We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$272
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$244
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$555/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$423/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$763
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azulik(Tulum)
US$714
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$696
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,202)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveller rating
939
194
31
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
939
194
31
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalsa nightsalsa partybalcony suiteplunge poolsalsa dancingbeautiful beachcevichebeach bedstulum beachbeach barsister hotelpalm treeslaid backthe entire staffamazing hotelplaya del carmenour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
832 - 837 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at La Zebra for a week for a friends wedding. The staff was wonderful, but the prices for the hotel and food were too high (especially for Mexico) I realize that Tulum has been soaring in its tourism, and the beach front is a hot commodity, but the food we got was better in the puebla and less than half the price. Our room was nice, but had no AC and the lights were only half working...(even when they were the lighting overhead was bright and flouresent. If you do choose to stay, I would recommend staying in one of the beach front suites. The rooms were alot nicer and not alot more expensive than going for a slightly cheaper room with less amenities. Its worth the extra few dollars. All in all we ended up moving to a shack down the beach for $40 a night so we could enjoy more of Tulum and not spend our entire budget. The salsa night is great though and its a fun place to hang out, just maybe not to spend $275 a night.

Room Tip: get a beachfront room
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chichinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happeedaize, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Thank you taking the time to write your review. We dontry to keepmour prices below the average of those on the beach. Itnis expensive to run a hotel here because we have to make our own 24 hour power, treat our waste water etc. There are absolutely no town utilities or services avaiable on the beach. Also, all of our food and ingredients are bought fresh daily and prepared at the time you order. While this does make it more expensive it is fresher and safer for our guests.
Despite this, our surveys of the closest 3 restaurants tonus show we are on average 30% less expensive. Paradise does have a price I guess!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Myself and 3 friends stayed at La Zebra for 5 nights, from the end of April through beginning of May. We chose La Zebra after MUCH research and really felt prepared for what to expect.

We had booked The Beach Shack. The space is beautiful and was very clean. Perfect for a group of friends or 2 couples. One thing to note, aside from outdoor space, there is really no "living" area to hang out as a group. It is more like 2 bedrooms on 2 floors. For some reason "beach shack" sounds like a house to me, but i would say its more like 2 suites combined in one building. A big plus - this location offers A LOT of privacy.

I think what kept us from loving La Zebra were what we felt was a lack in value. The beach shack is quite expensive and that was OK with us. What wasn't OK with us was small issues that were not fixed. The outdoor tub did not work (simply missing a stopper), and the fan above the main bed did not work either. Small things, but for the amount you are paying a night, I would expect these to work. Or, at the bare minimum, a fair attempt to be made to fix them. We asked several employees multiple times and no true effort was made. Another small thing were discrepencies between what we were told via email ahead of time and what we were being told in person. This was regarding breakfast / deposits. Again, not a huge deal but a gap in service. Thankfully i was able to pull up emails on my phone to show them what i was told. It seems like they often refer to their lack of internet availability as an excuse for miscommunication, however when i was there the internet worked consistently well for me. Also i found it strange that it was like pulling teeth to have lunch brought to your lounger. The food, like many others have said, is delicious though.

Many reviews stated how warm and friendly the staff were, and sadly we never felt that from anyone. For me, friendliness of the staff can make or break a holiday. Maybe it was just an off week, im not sure. All the smalls things wouldnt have bothered us if it was met with a smile and sincerity.

Next time we all agreed, when in Tulum, it is so beautiful, we don't need to spend that much for our lodging. We just didn't see the value in it and would probably stay in either a much smaller cabana or a different resort.

To La Zebra's credit - i emailed them upon my return and they extended an offer for my next visit. I dont want to discount anyone excited to stay there - the beach is beautiful, the food delicious, rooms decorated beautifully. Others seem to have better experiences. Not sure why we had such a strange experience!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happeedaize, Owner at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Thank you for your review. I am of course very sorry that you were disappointed with the service levels and that our staff were not able too make your stay perfect. Based on your feedback, we will be running some more staff workshops, focused on explaining and teaching our local staff how even the smallest detail can be so important for a guest's experience. Please let us know if you plan to return to La Zebra so that we can find a way to correct these past errors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Hotel Service was really great! staffs are really helpful, they even lend me their sunblock.
The room I was in on my first 2 nights was nice, it was the one across the street and really liked it, it also has a private pool for that particular side of the hotel.
The location was beach front and the hotel restaurant was also in front of the beach and they have salsa night/lesson every sunday which was very interesting.
And to top everything you can also catch a seaturtle laying eggs during the nights... saw 3, tourist just need to be very respectful with those creatures when they lay their eggs, dont use flash lights, there are usually caretakers that watching and protecting those turtles and eggs.

Hopefully to come back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeck0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We are traveling to South America for two months and decided to try out La Zebra. The Caribbean sea was amazing. I had never been to Mexico before and I have to say I do not regret coming here. The staff was friendly and took care of us on our one night stay. Miriam Avila showed a great interest in making sure we came back. Thank you!

We will hopefully be back again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This hotel in the first place doesn´t feel like an hotel, you have the impression you are in your own private seaside house. We stayed in the Beach Shack and could comfortably accomodate our 4 adult family members in the 2 rooms. You´re steps away from the sea and the sight from yhe 2nd floor terasse is outstanding.
The Beach is maybe the best in the Riviera Maya, and the hotel itself blends with the naturtal landscape.
The service is good, altough a little bit slow in the restaurant, nevertheless youre there to relax...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlixcoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews