We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at La Zebra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Beautiful hotel and friendly service. I wish though they would have had air conditioners in the jungle cabanas though, it got really hot while there and was hard to sleep in the heat. But aside from that it was a great time and amazing place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Director General at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi Sheaux,

Thank for writing this review and we send our apologies for the heat here in Tulum. We are looking at options to install A/C in the near future.

We are very happy to hear that the rest of your trip went well and we do hope to see you the future.

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I had never been to Mexico before. We were headed to La Zebra for my nephew and his wife's wedding celebration. "La Zebra" is about 1 1/2 to 2 hours south of Cancun. We had pre-arranged for travel through "USA Transfers". They were waiting and ready when our flight arrived. Our driver had plenty of stories to tell and made it more of a 'tour' than a transport service. When we reached the hotel, the security at check in was quick to help as was the manager, Fernando. We were settled in in no time.

"La Zebra" was chosen as the destination as my nephew's family is from the US and his wife's family is from Columbia. This was a nice 'half way' point. Between the two families, we had most, if not all of the resort booked. All of the hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The open air restaurant and bar, the beachside lounge chairs and thatch roof umbrellas, the soft lighting in the lounge and beach pavilion all make it an incredible, intimate location. The beachfront wedding went off without a hitch, dinner was served for the entire party and we salsa danced into the night with a live band on the ocean front. "La Zebra" is an excellent choice to make memories to last a lifetime.

There's also plenty of restaurants and shops nearby as well as water parks (Xel-Ha and XCatera) as well as a Mayan ruins site. My 20 year old daughter and I went to the Bahia Principe 'Dolphinaris' and swam with the dolphins. The "foot push" was an amazing experience. All minutes away. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: They don't have many Cabana's with a direct view of the ocean, so make sure you get that if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Director General at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi John,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very glad to hear that your first trip to Mexico was a memorable one. It was a pleasure to host you guys and the wedding was lovely. It was a lot of fun to see you all dance through the night. We here at La Zebra wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the future.

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Let me begin by saying that I really don't mind roughing it. I spend as many days as possible each summer tent camping in weather ranging from 40f to 100f. However, I don't spend $200+ USD/day for camping. At La Zebra, we were greeted with extreme hostility by the guard upon checking in for five days. Uh oh, bad start. He didn't seem to believe we were staying there, even when we unloaded our six pieces of luggage. He was very concerned that we needed to move our car across the street to the parking lot IMMEDIATELY. We weren't so concerned since we had just experienced a harrowing two-hour drive from Cancun airport after surviving two red-eyes to get there. Not what we needed. Grace was extremely welcoming and sweet, but was in a rush to make sure we got a welcome drink (nice, but we were clearly told ANYTHING else would be charged). Finally, to our room. They insisted on taking our larger suitcases to our room and somehow they both ended up in the sand (small guy carrying two 45 lb. + suitcases), and of course this meant sand in our room for our entire stay. And we brought some home and will likely have reminder sand from time to time. The lock in the door knob didn't work. So, exhausted, we were left standing in the sun while another key was found. We experienced door lock troubles the entire time we were there and, in a kind estimate, I believe we wasted about an hour total trying to get in our room. We visited another guest room with that guest and they had trouble unlocking their door as well. On both of these locks that I observed, it looked like either frustrated guests (or outsiders!) had tried to break in. We were prepared in advance that we would have no air conditioning and that electricity was limited. Even with the CONSTANT, UNRELENTING wind (it was the end of May) and lame-ish fan over the bed, we were rarely very cool in the room. The first morning coffee, pan dulces and two mangos were delivered to our door. That was nice and the only food (other than our welcome cocktail) that was included in the $200+ USD/night. But this was the only day. After inquiring at the front desk, we were told one of the guests had ants in that morning's delivery, so without any notice to other guests the hotel discontinued ANY morning coffee delivery for the remainder of our stay. One could go to the front desk and help themselves. Sometimes there was pan dulce (the same every morning; more pan than dulce, sort of the equivalent of Svenhardt's), sometimes there was fruit and sometimes there was coffee, but never all three--and only for about an hour. So if you missed it, too bad! But you could order breakfast for additional cost! When we checked in, we asked how late dinner was served; we are very late eaters, but willing to adjust if need be. We were told dinner would be served until 10:00p.m., sometimes later if staff was available. Of course the very next night we got in at 9:40p.m. and guess what? Kitchen was closed. We were really hungry, so at that point I was pretty done with the hotel and spent as little time there as possible (and no additional $$) for the remainder of our stay. We had an incident with housekeeping that should have been immediately resolved, but wasn't until hours later. We were awakened on Saturday morning at 7:30a.m. by construction noises (saws, pounding nails) coming from behind our room. We were told it was the adjoining property and they had no control over the noise. The DJ at the wedding we were attending was shut down that night at 11:00p.m. sharp due to the "neighbors". But that didn't keep the live Salsa band from blaring past 11:30p.m. on Sunday night. Very inconsistent. It stormed the last three days we were there and we had a leak through our roof and down a wall. Fortunately, this wasn't where we were keeping our bags and our leak wasn't even close to the lakes that appeared in two other rooms (on either side of us) we saw on the property. When we left, as a parting gesture, the guard got surly with us again. Oh how we'll miss him! Did I mention we had some snorkling gear stolen from our trunk? Although we did stop at a few places the day this happened, we're fairly sure this was taken from our car in the La Zebra parking lot. Good job! On the plus side, the room was clean (other than our suitcase sand) and we got two bottles of water of every day. Nice water pressure in the shower although the floor in the bathroom area was extremely rough and continued to chip off during our stay. This was our first visit to this area and I was surprised in general at the high-ish prices, especially for the off-season (hurricanes). I was beginning to think that what we paid was pretty normal in the area for this type of lodging. Until we visited a hotel where our friends were staying just a few kilometers down the road. Ultra-modern: pool, hot tubs, luxury suite with air conditioning and television and included all meals for $50 USD/day more than we were paying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelWarrior2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review as we truly appreciate the feedback - positive and negative- from all guests. It is apparent that we did not meet your expectations nor did we achieve the level of service we strive for with all of our guests and for this we apologise. Your review is very constructive and we have already improved several aspects of our hotel after reading it and commit to continuously improving all facets of our business in the future.

La Zebra Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the beach, the cocktails, the restaurant (with a ceviche bar). We had a room on the jungle side and it was perfect. The staff was attentive and caring. Would absolutely go back to la zebra hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beirutalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for choosing our perfect spot in Tulum and we are so glad to hear that you had a more than enjoyable experience. Our beach, cocktails, food and staff will be awaiting your return.

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently had our destination wedding at La Zebra. Everyone at La Zebra was extremely accommodating to us and our guests. This was no small affair (160 people), and La Zebra ensured that the food was consistent and everyone was happy. We received many compliments about the meals and the service.

There were some bumps in the road at the beginning with both the restaurant (make sure you get food and drink prices confirmed and in writing at the beginning of the process) and with reservations, but La Zebra worked with us to resolve them. At the end of the day it was the perfect weekend of wedding activities and I can't say enough about the staff at reception, in the kitchen, and in the restaurant.

I especially want to call out Ara and Jay in reservations for their help when one of the rooms that was reserved became unavailable three months shy of our wedding. They did a wonderful job of making sure that all our guests who were originally booked in that room had a place to stay and were happy.

La Zebra did a wonderful job of ensuring that our wedding was completely memorable and everything we could've hoped for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LT620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you so much for writing this review and congratulations on the wedding. We are so happy you chose La Zebra to host it. We are glad that you enjoyed the meals from the restaurant and that we ensured you your wedding was completely memorable and everything you could have hoped for. We wish you all the best,

Hotel La Zebra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Love! Love! Love! this place... It is one of the best places to go and do absolutely nothing if this is what you choose to do or not do :) The best place to recharge your mind and body. The best therapy for all the hustle and bustle of city life in the states.
This was my second trip back to La Zebra. I had traveled the same time last year and had to return again this year. Tulum itself is a secret hideaway from civilization and La Zebra just adds to the peace and tranquility. I stayed in a beach front cabana and words cannot do justice to the beautiful view of the ocean, the sunrise, and the sunset. The cabana was always cleaned and never a lack for anything. The service was impeccable and there was always service with a smile from all of the staff.
I had a little mishap at the airport where my baggage was delayed and all the wonderful people at the concierge desk were more than accommodating. All the ladies Chabaly, Miriam, and Grace were extremely helpful and understanding. Grace went out of her way to make my stay as relaxing and pleasurable as possible. Grace and all the staff made me feel at home away from home. All of the staff knew my name and some even remembered me from the year before...
The food was excellent and always fresh. It took a while to prepare at times just for that reason. My only complaint was that there was too many noisy kids. This is a beach vacation kind of place. It has minimal to nothing for kids to do on the immediate property.
Overall I must say it is simply beautiful and words cannot do La Zebra nor the beaches of Tulum justice. It is absolute paradise! Thank you to all for a wonderful stay. Susan :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenGem07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so happy that you love, love, love our place. We are thrilled that you were able to relax away from the bustle and bustle in the city life and that you chose to return to La Zebra to do so. Thank you of mentioning our wonderful staff, as without them, La Zebra would not be what it is and we are are glad you thought the food was excellent.We look forward to seeing you again soon.

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked La Zebra for our wedding having never been to Tulum before. We communicated with Lina our La Zebra supplied wedding coordinator from the UK via Email. So when we left for Tulum and to get married with all our friends and family we were a little nervous. However we shouldnt have been. Everything about La Zebra was outstanding. The staff and Lina our coordinator were fabulous for the whole week. We were on first name terms with everyone and they made all of our guests feel so welcome. The restaurant serves beautiful food, we were particularly taken with the Ceviche Bar (tuna chino was our favourite), and the drinks were awesome. The rooms were always clean and ours was right on the beach. It was lovely hearing the waves crash as you fell asleep.
La Zebra, from our strolls down the beach has by far the best set up for weddings with the dance floor right on the beach and they closed up for us on the day. Every single one of our 50 guests was amazed by La Zebra, the set up and the staff and how perfectly our wedding day turned out. The beach infront of La Zebra is the nicest part, close enough to the more northern restuarants but far enough south to be quiet and post card perfect. If you ever get bored of the beautiful food at La Zebra, its so close to the excellent Hartwood and Casa Banana that you have lots of options. La Zebra itself is fantastic but the staff really made our stay and big day so special. Thank you to everyone for giving us and our guests such an awesome week.
Danielle + Joe

Room Tip: Beach front or beach side rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

It was great to have your lovely wedding here with us, we were honored to been a part of such an important event. Congratulations on your beautil wedding and the best of luck in your new married life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
479 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 101 in Tulum
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 101 in Tulum
316 reviews
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#22 of 101 in Tulum
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel

Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#4 Family Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £390 - £920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and beach-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing