We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
US$616
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azulik(Tulum)
US$651
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$763
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$726
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$455
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
898
190
30
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
190
30
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalsa nightbalcony suitesalsa partyplunge poolsalsa dancingbeautiful beachbeach sidecevichebeach bedsbeach bagtulum beachsister hotelpalm treesamazing hotelthe entire staffbeach barlaid back
Filter
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This quaint boutique resort has 19 individual cabanas that are all very clean and charming inside. We stayed in one that was not oceanside, but has a small lap pool outside the door. While we could not hear the ocean at night, it was still comfortable, and we could walk two minutes to the beach and restaurant. The beach is indescribably beautiful, shallow waters out for a long way, and aquamarine blue. The resort has a fabulous restaurant, open palapas, a great bar, and salsa night every Sunday. That was a blast! I would stay here again and again, and in fact, we met people who do just that for their anniversary every year. It is a very low key place to relax and rejuvenate, and the staff is great. Also, the best guacamole I've ever had!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgltrxfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

The beach and the staff are the two biggest highlights to La Zebra. The beach is as close to perfect as you can find--quiet, beautiful sand, gentle waves and the color of the water is picture perfect. For laying on the beach, tasty meals, and attentive staff, this is a great place to go.

The rooms were comfortable...but remember the advice on the website "cooler seasons are best" since there is only the ocean breeze to cool you at night. In the jungle rooms where I stayed, it was a bit warm a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My husband and I traveled with a group of friends to La Zebra. What a great place! The laid back vibe of La Zebra made us immediately drop thoughts of hectic lives back home. We did have a bit of a room issue as we had booked a cabana and there was a little mix up for one night. They immediately placed us in the jungle suite and gave us a discount for the trouble. I could have been upset that we were not on the beach as we had booked, but the jungle suite allowed us to experience something we otherwise would not have. It really was quite magical. If you are deciding whether to stay on the jungle or beach side, I say you can't go wrong with either. We were moved to our cabana the very next day and it was so charming with the mosquito netting and stone bathroom. I called the place rustic - not as in rustic in a bad way, but rustic as in a very tropical, get away from way too many modern things and just enjoy the simple and extraordinary beauties of the area sort of way.
The staff at La Zebra was incredibly accommodating. Lena handles the kitchen and the food with so much care and everything we ate was amazing. The bar service was great. Mojitos with fresh sugar cane which they make fresh every day. If you ask, they will even let you press the sugar cane in the morning. It's quite a work out.
The beach is gorgeous and expansive. There were plenty of places to sit. You will definitely want to bring some bug spray with you. This is not the type of resort that goes around exterminating the jungle every night as with the larger all inclusives. There are plenty of places to purchase bug spray, but bring your own for the convenience.
Don't miss Sunday salsa night. Great fun and dancing. And have the front desk book a massage for you out under the palapa. There is nothing than listening to the waves and wind through the palms as you have a massage.
I can not wait to return. You always know a vacation has been good when you can't wait to go back and experience it again!
La Zebra is INCREDIBLE!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

This place is simply paradise - the beach is beautiful white sand that slides between your toes right at your cabana door, the ocean is clear blue Carribean at its best, the food is delicious and prepared fresh daily, the staff is amazing and attend to your very need and there is abolsutely no detail left missing... This hotel really meets the definition of boutique. La Zebra is also very low impact, with no Cancun style concrete jungle or all inclusive crowds. I would recommend this place without any hesitation, you definitely need to check it out! You will also love Tulum, it is a part of Mexico that remains unspoiled by crowds and big developers!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTravelerDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Stayed 6 days in late Sep 09. Only left the each once. Loved everything about La Zebra - great food, wonderful staff, wonderful beachfront cabanas. Could not recommend more highly!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews