We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Ahau Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

oh man!!! where do I start?? was it the warm generous welcome I got upon arrival? was it the comfort and peacefulness of the room, or maybe the sound of the waves and wind that constantly soothed my soul. whatever the case may be you will find me here every July 4 holiday. I recently discovered this magical place and fell head over heals in love, white powdery sand under my feet, giant hammocks available every square foot. The food!!! OMG the food was fabulous catered to my NYC ultra high taste buds. The staff members are attentive but not overly, anything you need anytime. At night you will entertained by the galaxy which I consider the most amazing! I also saw a mother Turtle rise from the depths of the ocean and lay eggs by the moonlight! is that enough? there's more but you'll have to go yourself. The only down side is when you leave to go back home you will be depressed for about a week.

Room Tip: depends on how many people your with, kids can sleep on couches in the room but there seams to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello!

We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their experience during their stay in Ahau. We are glad to hear that our staff offered you a great welcome and also because you enjoyed your room, the beach, hammocks and the food from our restaurant! In addition, it is wonderful tahta you had the chance to experience the turtle nesting on the beach and the wonderful galaxy among us on the sky, this are life presents that maybe once in a life time you can enjoy. Please be sure that anytime you come back to Ahau we will be ready to pamper you and to exceed all your expectations.

Warm regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    92
    39
    10
    9
See reviews for
147
401
82
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My son, sister and I when to this beautiful hotel, we had a really good time very relaxing, the staff very friendly. We got the chance to meet Marco, Paris and Gerardo. Excellent food, cool drinks and much more. Highly recommended and hope go back very soon. Ahau Tulum thank you for give us a amazing experience .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ampasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello!

We are very happy to hear that our staff was very friendly during your stay at Ahau, specially that Marco, Paris and Gerardo surpassed your expectations. We also love to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant food and that we created an amazing experience for you, please be back soon as we are going to be waiting for you any time here in Tulum and in Ahau.

Warm regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I visited here for a relaxing holiday. This resort is small and quite. However, it has everything you could possibly need. The staff are very kind and generous. Isaul, in the restaurant was the most wonderful person I have ever met. He was always so cheerful and helpful. We hope to return soon as the stress of being back in the rat race has already taken its toll, after just two days. Ahau Tulum we miss you, thank you for such an amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello!

Thank you for this amazing review about Ahau. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be generous and kind and we want to thank also for the great opinion you have about Isaul. We hope that you come back soon to Tulum and Ahau to forget and relax after been in the rat race. We will work hard to offer you another great experience!

Warm regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our family - mom, dad and two older teens - recently enjoyed a week at Hotel Ahau in Tulum. We enjoyed our time off the grid in Tulum. Ahau offers great service, nice rooms (with AC) and wonderful food.
We have travelled to the Riviera Maya many times and would rate Ahau as our favorite. The combo of slow pace, good food and excellent service makes it all work. Special shout outs to Jill and Marco - "the Directors of Fun" and the restaurant and service staff. We found the food affordable, diverse and very good, so much so that we rarely left the property to eat.
Jill and Addie arranged a cool half day tour of Mayan ruins and lagoons that included a short hike, boat rides and a really cool float.
Final thought, only put shoes on twice all week - both times for a jog down the great white sand

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmpope63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello!

It is wonderful to have reviews like this one from our guests and more when they were a family that enjoyed their vacations together in our hotel Ahau. We want to thank you for the good comments about the service, food and rooms. We are glad to hear that Jill, Ari and Marco exceeded your expectations as well as the restaurant staff. We would like to see you again back in Tulum and in Ahau anytime soon.

Warm regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay here but had many meals and drinks over our week in tulum late July. We discovered the hotel after a SUP tour with Mauricio who runs paddle and kite boarding lessons from the hotel - highly recommended! The food was some of the best we ate in Mexico and the service was the best we had experienced in our 3 week vacation! We are already planning our return trip to tulum and will be staying at the Ahau Hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank louisedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello!

We want to thank you for the great review you posted about Ahau. Unfortunately you did not have the chance to stay with us but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and bar and that our service delighted you. Please do not hesitate to stay with us next time you visit Tulum as we will do everything to exceed your expectations during your stay. Mauricio is the best kite surf instructor in the area and we want to thank you also because the great recommendations.

Warm regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in.
We had 2 ocean view rooms, beautifully appointed and totally in keeping with this wild strip of beach. The food is very good and the kitchen will accommodate for specific requests too. There is a raw food cafe on the property which has delicious pizzas. The atmosphere that is created mostly by the staff and the super cool music is truly wonderful. Easy to relax or as we did both relax and explore.The hotel organised a superb diving cenote trip and the on-site kite and paddle surf is exceptional. We partcipated in yoga, aerial dance, massage and traditional healing ceremonies, There is a lot to do if you want to in Tulum but luxuriating on the beach in a sheltered hammock was just as wonderful. thank you for a speical holiday - we will be back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello!

It is wonderful to hear that Ahau is one of the best hotels you have stayed in! We want to thank you for this marvelous review as this tell us that we are doing the things right. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants and food and also that you had the chance to experience our tours, yoga and aerial classes as well as the massages and healing ceremonies. Tulum is one of the best places for relaxation as the beach here is amazing, in Ahau we try to keep this atmosphere and we offer hammocks and a nice lay out on the beach for our guests. We also loved to hear that our staff and music enhanced your experience in Ahau. We would like to have you here back in Tulum and in Ahau any time soon.

Warm regards,

Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here last June for 10 nights. It was a perfect getaway at the end of a Canadian winter.

We were upgraded to the Junior Beachfront Suite and couldn't be more pleased! The room was beautiful with a private patio with a hammock and just steps from the ocean. They offer bikes for hire, which was how we got around, its a nice cycle into town and also to the ruins.

The food at the restaurant was great, best octopus I've ever had. Meals were similar to American prices but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLB005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo S, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello!

We want to thank you for the excellent review recently posted about Ahau. We are very happy because you enjoyed your junior suite in front of the beach and its balcony with the hammock. We are also grateful about hearing that the restaurant and the food was great for you and that you had the chance to try the octopus as is our signature dish. Thank you again for the review and please come back soon to Tulum and Ahau.

Warm regards,
Arturo Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 95 in Tulum
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
400 reviews
2.0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
844 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Property: Ahau Tulum
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ahau Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing