We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience! Highly Recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
Ranked #48 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing Experience! Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had an amazing experience at BBC! I highly recommend it for those in search of a healthy, rejuvenating vacation! The beach is gorgeous, the exercise classes are fabulous, the excursions are fun, and the people are incredible! I made many wonderful new friends. Note that it is on the beach in Mexico with a breeze but no ac - the rooms are in cute palapa buildings, it's not the 4 Seasons and it's not supposed to be. There are some good spa services available. The food is healthy and delicious at BCC and Hartwood restaurant down the road is incredible!

Room Tip: Pick a room with an ocean view for a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    90
    30
    28
    30
See reviews for
36
52
112
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just returned from an incredible week at Amansala. This was a mother/daughter getaway trip to celebrate her 18th bday and high school graduation, and do a personal "reset" before my 50th. We work out a lot together and have done the Bikini Bootcamp book/diet at home a couple of times, so that had a lot to do with our decision to go to Amansala. The accommodations, food and classes were wonderful. Excursions were great too. But the biggest surprise for me was being with a group of active, smart, interesting women from around the world. I can honestly say I did not go looking for this kind of connection -- I probably would have said I wanted more alone time on this trip -- but I left Amansala having made unexpected new friends. What a gift. I look forward to returning!

Room Tip: All rooms are open. Request a fan from the front desk to increase air flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnneAshbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a disappointment! There was nothing "eco" or "chic" about this place. The rooms were shabby and run down. I was told to "leave the towels and linens on the floor" if I wanted them replaced. The dirty towels were taken away but never replaced and the sweaty linens were just put back on the beds. There was no scheduling, the workouts were poorly planned, the food was left over, and the management was rude. While the spa providers were very good, the actual "spa" was just a room with a curtain door and no other spa amenities. I left this place exhausted, dehydrated and in a need of a vacation.

Room Tip: There is no good room but the ocean front rooms are better than those in the back of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank mcp m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I'm not a work-out-for-vacation type of person but I went to Bikini Bootcamp for a girlfriend's 40th birthday and I've changed my mind. I had such a great time. I was able to combine just the right amount of activity and R&R for me, and the lack of docking stations at ever turn provided a welcome respite from sending emails and allowed me to actually spend time having conversations with girlfriends face to face vs via text. It felt just as good as the 7am run/walks on the beach. I highly recommend going and going with friends. You wont regret it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lissette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I just returned from BBC and it was an amazing experience. It was a truly special week filled with self reflection, wonderful food, great exercise, adventurous excursions and a fabulous spa. The hotel has amazing staff, spacious eco-chic rooms with wonderful views and direct beach access. I can’t wait to return. I travel all the time for work and pleasure—this experience is a must do. It is a life changing adventure not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I had read many articles about Tulum and mentions about Amansala so decided to book with my friend. WE LOVED it but a few things to alert people to (things I learned and gleaned from others):
1.) No air conditioning anywhere so be prepared - it's hot, especially in the summer.
2.) if you are working out in the heat, take an exercise water bottle from home and your favorite tube of electrolyte tablets. Your circuit workouts will be hot and you will pour with sweat. This makes it tough in the heat and maintaining your electrolytes is key.
3.) if you find it tough to sleep in the heat, ask for rooms 2, 3 or 4 (ocean front) - GREAT wind through your windows and doors. If they are booked, then request an extra fan in your room. 1 fan per person, you'll needed it. I had both types of rooms. Ocean front is definitely better and worth the extra price but I was able to make due with an extra fan in my room for a garden room.
4.) their food is OUTSTANDING so healthy and good portions, you won't starve unlike some camps.
5.) bring LOTS of exercise clothes and biodegradable laundry soap (like Ecos) for quick sink washes. You will pour with sweat so be prepared to change your clothes often. I thought I had packed too many sports things and actually ran out!
6.) Sarong was very handy to have - bring it if you have one.
7.) Deet - bring it for mosquitos + high factor for the sun. I wore factor 50 and still came home with a healthy tan.
8.) Don't bring any fancy clothes or jewelry - you won't wear it.
9.) Its a casual place but SUPERB if you ask Melissa or Darlene for some additional help or change. You gotta know going in - this is not the Four Seasons. It's casual, relaxed and super helpful people but they won't swarm you. If you ask for something, I found them extremely responsive and nice, super helpful.
10.) the instructors were AMAZING - we had Jeff, Adele, Darlene who were FANTASTIC. I loved our workouts, learned a lot!
all in all, I'd go back in a heartbeat - especially knowing what I know now. I loved it!

Room Tip: room 2,3,4 for fantastic ocean breezes (strong)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chakra123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It takes a really special kind of personality to come all the way out to Mexico on a retreat and want to exercise and eat healthy for a week, and those personalities are just the ones you will find at Amansala. This was such an incredible and special trip. I went with my mom, and we weren't entirely sure what to expect, but having done the bikini bootcamp diet at home before, we were really looking forward to it. In our minds we envisioned relaxing on the beach, hanging out, maybe exercising here and there, but it surpassed our expectations in so many ways.
The staff are all so sweet and incredible, and they are there to help as much as they can. Our days were all packed full, with an easy to follow schedule and so many fun activities! The workouts are all optional, no one is going to force you to go to kickboxing if you would rather walk or just lay on the beach. This trip is about getting what YOU want to get out of it. It's so incredibly detoxifying and rejuvenating, and you will feel so inspired by your journey.
There are ups and downs to the trip, sure, just like with any other vacation, but none of the 'downs' would keep me from going back. It's so, so beautiful and healing, and the trainers are all so incredible, that you won't want to miss any of the exercises!
This trip is not a 5 star hotel in Malibu. It is ECO chic, so, it can be seen as 'rustic' or 'run down,' but in reality, it's so adorable, and the cleaning people are in your room taking care of everything for you everyday. So, keep an open mind, because I've never before experienced such a powerful and special place. It's perfect for reconnecting with a best friend, getting time with a close family member, or even just getting away from the rest of the world for some good old 'me' time!
All the people I met were so special, and they all hold an extremely big place in my heart. Everyone was so strong, and you could see people's glow as we left our trip (just this morning, actually!)
I just got home from a week at Amansala about 2 hours ago, and I wouldn't trade my trip for the world. The time I spent reconnecting with my mom, and discovering just how strong I can be, meant the world to me.
This trip is not for the weak of spirit. It's what YOU make out of it. And if you give it a chance, it can change your life.

I will go back in a heartbeat. Worth every cent and more.

Oh, and P.S. the whole 'no lock on the rooms' thing, is SO not an issue. Most people leave their doors open all day, and there's never an issue. There's also a safe for your valuables.

P.S.S. Bring PLENTY of workout clothes. You WILL sweat. It's hot. (Awesome detox!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 95 in Tulum
294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#51 of 95 in Tulum
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#24 of 95 in Tulum
569 reviews
1.7 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
0.3 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat

Property: Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
Address: km 5.5 Boca Paila, Tulum 77788, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#19 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansala is a beautiful boutique resort located right on the white sandy beaches of Tulum. Bikini Bootcamp takes place almost weekly which is a tune up for the mind, body and spirit. Days start with a power walk on the beach, and include yoga, fantastic fitness classes, tours to see the highlights of the area, healthy natural food, massages, and much more. A perfect place to come on ones own or with a friend for anyone seeking a holiday with a purpose with a good blend of being active but still having time to relax on the beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansala Bikini Bootcamp Hotel Tulum
Amansala Hotel Tulum
Amansala Resort Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing