We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort, most relaxing week in years!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort, most relaxing week in years!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I went to La Zebra in early May 2014 for a friends wedding. The best way to describe this place is it's basically straight out of a Corona commercial. Amazing staff that are super friendly and worked to make our experience special. We rented out the entire resort on the wedding night, had the ceremony on the beach and partied into the night on the beach at the resort. They completely re-shaped the resort for our wedding experience, it was an incredible night and amazing vacation! The food was super affordable and absolutely delicious, we ate off the resort a few times but I wouldn't recommend it as the food at La Zebra was the best in the area by far. Amazing, we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the jungle cabana which got quite hot at night, I would recommend a cabana closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdaffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We cant wait to have you back! and are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.Many greetings from all the staff , we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    181
    27
    18
    14
See reviews for
244
460
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

this is actually my second review of the same trip January 2014, but I wrote the first one in Norwegian for my Scandinavian friends to read. Meanwhile, google translate is soooo bad that I want to write one in English as well.
Tulum beach is just heavenly gorgeous! I have visited lots of exotic small Beach resorts on most continents, but La Zebra is definitely the place I have enjoyed the most, and actually have visited twice, and even already booked a two week stay around New Years 2015.
The property is so well planned, and the cabanas are neatly placed so that you don,t actually see the neighbouring huts. They have also kept just the right amount of palm trees and other greens to get that beautiful Carribean scenery but without all the bugs and critters that normally goes with a lot of vegetation.
The beach, located 15-20 metres from the cabana porch, is pristine and white, and before sunset already cleaned for any debris that must have been washed ashore during nighttime. Comfortable sunbeds with thick mattresses are scattered underneath umbrellas, and these are reserved for the La Zebra staying guest only.
Because there are no streetlights in Tulum Beach zone, the starry nights are quite spectacular! When the moon is up, you hardly even need a torch when you stroll along the white beach during nighttime.
The cabanas are very tastefully decorated, and nmbr 2 and 3 have a gorgeous view of the ocean and the beach.
The kitchen serves very tasteful and uncomplicated Mexican food, with the ever smiling and efficient Santiago as my absolute favorite waiter:-) Make sure to give him decent tip and say hello to him from me if you ever go there:-).
Santiago (and most of the other waiters as well, by all means!) is just a delight, and presents a perfect mixture of genuine warmth and friendliness and polite distance. He really managed to put a big smile on my face every day (as well as great food on my plate!).
Another staff member I would like to recognize especially is Chabely, the beautiful, helpful and pleasant concierge. She too really goes out of her way to make you feel included in the La Zebra "family", but always without being intrusive. The level of professionality amongst the staff is actually quite impressive.
If you are looking for a pristine beach and relaxed atmosphere, I most strongly recommend La Zebra as your next holiday destination.
Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Choose beach front, cabana 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisabeth o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are more than happy to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel and restaurant. Your kind words and compliments really make a difference to us. This is one of the parts we most enjoy about our work. Thanks again for making us a part of your holiday and we really hope to see you again on your next holiday in Tulum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in several Tulum hotels this trip (variety is the spice of life!) and, without doubt, Le Zebra is THE one to stay at. Exceptionally good service, nothing is ever too much for the ever-smiling, hard-working staff; who will do everything they possibly can to make sure your stay at Le Zebra is a fabulous experience. The rooms are excellent, comfortable and very clean, all amenities are replaced regularly and there is plenty of complimentary water, all of which is more than can be said for the other hotels we stayed in. If you can, stay in Room 1; high quality throughout, huge comfy bed and wonderful (very private) outdoor bath/ shower/ courtyard. We also ate frequently at the excellent restaurant, which compares well with other Tulum heavyweights, such as Casa Banana, Hartwood, etc. And do use the bar; La Zebra's Margherita's are THE best - better than any we had, in the whole of Quintana Roo! Our sincere thanks to the La Zebra team, who make their idyllic venue the sensible choice for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid the jungle cabanas, go for beach cabanas; Room 1 is the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZimOke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
It was great hearing from you, thank you for such a lovely review. It was an honor for us to have you stay with us , we hope you will be back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights there and love every minute of it. Fantastic beach, beautiful room right on the beach. Lots of space and the bed was so comfortable.

All the staffs at reception and restaurant were really friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.

Food at restaurant was so good too. And the Margaritas were great!

We would come back every year if we didnt live so far away (Australia).

Thanks everyone at Zebra for making our stay perfect.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cpaineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It makes us happy that you loved every minute of stay and that you think highly of our staff and food. We hope to see you again, even if it isn't every year!

Take care,

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Attended my son's wedding at La Zebra. Everything was great--from rooms to food. I had cabana 9 and there wasn't much breeze from the beach so I asked for a fan. Even though there were 3 ceiling fans, I was given a floor fan which I appreciated very much. Ample amounts of bottled water were provided. The refrigerator in the cabana was really nice to have.

The food and drinks at the restaurant were so good and the wait staff was super, although slower than we get in the US, they made up for it with good cheer. I enjoyed the mojitos, very minty! I also ate at Casa Bananas, Mezzanine, and El Pez (the last two are sister hotels of La Zebra). Each menu offered a variety of interesting and delicious good.

The wedding went smoothly through the on site planner. I have no criticism regarding the event. It was ideal.

Suggestion: they will deliver coffee, juice, fruit, and biscuit to you room in the morning and leave it on the porch. Because birds and ants are up much earlier than I am, I would have been better off just having coffee delivered. Unless you are right there to accept the basket, stick to coffee or forego the basket.

Room Tip: Cabana 1,2 3 had better breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agar-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Agar,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear that everything was great form rooms to food to wedding. Thank for sharing your feelings towards the morning baskets as this will help us improve in the future. We wish you all the best and until next time,

Hotel La Zebra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We got married at La Zebra two weeks ago (abt 60 guests) and had the time of our lives, our wedding could not have been any better. We had been to Tulum once two years ago and loved the vibe, but we had never been to La Zebra. We chose it after reading super helpful reviews which is why we feel the need to write one ourselves. If you are attempting to plan a wedding there, here is what you need to know:
1- The staff are really professional and know how to do this, you do not need to worry about them forgetting anything. It is a well oiled wedding machine.
2- Lina, the coordinator, was a GODSEND. She is efficient, organized, helpful and realistic. She responded to every email within two days or so (which was totally appropriate for our needs).
3- The food (for our wedding and also just at the restaurant during our stay) was PHENOMENAL. they apparently have a new chef who makes delicious Mexican food with a twist. We were v impressed. The service is top notch, albeit a little slower than what you would get in the US (that said, you're on vacation! slow down and enjoy it!)
4- A note about Tulum: the food/restaurants are awesome, the setting is incredible, the beaches are out of this world. All that said, things are not much cheaper than they are in the US. So don't expect to have a "cheap" wedding. Your biggest savings will be that the venue booking fee is very low since your guests are booking the rooms for at least three nights.
5- We opted for open bar. It turned out to be cheaper than we expected. The cocktails are fabulous, especially the margaritas, so don't have your wedding without them!
6- We got married early May and booked the bridal suite (room #1) which is on the water and gets a nice breeze so we slept soundly. That said, there is no AC, and some rooms further back were not as breezy. (La Zebra provides fans).
7- It makes a huge difference that Lina (the coordinator who works for the hotel) arranged everything: from the violinist, to the hair and make up stylists, to the DJ and mariachi bands...etc. I was in my bikini relaxing on the beach up until two hours before my wedding. I cannot tell you how awesome that was.
8-Lina arranged our welcome dinner and drinks at their sister hotel Mezzanine and it was fantastic. Everything was flawlessly executed.
9-The dancing happens on an outdoor elevated platform on the sand. They arranged strings of light all around it and it was fabulous. The breeze made it cool so we never felt hot as we were dancing. And even though the place has a nice casual feel (I was barefoot for our entire wedding) I felt like a princess the entire time. They do a great job of "dressing" the place up for weddings.
A huge thank you for Lina and the entire staff! We love you! And feel free to private message me if you are planning a wedding there and need advice.
Muna&Clint

Room Tip: Get a room near the beach so you get a cool breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munashik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Muna & Clint,

First of all, on behalf of La Zebra we would like to congratulate you guys on getting married. Secondly thank you so much for writing this lovely and very helpful review.Thank you for appreciating how hard our staff work everyday and especially for weddings. Also, being that our Chef is relatively new, we truly appreciate the feedback on the food. We are very happy to hear that your whole Tulum experience along with working with Lina was enjoyable.

We wish you all the best Muna & Clint,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Le Zebra for 2 weeks for our honeymoon July 2013. The service was excellent, staff friendly and we had a truly amazing time. The food was exceptional - as were the beach cocktails. A great location in Tulum as the beach walks are amazing. We can't wait to get back there.

Room Tip: The huts closest to the beach are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katfandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Katfandango,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that our service was excellent, food exceptional and that we have friendly staff. Thanks for choosing La Zebra to spend such a special moment of you lives. We can't wait to have you back....maybe for you anniversary...

We wish you all the best,


La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
400 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
259 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 95 in Tulum
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#4 Family Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and beach-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing