We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luv Tulum(Tulum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Palmas Maya(Tulum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,138)
Filter reviews
1,138 results
Traveller rating
883
190
29
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
190
29
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalsa nightbalcony suitesalsa partyplunge poolsalsa dancingbeautiful beachbeach sidecevichebeach bedsbeach bagtulum beachsister hotelpalm treesamazing hotelthe entire staffbeach barlaid back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 1,138 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We have always loved Le Zebra's bungalows, beach, restaurant and location. We stayed in the Master Suite this time. The front bedroom is adjacent to the outdoor tub and the rear bedroom has a shower and bathroom . We really enjoyed the beachfront location and closeness to the restaurant ( here u find wifi, a cell signal and great food ). Everyone working in the restaurant is great and give excellent service. The food and service are so consistent we didn't even consider eating off premises this trip. The newly hired and awesome concierge arranged for a trip to Coba with a guide and in room massages . We look forward to coming back soon.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

It was lovely having you with us , thank you again for making us a part of your holiday. We are so happy to hear you want to come back, we cant wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just spent one week at La Zebra in Tulum, Mexico. We are a family of five and we stayed in the master suite. As soon as we entered the hotel we knew it was a very special place. The bar and restaurant area was part of a beautiful wooden structure with different level decking leading out to the white sands, turquoise sea, fabulous sunshine, palm trees and paradise. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. The restaurant served delicious food and amazing margaritas! The Salsa party on Sunday night was so much fun, we danced all night. Lots of things to do and see locally, great shops and restaurants. Want to go back ASAP!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FEAsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we really loved hearing how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We also enjoyed having you with us and would love to have you back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is our first time staying in Tulum. We have been to Cancun and Playa del Carmen several times. We went for our 10th wedding anniversary. I wanted a more rustic and back to nature place inside of an all inclusive type of hotel. First things first, please be aware no TV, phone or air conditioning in the cabanas. Instead you get wonderful breezes, sunsets, sunrises, and uninterrupted time to connect with your partner. The beaches are just
gorgeous in Tulum. We stayed in cabana# 2 and the sounds of waves were intense and hypnotic. We had to switch to cabana #6 (due to a late booking on our part) and would strongly recommend cabanas 1,2 or 3 as the best. The cabanas were wonderful, the beds comfortable and the bathroom very unique. The water was from the cenotes, the water did make my skin and hair very soft. You can not brush your teeth with this water, but they provide bottled water. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only issue for me is that I wish they had some air conditioning at night, it can get extremely hot at night during May-August. I was told the best time was November-February, if you are sensitive to the heat and humidity it would be more comfortable. My husband had an issue with the bathroom policy of not flushing toilet paper, I would recommend litter baskets with lids to contain any visual signs and/or odors. They do have 24 hour electricity and security guards they also have many cabs available.I hope to return again,it was a very restful and relaxing vacation. We loved it!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joce28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi,

First of all thank you so much for choosing La Zebra to spend you 10 year anniversary - congratulations. It is great to here that you adapted well to the Tulum lifestyle, because as you know it is a very different experience to the Cancun/resort style. We are happy to know that overall you had a very restful and relaxing vacation. We hope you return as well,

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Zebra for 4 nights of our honeymoon. We arrived after 5 nights in Cancun and I have to say that La Zebra was the everything we wanted for our honeymoon (especially after our experience in Cancun). The service was AMAZING from the start. When we walked to the front desk to check in the staff were so friendly and welcoming and we were offered a complimentary drink immediately. The classic margarita is perfect - just the right amounts of everything. I think I only had margaritas the entire time we were there. After checking in the concierge walked us to our jungle cabana - which was so cute! She gave us plenty of information about La Zebra & the amenities, explained how to open the door, how to use the safe and gave us the option to have coffee delivered to our room in the morning. We said yes to the coffee and it was really so nice to wake up in the morning and have a pot of coffee waiting outside our door. It was amazing service!!

The bed was comfortable and had mosquito nets to use at night. The room also came with a complimentary flask of tequila! Loved the little pool that was shared with only the other two cabanas, it was perfect for a dip in the evening. The toiletries are all organic and smell amazing! The complementary organic bug repellent was great too, we used an entire bottle!

We spent most of our time in the lounge chairs on the beach, and ate all meals except for one (went to check out Hartwood one night, its walking distance) at the restaurant and the food was delicious! Loved all the salsas that were provided and tried quite a few different items over the 4 days we were at La Zebra. The La Zebra ceviche and the squash blossom quesadilla were my two favorites! Our last night we were given a complimentary bottle of champagne and dessert as it was our honeymoon.

We had a few great conversations with Grace, who was the sweetest person we met on our whole trip! She made us feel so comfortable and taken care of. Fernando was also great, as were the rest of the staff we had interactions with. Really, EVERYONE was so nice and helpful!

We will definitely be back at La Zebra someday!!

Room Tip: Jungle side is more humid, but you get a pool that is only shared with the 3 jungle cabanas!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emmccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi,

Thank you for choosing La Zebra to celebrate your honeymoon and once gain, congratulations on the wedding. We are happy to hear that you had an amazing time and service and that you enjoyed our morning coffee baskets. Grace and Fernando, as well as the rest of the team send their wishes and we all hope to see you again in the future. Until next time, with margaritas in hand....


Hotel La Zebra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

La Zebra exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the balcony suite, though all of the bungalows we saw looked gorgeous. I think you really can't go wrong with picking a room at this place. The design details are beautiful, not just in the rooms, but everywhere in the resort. It is beautifully laid out and decorated as well as comfortable. I thought their website photos looked great, but the whole resort and our room in particular was actually even lovelier in person than the photos made it look. The Ocean is wavy here, not glass-smooth as it is on some Caribbean beaches, though the water is surprisingly clear for being so wavy. The waves are small and there were no dangerous currents near La Zebra, so our daughter and many other kids played in the water safely and had a great time. I was unaware before our visit that Tulum has a near-constant breeze coming off of the water, so that whenever you're lounging on one of La Zebra's comfy beach chairs or having a meal at one of the pretty painted tables, you have a soft breeze blowing over you the whole time - never cold, just refreshing. Just leave the beach and go into town and you'll see how different the climate feels without that breeze.
Everything we ate at La Zebra was delicious, and everyone on the staff was incredibly nice and helpful at all times. In our big, comfy bed and with the room's sliding doors open, we could feel that beautiful beach breeze all night while hearing the sound of the ocean. I don't think I've ever slept so well anywhere, including here at home. I walked up the beach to check out other hotels, and while many were nice, none were better than La Zebra. This is the place we'll choose again if we're lucky enough to return to Tulum.

Room Tip: The Balcony suite is absolutely lovely, and we enjoyed having a close-up view of the festivities below our balcony on Salsa night. If you don't plan to join the party, you should be aware that on that particular night there will be dance music playing beneath your window until rather late. Didn't bother us at all - we were so exhausted and our bed was so comfortable that we went right to sleep anyway, but if you are a light sleeper or have a baby with you this is something you should be aware of, and in that case it might not be the room for you (at least not on a Sunday night).
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Catherine,

Thank you so much for writing this lovely review. We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations here at La Zebra. It is nice to see that you appreciated the artistic details of La Zebra such as the tables and good to hear that the food was delicious. You are always welcome here at La Zebra and we look forward to welcoming you back.

La Zebra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews