We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could have asked for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

La Zebra looked nice when we were researching hotels, but we weren't expecting too much. It turned out to be a great surprise and a perfect stay.

It's all in the details. We were greeted upon our arrival with ice cold margaritas. Grace was incredibly nice and welcoming, and gave us a quick tour of the property and our room. We stayed in one of the jungle cabanas, right across the street from the restaurant and reception. The 4 cabanas were quiet and secluded, with a small pool and hammocks and chairs outside each one. The single-room cabanas have a safe, shower and bathroom (with curtain), and the pint of tequila for new guests was a very nice touch.

We quickly settled into a routine each morning: coffee and pastries were delivered (free of charge) each morning, and we'd sit in the chairs outside drinking coffee as the town woke up around us. Then off to the beach for a swim, followed by breakfast at the hotel and a long walk on the beach. As far as traditional fare goes, the restaurant at La Zebra was the best of the hotels we visited (and we stopped by almost all of them during our week-long vacation). Their ceviche bar and guacamole are both excellent, and their tacos come with a choice between flour and corn tortillas, both hand-made. Every meal we had there was excellent; it was one of the few restaurants on the entire beach that always had a decent-sized crowd (without ever feeling crowded). And everything is situated right on the beach, so you're never far from the water and the view is great.

The beach location was perfect – plenty of other properties in either direction, but you never feel like you're in the middle of too much, as the kite-surfing and larger hotels are further north. It's the perfect blend of relaxation and feeling like you're in the company of like-minded people. We watched some of the Sunday night salsa dancing and the Saturday afternoon live music; it's nice to have the option of laid-back nighttime activities, but we were usually ready to relax back at the cabana after dinner.

The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, and assisted in planning activities, figuring out taxi expenses and hanging on to our bags after we checked out but before we moved on to our next hotel (which was more expensive and not nearly as nice). Normally when we travel, we like to try a few different hotels. If we were to return to Tulum, we'd have no problem staying at La Zebra for the entire time. Great staff, great location, reasonably priced: everything you could want in a relaxing Tulum vacation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: It's always nice to be right on the beach, but the jungle cabanas felt very secluded. A little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScratchLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi,

First and foremost a million thanks to your review, it made the day of all of our staff here at La Zebra. We are very happy to hear you settled into the lifestyle here, it is addictive we know! We have been working especially hard on the food in our restaurant these past few months so very glad to hear positive comments about it. There is always a home for you here at La Zebra and we are looking forward to see you again with ice-cold margaritas in hand.

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was lucky enough to spend two lovely weeks at La Zebra in March. It quickly became my home away from home. The staff made our stay so wonderful and were ready to accommodate us at every turn. I even was able to make jewelry in the most awesome space overlooking the beach! Nick, Marium, Chablis, and Grace, Filli, et al. became our friends very quickly. Jan came in the last full day and she was a soulmate right away. I aspire to make lovely jewelry like Jan one day. Fondly, Debbie Davis, White Stone, Virginia

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Debbie you were such a wonderful guest. All the girls are wearing their beautiful creations. We look forward to your return soon. Jan said to come on down and spend time with her making jewelry seaside.
The whole staff will be waiting for you with a cold margarita in hand...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We absolutely loved staying at a Jungle Cabana at La Zebra Hotel in March 2014.
The accommodation was clean and spacious. The Jungle Cabana is only a few meters away from the restaurant and beach. You have to cross a small road to get there but this is absolutely ok, less then a minute walk.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful - a million thanks to Grace who helped wherever she could and made our stay perfect!!
The restaurant is amazing (food and friendliness of the staff).
We really enjoyed our stay in Tulum as we prefer a small hotel and a clean beach. Great day trips from here also, Diving, visiting Maya Ruins, a Tequila Distillery, etc.
Sure there are a lot of lovely hotels in Tulum but we can really recommend La Zebra.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi Linda,

So glad you enjoyed our jungle side, as it is one of our hidden jewels at La Zebra. We are thrilled you enjoyed our food and service. Grace sends her love and a million thanks to you for writing this lovely review. We wish you all the best and can't wait for your return.

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a two week stay in Tulum and were lucky enough to stay at La Zebra in a beach front cabana. The staff was amazing(Grace, Chablis, and Miriam), everyone smiles and are always so helpful and willing to please. We loved our welcome margarita. The cabana was romantic, private, peaceful, and yet just steps from the reception and the beautiful white powder beach. The food was delicious and for variety there are many wonderful restaurants up and down the beach that are easy to walk to or take a taxi. Amazing stay in paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol-Winter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi Carol,

Happy to hear you found paradise here at La Zebra. It was a pleasure to get to know you over the couple weeks you spent in Tulum. So glad to hear you loved our food as much as we do, we will let our chef Eleazar know.

It is a beautiful day day here in Tulum and the the only this missing is you. We look forward to your return and we will have your margaritas waiting.

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have just returned from an amazing stay in Tulum- LOVED everything! We stayed at La Zebra for 4 nights in one of their beach cabanas and had an amazing time. Before even checking in they handed us a welcome margarita, Grace was very helpful and accommodating in making sure we were settled in. The beach was amazing and we had several great meals at the restaurant (the pork dishes were our fav's) It was nice to be able to totally relax and not have to leave the property for anything. I particularly loved the basket with coffee and sweet rolls they dropped on our stoop every morning and my husband was partial to the complimentary bottle of tequila in our room. The only thing to be aware of is, they do host a disco party on Thursday and Sala on Sunday during high season, which seemed to be a huge hit with guests but is a teensy bit loud if you turn in early and are in the beach cabanas but it looked like everyone was having a great time and they shut everything down around 11:00pm. I would highly recommend staying here you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Hi Jennifer,

Thank you very much for you feedback and for recommending our hotel. We understand that not all of our guests are in the mood for our parties and we are therefore sorry if the music was a teeny bit too loud. However, we are very glad that you had a nice stay and enjoyed our food, beach and other amenities. We hope you had safe travels home and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We got married and stayed at La Zebra. You cant find a better place and service in Tulum!
The beach is perfect, the restaurang is very nice and on the beach. And the staff is very very nice.
Ted and Sofia

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi Ted & Sofia

It was a pleasure to have you here at La Zebra and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time. Once again we congratulate you guys on the wedding and we wish you all the best. Until next time,

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Upon arrival, nick, greeted us with a warm smile and a cool margarita. After check in he walked us to the ocean front cabana. Cabana was small but very adiquite for the two of us. Bed was comfortable and the the bathroom was clean. If you plan on doing some reading at night, bring a portable light. Restaurant was very good and the service was great. Sunday is salsa night. Do partake in the lessons, they are fun.So don't expect to sleep before 11. Wednesday is boogy night. Disco and soul music till about 11. The other nights were quite and relaxing. The beach was lovely and there was plenty of shaded seats.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are much cooler at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpercz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi,

Thank you for choosing La Zebra and we are so happy to hear your stay was just lovely. I will pass your comments onto the rest of the team. Hope you had safe travels home, and can't wait to see you again!

Hotel La Zebra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
458 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 99 in Tulum
1,345 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#9 of 99 in Tulum
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#25 of 99 in Tulum
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel

Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#4 Family Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £322 - £596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and beach-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing