We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem among Tulum hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Gem among Tulum hotels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Sunday nights they host a live band and dancing- locals from all around come and it's the place to be. The food at the restaurant is delish and the service is all around perfect! Highly recommend!! They give you a drink at check-in and bring coffee to your room each morning as a complimentary service. The GM is very nice as well- all around great hotel for the value!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for recommending La Zebra! Glad to hear you had a nice time at our famous salsa party. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and guest services/amenities. We hope all is well with you back home and we await your next visit,

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    179
    27
    18
    14
See reviews for
239
451
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

La Zebra is a peaceful, friendly haven surrounded by white sand, looking out on to turquoise water. It's picturesque setting is complemented by very friendly and helpful staff and a generally chilled vibe. The food was good but service slow - real Mexican time and this was not just at La Zebra! Our room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful balcony view; however, we were above the kitchen which was very noisy (no 10) and smelly. Our sleep was somewhat disturbed and we raised this with the staff who very efficiently moved us to a sister hotel (La Pez) for our last night. I was very impressed with the way Chabeley (Manager) dealt with the situation. Prices are comparable with Sydney prices and we felt a tad resentful still having to tip staff at every turn - we eventually stopped tipping but then felt bad because we were uncertain how much staff are paid. I do wish this was different. Thank you to all the lovely staff for making it a wonderful stay. Oh yes, our daughters LOVED the salsa night!

Room Tip: Only choose no. 10 if it's a quiet season. Beautiful views and lovely room but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Kerry,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we appreciate your feedback. We apologise for the inconveniences you experienced while here at La Zebra and are glad that you feel you were taken care of in the end. We hope you enjoyed your stay at El Pez and we send you all the best from sunny Tulum.

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My Mom and I were looking for a week getaway– and La Zebra was perfect. We were welcomed with a smile and given a complementary Margarita, which was delicious. Our bags were always taken care of (as we moved twice during our stay, to different rooms). This was wonderful as we got to experience the uniqueness of each room.
We especially loved the complementary coffee and sweets/fruit that was placed in a basket in front of our room each morning– thank you! What a wonderful way to wake up– to birds chirping, sound of the sea and a coffee in hand.

The beach was clean and the lounge chairs very comfortable. The sea– spectacular.

We loved eating at the restaurant– especially the delicious ceviche and array of different seafood tacos. Thank you to a wonderful service staff who were always friendly and attentive.

La Zebra is in a wonderful spot, walking distance to many unique shops and other restaurants.

Thank you for having us– and sharing your wonderful space. We had a great time and will be back with the rest of the family :)

Special thanks to Grace and the wonderful service team.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the spacious Jungle Cabana. The beach front was a little smaller but you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Stefanie,

Thank you so much for writing this review and choosing La Zebra to have your mother-daughter trip. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our hotel, restaurant, services and staff. We look forward to seeing you back with the rest of your family. We send you our best wishes and until next time!

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

La Zebra i can recomend for everyone. It is nice and quiet, and the rooms are nice and clean. The staff at the hotell were helpfull and they answered every question with a smile.

We went to Tulum for my brothers wedding, the wedding was absolutly fantastic. Nice ceremony at the beach, and the food and drinks were great.

The only complain i have at the hotell is the breakfast you get outside your room every morning. Some days we got one glass of orange juice and one roll, the other day we got 2 rull and no orange juice. So a tip for La Zebra, you should either drop the breakfast thing, or do it capably.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but the room 12 had a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stianla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Stianla,

Thank you very much for your comments about La Zebra, we truly appreciate it. We are so glad you had a nice time with us and we enjoyed having you guys. The wedding and dinner turned out to be lovely.

Thank you for letting us know about your feeling towards the morning baskets. We apologise for the inconsistencies and we have already looked into it. Please note, that these baskets are not intended to be a breakfast rather a complimentary morning coffee service.

We hope all is well with you, your friends and family and we hope to see you again.

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We really enjoyed La Zebra and here's why:
We had room #9, closest to the street and barely even heard any noise from it. We felt like we were almost on the beach. Very good coffee and fresh fruit delivered to your door in the morning.
The beach furniture and palapas are definitely amongst the top 3 along the whole hotel strip of beach. Great tiered outdoor lounging and dining area. I love a couple of chairs and table set right in the sand to eat at in the shade.
Excellent drinks, with fresh-pressed sugar cane juice.
Food is generally very good.
There was a three-day music festival in Akumal which could be heard in Tulum all night; management sent for ear plugs the next night and delivered to all the rooms and apologized, although they didn't have to.
I feel like rooting for La Zebra; you can tell they are trying to make it a good experience, and they seemed to really care about making the hotel comfortable and a great experience with very friendly staff.
The size of the property is smallish and intimate. You see many of the same couples and families at meals which I liked, but large enough to warrant its own restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Room 9 closest to road, going down in numbers closer to the beach. No AC, but fans directly over bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Lizzy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your positive comments regarding food and drink to the staff who will truly appreciate it. We hope the earplugs helped as your nights rest is of the utmost importance to us.
We send our best wishes and we will see you next time,

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

A bunch of us ladies took a trip to the beach for relaxation and fun. The staff are so friendly, the food is great, but the beach is the best thing about this hotel. It never feels crowded and it's paradise.

Room Tip: Any time you can get a cabana on the beach do it. The jungle side is too far away and too many bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi,

We are very grateful for your posting and happy to hear your girls trip was relaxing and fun at La Zebra. We do have a wonderful beach here and we are glad to here you found it to be paradise. Hope all is well with you girls back in NYC and we await for next visit,

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I do the arrangements for our travels, from flights to hotels to restaurants, sights, tours. The goal of this trip was to provide my wife with downtime and a chance to shake-off the winter. La Zebra nailed it.

As we walked across the sand to our room, my wife said, "This is what I pictured when I was young and people told of 'going to Mexico'." Beautiful water, white sands, thatched cabanas, palm trees, hammocks....

When you walk up and down the beach you can see that La Zebra has a brand. The shaded restaurant/bar, the terrace, the well tended greenery, clean & simple. They care about the property, they care about their staff, they obviously care about their guests.

When you find a place that hits the mark, you can really look forward to going back. A Thank You to Grace and all her teammates.

Room Tip: We had a private cabana on the southside, the ocean breeze was a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Steven,

So glad to have allowed your wife's childhood dreams to come true and that your expectations were exceeded. We truly appreciated your comments and it is nice to know our that our guests get it! You get our concept and brand and for this we thank you. You now know your home away from home is here and you are more than welcome any time.

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#4 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and beach-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing