We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luv Tulum(Tulum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanara Tulum(Tulum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Palmas Maya(Tulum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,138)
Filter reviews
1,138 results
Traveller rating
883
190
29
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
190
29
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalsa nightbalcony suitesalsa partyplunge poolsalsa dancingbeautiful beachbeach sidecevichebeach bedsbeach bagtulum beachsister hotelpalm treesamazing hotelthe entire staffbeach barlaid back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 1,138 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you are like me, TripAdvisor is both a blessing and a curse. Blessing because you get to learn a lot about different properties but a curse because too much information makes you indecisive. I'll make it easy for you: if you are going to Tulum and want to stay at a hotel with a great staff, on a beautiful stretch of beach, with excellent food and cool vibe, stop looking and book a cabana at La Zebra.

PROS
- Good staff: Grace and the rest of the staff were kind and helpful. They made good recommendations of places to visit or eat. They welcomed us with free cocktails on our arrival.
- Attention to small details: fresh flowers in your room each day, a complimentary small bottle of tequila, and clever integration of art throughout the property.
- Food: good cocktails; fresh fish, fruit and vegetables; generous portions; authentic Mexican food with selection of fresh salsas at each meal.
- Salsa lessons and dancing on Sunday was fun.

CONS
- We knew this going in but underestimated the heat and humidity. It is hot in August! Had Grace not found us an extra fan for our room, our stay would have been much different. Unless you got the one or two rooms with windows that open to the beach, I'm not sure the location of your room mattered. Once you stepped back from the water, it was hot no matter where you were. It would be much improved if all rooms had additional floor fans.
- Tips can only be made in cash and can't be added when signing for the bill (either at the end of a meal or the end of your stay).

MATTERS OF PREFERENCE:
- If staying across the street in the jungle-side cabanas, the noise from the road can be loud throughout the night. It did not disrupt our sleep. However, if you are looking to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean and wake up to birds chirping, stay on the ocean side.

Room Tip: Jungle cabanas are beautiful, secluded, and have an exclusive pool, but are very humid and stuffy in the summer. Ask for a floor fan at the front desk.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your honesty in this review and for being very constructive. We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly loved your stagy with us. thanks for mentioning our wonderful staff, great food and the salsa party as these are an important part of La Zebra. We appreciate your feedback on the rooms being hot. We have received numerous comments about this and I would like to let everyone know that we have listened! We will a new line of rooms with a/c before the busy season, so keep tuned! See you next time,

Nicolas Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here start august in a jungle cabana. I was initially concerned that there was no Ac & lack of seabreeze would make it difficult to sleep, however, it was fine. Room was great, and I LOVED the organic complimentary toiletries! No wifi in the rooms but wifi in the restaurant and on the beach. Reception staff were AMAZING!! So accommodating and welcoming. La zebra restaurant was delicious, and salsa dancing night was great! Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Melbarry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you for writing your kind words about La Zebra. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the rooms and organic toiletries. We are happy to hear that you you thought our food was delicious and yes, our reception staff are amazing...It was a pleasure to have had you here and we do look forward to the next visit.

Nicolas Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stumbled upon this place last year and it was amazing, everything about, location, food, service, rooms, everything. This year I chose it to spend my birthday with friends. Our room was great, it was the upstairs unit over the sea, but most of the time we didn't have water. We thought maybe it was just a time of day issue, so we overlooked it the first time, but the next day, nothing at all. they attempted to fix it but in the middle of a shower my daughter had to go to our friends cabana to get the shampoo out of her hair after it went out again.
The location is great, the beach is spectacular, the salsa night is fun, the food I have always enjoyed, the servers are pleasant but the service was extremely slow for some reason.
I will try it again, after they get air conditioning in all the rooms, .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonetropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you for sharing your experience of La Zebra. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday, the rooms, the salsa party and the food. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the water. During your stay the water pump began to fail, however we have since replaced it and it is working fine. We would like to ensure that your next visit will repair any damage done with your previous. Look forward to your return,

Nicolas Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at La Zebra for 4 nights back in November 2013.

The hotel is located just by the main (only?) road in Tulum, literally on the beach. Driving from Playa del Carmen, it wasn't too difficult to find it as the directions were very clear. There's a parking, which was always half-empty so finding a spot wasn't a problem. We stayed in a beach-side cabana, which was an excellent choice as it was on the beach but also slightly hidden from the wind. Our cabana was big enough and had all the necessary amenities. Bear in mind that you don't go to a place like this to stay in your room and watch the tv. The hotel is on the edge of the hotel zone, so if you walk ~15mins down the beach, you end up in a secluded area.

The restaurant is really, really good. I saw many people coming from other hotels to have a meal at La Zebra. The menu is big enough not to get boring during a 4-5 days stay. The manager would sometimes join our table for a couple of minutes to make sure everything was fine, which was a nice touch.

Overall, strongly recommended. Can't think of anything I could complain about.

Room Tip: We stayed in a beach-side cabana and it was literally on the beach. I can't imagine a beach-front cabana to be a good value since it simply can't offer much more. Beach-side won't disappoint you.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WojciechWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi,

We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was simply fantastic. It is always good to know that: the directions we give are easy to follow, the cabanas were what you were looking for and that you had real really good meals that the restaurant. Thank you for sharing your experience with us at La Zebra and we are looking forward to seeing you next time,


Nicolas Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I have been in the restaurant to have dinner during my stay in Tulum. The location is really amazing: you eat with you feet in the sand right in front of the sea. The atmosphere is really nice and the staff is pleasant and polite. I suggest to have dinner here!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank F1L00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi,

We at La Zebra are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us. It is part of the La Zebra experience is to eat with your feet in the sand and chat with our friendly staff. Thank you for commenting and hope to see you back again!

Nicolas Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews