We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at La Zebra for 12 nights in dec/jan, and never wanted to leave. We booked a jungle cabana, which is right by the road (so it can be a bit noisy), but we loved the pool and that it felt very private. They have small foot-baths right outside the door, where you can wash off the sand, very smart. We loved getting coffee delivered in the mornings, and housekeeping did a good job. It is just a minute walk down to the beach.

The restaurant can't be explained, you just need to try it. Lina's kitchen has good food and a pleasant atmosphere. We ate almost all of our meals there. Fernando and his waiters (especially Fily) made sure we always had everything we needed at our table. Be sure to not miss the salsa night!

If you are looking for an all-inclusive hotel with wifi and air-condition in the rooms: This is not it. La Zebra felt to us like a "beach secret" where you can relax 100% and where you are treated like family. A big thanks to Chabely and Grace, they were so welcoming and helpful. They really made us feel at home. They have so many tips and they always have time to help you if you need anything.

What is so great about La Zebra:
Everything! The people/staff, food and the beach (never seen anything more beautiful).

Once again, thank you so much to Chabely, Grace and Fernando for making our vacation perfect. We will definitely come back in a few years :)

Room Tip: Jungle cabanas are very private - beach cabanas are literally right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stinepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
We are so happy to hear from you again! thank you once more for coming to stay with us. We hope we will get to see you again on your next holiday , it has been a pleasure having you with us. Thank you as well for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    181
    27
    18
    14
See reviews for
243
455
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Upon the advice of my B-n-B hosts, I made a reservation for the dinner at Le Zebra for Sunday night, my last night in Tulum. Sunday is salsa night. They offer free dance lessons, followed by a live band. I made a reservation for myself for dinner and arrived a bit earlier than expected - just in time for the dancing. The lessons were great fun, the instructors really lovely and engaging. In between the lessons and the live band's first set I took my meal in Lina's Cantina, indoors. The staff was super polite and sweet and didn't try to rush me or make me feel uncomfortable in anyway as a lone traveler taking up a table for two. They were packed, but they honored my reservation without hesitation and I enjoyed a nice plate of fish with vegetables. After, I stayed for a set on the dance floor with the band, who were as good as the dance instructors had been. It was a super sweet experience to dance right on the beach next to the sea, with such good vibes and everyone in a pleasant, friendly and open mood. Totally worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wordygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your last night here at our restaurant,and hope you will be back soon to try our new and delicious menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We've been here for several times over the past few years, and each time it is as amazing as the last. Friendly staff (Fili is our favorite), great food, amazing view, and a bit secluded, which was a plus (for us at least). Regarding the stay, although we had only stayed here once, it was without complaints. Our cabaña was 20feet or so away from the ocean, and nothing as quite as relaxing as sleeping to the sounds of ocean waves. Not much more one can ask for.

It is a bit expensive though, so keep that in mind when you visit.

Will absolutely stay here again when we return to Tulum.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thanks for making us one your favorites! its a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you again here in La Zebra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
161 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This place is simply stunning! The beach is a dream! Beautiful waves and white clean sand to walk on
The hotel has beautiful lounge chairs and a little deck where you can sit and drink
The restaurant is also amazing! Great food a little pricy but worth it because it's pretty open so it has an amazing view on the beach wherever you sit
This is the ultimate place to sit and relax for a few days

One little side note
This hotel is located on a long but narrow street along with tons of other little hotels
It is very hard to get to the others as it can be very dangerous at night and the taxi drivers drive like crazy
Walk along the beach to get to the other places :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCB104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, and are glad to know you enjoyed our beautiful beach and hotel. We hope we will see you return on your future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have chosen this hotel based on the many excellent reviews by the trip advisor community and we were very happy with our choice. Hotel is located on the beautiful beach and we have stayed in Cabana no 3 for 12 nights which was very comfortable and cleaned on daily basis with fresh towels given each day, they are eco friendly so bed linen is only changed as you request it which is only right as it saves on environment.. Most people move on after few days we noticed but it suited us to be in one place for the whole of our holiday in that part of Mexico and maybe this is why we noticed few little imperfections which they could work on mainly on the restaurant side of things, for example on two occasions they had issues with serving us food in their restaurant, once we had to wait over an hour and 15 minutes for the lunch (burger) and the next time we only had one lunch served after 45 minutes waiting (we ordered two of the same and were clear about that while ordering). I have noticed other people frustrations around us on both occasions, restaurant does gets really busy as it has good reputation but they either have to employ more chefs on certain times or tell people they will have to wait over an hour for their food. Having to go and ask when your food is coming few times is not really what customer should be doing. Also I don't believe there are enough beach loungers for every guest, we certainly didn't get our loungers on one occasion. Maybe they should make sure they are few spare ones just in case! We loved La Zebra and I believe in stating facts everywhere I go and my comments are not meant to be negative, it is simply constructive criticism. On the positive note every Sunday they host very popular salsa evening with live band which goes until 11pm, it is very good fun, there is a free salsa lesson hour prior to party start which people can participate in. We thought all their staff is very friendly and very very hardworking, It is a very long day for all of them. I shall conclude this by saying that La Zebra is located in most amazing part of the globe and that everyone should at least once visit beautiful Tulum. We will forever remember it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatBedenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
thank you again for your visit and for your comments regarding the restaurant, we will be more prepared next time ...we did not expect so many people and even if that was our highest season we got busier than we imagined.. However , we are sorry for the inconveniece of the wait and also apologize for the lounge chairs. We try to ask none guest not to use our beach chairs when we are full , but at times its a bit hard to control unless guests tell us they do not have a place. We look forward to your next visit to our beautiful Tulum .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were recently in Tulum for a wedding and staying at La Zebra was described to us as "glamping." I'd say it was a step up from that description, but this is certainly not your typical commercialized resort property. We stayed in one of the jungle cabanas, which was spacious and comfortable. If you are staying here, please note that the shower has no curtain/door/separation (except a small ledge on the floor) from the rest of the room so you should either be comfortable seeing whomever you are with shower or be prepared to leave the room every time the other person wishes to shower. The toilet (on the other side of the room) had a curtain separating it from the rest of the room. The room came equipped with mosquito netting but both my husband and I were bitten frequently throughout our stay. This room is also fairly close to the road so you will hear traffic noise in the morning accompanied by many, many bird calls. But we absolutely loved our stay and these minor issues are simply the cost of being able to stay in a perfect piece of paradise unspoiled by large commercial properties. The beach is truly stunning, the staff could not be more friendly or accomdating and all of the meals we ate at the restaurant were delicious (especially the wide variety of smoothies available for breakfast). We particularly loved the hammocks outside our rooms and the feeling that the property was never really "crowded" or even heavily populated. We certainly hope to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: If you are staying in one of the jungle cabanas, you should avoid the cabana that backs up directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers, we are sure your comments will be very helpfull to them. Again, it was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Have a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
368 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

La Zebra is a very friendly place! I went there to unwind before attending a festival in Cancun. The food is excellent! Drinks are generous and great! The service is as good as it gets. Was here with a big group last time but had a blast hanging alone at La Zebra this time. Cannot recommend it more. Will go back again and again! Don't miss the salsa party on Sundays!!!!

One of the nicest stretches of beach I have ever enjoyed!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have character. Have stayed in three different ones. Of course the ones on the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
glad you had fun with us, we enjoyed having you!... thanks again for your visit ,we are looking forward to seeing you again,we now have a new cuban band which people are really liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#4 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and beach-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing