after year.


Luis & Reine

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello!

It is really amazing to hear such nice reviews from our guests as this makes us feel proud and aware that we are doing the things needed to surpass our guest’s expectations. It is a pleasure to here that Jill and Pamela offered you great recommendations and service as well as to hear that Marco, Edgar and Paris went above and beyond to make your stay a special one. We would love to see you back here anytime soon. Thank you again for the great comments.

Warm Regards

Arturo Soto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Oh Ahau. You hussy! I dream of this place always. I've stayed in each kind of room and experienced every kind of situation here, from birthdays and weddings and huge parties, to serene vacations and beautiful solitude. And I keep coming back. This place was built with love.
The food is great, the location perfect, within walking distance to the best of Tulum eating and shopping.
It's paradise.
Truly.

Room Tip: The upstairs master suites are more private. The downstairs Bali huts have easier access to the shar...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zoë B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello!

Thanks for such a great review, we are glad to hear you had a good stay again as you tried all of our rooms! Tulum and it surroundings are amazing, lots of stuff to do, places to see and restaurants to visit and we are very close to all.
Please feel free to comeback at any time!! As you are part of the Ahau Family!

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When you walk into your room you get the "wow" experience. There is an attention to detail that I really appreciated. Considering you are in Tulum everything runs off generators and I expected a pretty basic room and resort but was surprised with how nice everything was. It is truly a slice of paradise.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a great breeze
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MojoPages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello!

It is very important for us to hear from our guest all their comments and makes us very happy to see that you noticed the attention to detail that we try to offer to our guests. We want to invite you to come back any time as we will be waiting for you with open arms. Thank you for all your great comments about Ahau.

Warm Regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 98 in Tulum
877 reviews
2.0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
422 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £44 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahau Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing