We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed in La Zebra for 5 nights in total, 3 nights in beach cabana and 2 in jungle cabana. All are beautiful and the whole area is so relaxing and so stunning I would like to ask nobody to go here and keep it as it is! Service level is really high and accommodation is good and with eye for details. A bottle of tequila in the room, good quality bathroom amenities and very clean. If you decide to go, our preference is definitely to stay on the beach if you are with children, the little pool with the jungle cabanas is in front of the steps of the particular room we had and with children who don't know how to swim yet, that is not really safe. We had a great stay and definitely will come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
It was a pleasure to accommodate you with us, thanks again for your visit and will be waiting to welcome you back for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    181
    27
    18
    14
See reviews for
248
466
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waitsfield, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at La Zebra for two nights and cried when it was time to leave. The moment we walked in we could tell that it was a special place. Fernando welcomed us with a big smile and informed us that this would be our home away from home. It truly was.

Our room was only yards from the crashing waves and was simple, yet elegant and comfortable. The beach is stunning, with fine sand, warm water, and incredible skies. In addition to the natural beauty, what made our stay so special was the people at La Zebra. Fernando, Berza, Max, Pablo, and Andrea all were wonderful and by the end of our stay, felt like good friends.

We ate all our meals at the restaurant and everyone in our family of four was always happy and satisfied. Because the restaurant is open to the air, even when we were inside it felt like we were out. We loved both the outdoor tables and lounge area on the sand, and between meals when we were not on the beach, spent time in the hammocks slung between the palm trees.
This is a magical place and we can’t wait to go back.

Many thanks to the entire La Zebra team for making our vacation in Tulum so memorable.

Chris, Lindsay, Liza, and Tessa

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
it is so great to hear this from you , thank you so much for your lovely review . Many greetings from all the staff, we hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed directly at the beach. The place has hamaks and enough beach chairs to enjoy the beach and water. The ocean is calm due to the reef outside. The staff was very friendly and helpful. At checkin they gave us a free drink and since the we were early all needs to chill at the beach until the room was ready.
The Bongaloo offers everything you need. Running (not salty) water and electricity to charge phones or such. The Bungaloo does not have a TV or Hairdryer, which we liked, to fully enjoy the ocean sound and breeze.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your review, your comments mean a lot to us as well as and we are sure other travelers will also appreciate them . We hope we will see you back in our beautiful beaches, and cozy hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent 6 nights at Le Zebra to celebrate a friend's wedding. The wedding was gorgeous, the staff was so friendly, the beach was fantastic, the food delicious and the rooms were charming. I would recommend to anyone. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacyiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
We loved having you with us, thanks again for staying at our place and hope we will be seeing you back sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We loved our 4 nights at La Zebra! The hotel is adorable and the beach is gorgeous! From the welcome drinks until our last night we had a great time and I would totally recommend for someone who wants to really unplug on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. I loved walking right out to the beach from our little cabana every morning. The coffee basket is a welcome touch for a coffee addict like me. The food is delicious, especially the homemade tamales made right there and they also have a fun Salsa party on Sunday nights. You can make use of the free bikes, walk, or catch a taxi to go to one of the many delicious restaurants nearby.

Also the fresh water showers were really nice especially since most of the hotels in Tulum are salt water only.

Only draw backs that people should be aware of and this goes for most of the hotels in Tulum:

The sewage system is not strong enough to handle tons of toilet paper so you must throw your paper in the trash. This is common in a lot of less developed countries. This wasn't a big deal for me, but I know it would be for some.

No air conditioning - most hotels in Tulum dont have enough electricity to run. I am normally always hot and I was very comfortable without the AC.

The beds were a little harder than I would have liked. I wish the complimentary coffee had been free until 10AM as opposed to 8AM.

My bf and I were scouting this as a potential wedding location. I would pick La Zebra in a heartbeat, but I dont think we will be able to convince some of our less traveled family and friends to give up some of their comforts (toilets and ac).

Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephaniaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
thank you for all your feedback and for recommending our hotel. We feel very glad that your stay was enjoyable and that we were able to fulfill your expectations. We hope to see you back again , it would be a pleasure for us to accommodate you again and be a part of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We were at La Zebra for 3 Nights and our experience was awesome. The place is very well located in Tulum. The staff from Janice, Miriam, Ricardo and Chabely, plus all the waiters will make you forget about the city and be in Tulum. Rooms are perfect if your are looking for a romantic site.
Don't hesitate to book here!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jfguerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Guest Relations Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for staying and playing with us here at La Zebra.
We have missed you since you left us and we hope you come back soon or sooner..
Please know from me and the entire staff of La Zebra that it was our pleasure to host you on your very special time in Tulum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We just returned from the beautiful beach at La Zebra in Tulum to cold New York. We spent 7 nights in the balcony suite overlooking the pristine beach and lush coconut palm trees.

The service is excellent. Chabely went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. She left no question unanswered and was super proactive with tips and recommendations. We stayed at La Zebra with our two kids (5 and 9) who had a blast boogie boarding and building elaborate sand castles with the sand toys that were available at the reception.
The room came with a complimentary bottle of premium Tequila, a seemingly unlimited supply of bottled water, and every morning we received a basket with hot coffee, tea, juice and milk which we drank on our porch swing on the balcony.

We saw many other hotels during our one week stay, and if we return to Tulum, there is no question, we will stay at La Zebra again. The relaxed atmosphere with just enough amenities and the beautiful setting are unique, even at a beautiful place like Tulum.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We are here to help make your holiday as great as possible so we are glad to hear concierge service went well and that we met your expectations...it was a pleasure to have you, thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you back with us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 96 in Tulum
265 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 96 in Tulum
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#4 Family Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and beach-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing