We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Me gusta La Zebra (The Zebra is The Bomb)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Me gusta La Zebra (The Zebra is The Bomb)”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recently stayed at La Zebra for 5 nights and can't say enough about this place. The beach and water in Tulum are amazing, with soft sand and warm ocean water. The waves are entirely manageable without being flat, sufficient for body surfing. The location in Tulum is great, walkable to many other restaurants, the only bar in the area and the fantastic Mayan Clay massage spot down the road.

The rooms were clean and spacious, with a great shower and daily coffee delivered to your doorstep. The food and drinks (and the view) were great. I think the restaurant had my favorite food of all of the area restaurants we tried - the ceviche bar was almost as great as the lobster burrito. I found the staff incredibly helpful and they made a bunch of great suggestions about places to visit on our one day we left the beach to go exploring inland to Coba and Valladolid.

There were many families and couples there that all seemed to be having a great time. It is a very romantic spot as well as exceedingly safe and isolated from even the town of Tulum for families to let their kids run around. I went with a couple of old friends and we also had fun bumming around and generally drinking too much and enjoying doing nothing. If you have to, there is wifi in the restaurant and beach, ideal for streaming music, posting pictures of sunsets and whatnot.

I really had a nice time and was glad I stayed at La Zebra.

Room Tip: The rooms nearer the water seemed to catch more of an ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi Russel,

Muchas Gracias for the review and showing your support. I am glad you were able to enjoy the beach and sea here at La Zebra as well as the many other activities to participate in the area. I am very happy to hear that your room was clean and spacious. Also thanks foe mentioning that La Zebra is a space suitable for both couples and families as these demographics often clash, which is what makes La Zebra so special is that it is perfect for both!

We hope all is well and until next time,


Nicolas Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    181
    27
    18
    14
See reviews for
243
455
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is just that good that from the moment we left last year, we couldn't wait to return! We wanted to return to the natural beauty, unplug and relax. Having a 3 year old, I wanted to make sure that we stayed on the beach side so that our son could play with his beach toys in the sand(right outside our room) , and we could enjoy the hammock, and our room. While we spent the majority of our time at the beach, and in the water, it was wonderful to also come back to the room, and enjoy relaxing there. La Zebra added refrigerators to the rooms, and this was very helpful for our constantly hungry son, and having refreshing drinks to enjoy. We rented one of their beach side cabanas- 2 doubles, and the extra large room was perfect our son in the afternoons, after hours of being in the water, and he wanted to be inside. They also included biodegradable insect repellent which was very important for our son, and my husband to be comfortable. The concierge Chabely and Grace were so wonderful, and offered my son a gift of a dump truck and other sand toys. They knew how to steal his heart! They made us feel wonderful every time we interacted with them, and our son felt like a star. If you go during the early part of July, you must enjoy the heat. It is extremely hot and humid, but we enjoyed being in the Caribbean, the natural water pool, or venturing off to visit a local cenote or one of the many lakes. La Zebra is very family oriented, there is a swing, a climbing structure and a monkey bars all overlooking the beach next to the restaurant. The open style restaurant with the most amazing shrimp tacos, mojitos, guacamole, and latin groove music allowed us to chill out and enjoy our food, while watching and being close to our son who preferred to be active. We enjoyed the live salsa band on Sunday, and enjoyed looking for new nests of turtle eggs on the beach each day. Tulum's emphasis on slow and quiet was a perfect match for what we were looking for. I did hear that they are planning on putting in air conditioning, and there are other upgrades that will happen in the near future. I enjoyed roughing it a little, and having no TV, no phone in the room,barely any internet in the rooms, and only ceiling fans but I realize that this might not be everyone's idea of paradise. I took a recording of the tropical birds that you hear while on the property, and enjoy reliving the relaxing magic that is La Zebra Hotel! Thank you to Miriam, Nick, Chabely, Grace, Santiago, Alejandro, and all the people who work at La Zebra for making our stay so unforgettable.

Room Tip: Stay on the beach side if you can, it's simply magical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnzosMom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi,

thank you so much for writing this review, we truly appreciate your consistent support of La Zebra. We are so happy that you guys had nice and relaxing time allowing your adorable little Enzo to run around and play. It was a pleasure to host you again and truly to hope to see you guys again.

Best wishes,

Nicolas Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

La zebra was an awesome choice for our honeymoon. I loved the bed with the full size fan right above us and the mosquito netting around it. It was perfect for the warm nights. Grace was an excellent host and most everyone working there was really friendly. Our laundry got lost but turned up in the nick of time and we weren't charged for it. Tortilla soup is too die for here! Overall a really nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darbarinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi,

First of all we would like to congratulate you on wedding one more time and thank you so much for choosing to celebrate it with us at La Zebra. Apologies for the close call on laundry and it won't happen again. So glad you enjoyed our service and restaurant. We hope to see you again soon,

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely few days at la zebra, the location and staff are excellent. Stayed in a jungle room but found this really hot, but the staff kindly provided fans, and then moved us to a beachside room, this was less hot and again the fans did help. If u plan on staying here try to request a beachfront room as the breeze at night certainly helps u sleep. The reception staff were extremely helpful and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We are there a few times too and had lovely meals every time. Bar staff really lovely too! X

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi Caroline,

Thank for your support and for writing this review. Thanks of letting us know about your experience and we are happy to know we could help despite the hot days we received. The team is happy to know they gave great service and food. We are glad to know we helped with the room change since there was availability. We hope all is well and see you next time,

Hotel La Zebra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ahau Tulum and really loved that experience, so it was tough (I use that term loosely) to move to another hotel when Ahau was booked.

We were last minute coming in from Merida and needed a place to crash in Tulum, and fortunately there was one room left on a fantastic discount but on the jungle side.

We sucked it up and headed over a bit disappointed to be jungle side but happy to be back in Tulum. While the food was phenomenal - particularly the beer batter shrimp tacos - the bed was hard as a rock and the the ceiling fans were pathetically small.

The wait staff needs some serious management - took way too long to get service, they often messed up our order and generally gave off a distant vibe - but once the food arrived it made up for the disorganized service.

The beach is stunning and the World Cup vibe at the time was super friendly without ruining the charm of the place.

Sunday evenings a really great salsa band plays on the beach and locals along with holidayers come out to dance and join the fun. Might sound a little more than you'd expect in Tulum but it was really the perfect way to spend a Sunday night. The locals are incredible dancers and it's clear that everyone is welcome.

While we prefer Ahau for its beach side palapas, we would definitely stop La Zebra for the food and Salsa. If beachside doesn't matter to you I would definitely have a go at La Zebra and be sure to stay on Sunday night.

Room Tip: Sundays are Salsa night - even if you're in town for total relaxation it's a great experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Jason,

Thanks for your review and it is great to here than overall you had a good time with us at La Zebra. The World Cup games filled the restaurant and had a great atmosphere, however, we are sorry to hear that the service you received was not what we strive for here at La Zebra. We are sorry our Jungle-side rooms weren't what you were looking for and thank you for informing us about the mattress. We look forward to welcoming you back to La Zebra in the future.

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

well.... since we arrived there.. everything worked out perfectly OK !!!

we went to tulum to a wedding.... and we stayed at LA ZEBRA for 10 nights !!!!!
all in the staff were very friendly and helpful.... they would even make us our latte coffee on the beach with lovely designs.... including the name ''messi'' just before the final of the world cup.......

it has a nice restaurant and a full bar.... right on the beach !!! on sundays... there are free salsa dancing lessons and then... salsa party !!!!

thanks to chabely and to grace.. and to all the others that helped us spend an unforgettable vacation in paradise !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was great to have you here and get to know you during your stay. We enjoyed the energy you brought to the World Cup games, which all turned out to be a lot of fun. It is good to know you enjoyed our coffee, the restaurant and of course our famous Salsa Night. We wish you all the best in Argentina and hope you had safe travels. Until next time,

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We have always loved Le Zebra's bungalows, beach, restaurant and location. We stayed in the Master Suite this time. The front bedroom is adjacent to the outdoor tub and the rear bedroom has a shower and bathroom . We really enjoyed the beachfront location and closeness to the restaurant ( here u find wifi, a cell signal and great food ). Everyone working in the restaurant is great and give excellent service. The food and service are so consistent we didn't even consider eating off premises this trip. The newly hired and awesome concierge arranged for a trip to Coba with a guide and in room massages . We look forward to coming back soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shanehoustonlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
It was lovely having you with us , thank you again for making us a part of your holiday. We are so happy to hear you want to come back, we cant wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#4 Family Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and beach-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing