We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap hostel, nice flair” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel and Hostal El Punto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel and Hostal El Punto
Ranked #32 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap hostel, nice flair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had six beds in the female dorm. It was alright but one shower is simlpy not enough for eight beds and the lockers wouldnt have been enough either if we hadnt shared. Fortunately there were mosquito nets for every bed. The owner was not unfriendly, but he wasnt friendly or warm either. The location is quite good though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    52
    15
    16
    23
See reviews for
20
58
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights in the girls dorm and couldn't be happier with our experience. The dudes who run this place are super chill and play great music. The place is clean, there are places to lock up your valuables, the kitchen is a great touch (for penny pinchers) the beds are comfortable, and Manuella (the dog) holds down the fort with all her cuteness.

It's pretty far from the beach but the 30 minute bike ride (free bikes!) to and from was one of my favourite things about staying here. It's a 10 minute walk into town and there's a grocery store across the street.

Oh, and the biggest perk is that it's VERY affordable.

I'd recommend this place in a heartbeat and would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lessiedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

First off, the gentlemen - Julio and Carlos- who manage the establishment are ultra laid-back and cool. El Punto is located very near (.5 km) to the main highway in Tulum, about 1km from the center of town and about 2 km from the nearest public beach. If you want the luxury resort, right-on-the-beach experience, look elsewhere and prepare to pay for it. El Punto offers simple, spacious rooms with air conditioning, running water (which fluctuates in temperature depending on the time of day), private bathrooms and romantic lighting. There is a community kitchen and a big-box style grocery store is right across the street if you want to save money on dining. If you book the room online, prepare to pay for the room upon the time of checkout - not in advance as we thought we'd done. Rooms were cleaned daily but a new set of clean sheets had to be requested after the third evening of our stay as we kept returning from our excursions to find the same sheets on the bed, however tidied by the maid. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who might consider staying in a hostel but would prefer some of the niceties of a hotel. The use of free bicycles were a very nice touch. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I intended to spend 1 night here, and was a little nervous to do so as hadn't stayed in a backpackers since my early 20s (I'm 30) - I landed up staying for 3 nights and would have stayed longer (but had to move to next spot) and loved every minute. The place was a little far from the beach but bikes are provided for free (and plenty of them) and it's comfortable enough to chill in the grounds.

Room Tip: The3 bed on the landing in the girl's dorm is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. The room was simple, but spacious and comfortable. I thought it was slightly overpriced for the room, $63/night (including tax). That included breakfast (toast and coffee), A/C, and free bikes. I would have stayed in the hostel part if I was alone, it was a good price when you include the free bike. The location was a nice garden, and it was pretty ideally located I think, in between the town and the beach, so its easy to get anywhere. It was quiet at night. Definitely will remember this place if I come back to Tulum.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was a little nervous staying here after reading other reviews about being cheated, nickel and dimed, etc.
Facility: The property is a combination of hostel and hotel. The hostel part is upstairs in the main building - I did not see that part. The private rooms are all ground-floor, motel-type rooms. They are pretty dark, smell somewhat of mold, and have cracks or gaps in the walls or screens somewhere, because mosquitoes were in the room. The rooms did have AC, and nice beds. There is a kitchen for all to use, but it is outside and somewhat grubby. The outside common areas for lounging look appealing, but the mosquitoes drove me to my room. There are no inside, screened lounging areas. Wifi signal was possible in the room, if you stood by the window.
Good things: location! halfway between town and beach, with free bicycles included, it is a short ride to town and a longer (15-20 minute) ride to the nearest beach.
Staff: The one guy I saw, not Carlos, but the other one, was odd. Sometimes he would be very friendly, sometimes he would just stare at you weirdly. I did not feel completely comfortable there.
That said, on checkout the price was exactly as agreed. Pretty high, in my opinion, but maybe that is just what the market will bear in Tulum. I think $25-30 a night would be reasonable for a place like that in Mexico, but my price was $78 a night after all taxes were added!

I spent only a bit more than that for the best hotel in Valladolid a few days later. Go there instead. Tulum is more American than Mexican. Valladolid is a great Mexican small city. I was happy to escape there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I've stayed in countless hostels in my life and usually very flexible when it comes to traveling and don't care too much of the comfort as long as I have a place to sleep and my peace. But obviously El Punto was a different scenario.

When I first arrived, the staff didn't know which bed is available so they let me pick the one they thought nobody was sleeping on. The beds are nice, have a netting for the moskitos which really comes handy cause LOTS of moskitos inside and outside on the terrace

Next day, I had an accident with one of their bikes, and wanted to wash the clothes.They wouldn't let me use the washing machine, so I hand washed it, and put it on a chair to dry it. And then the receptionist guy, I'm not sure if he's the owner or not (old argenitinan) starts SCREAMING my name from downstairs in the middle of the night, cause I put my clothes on a chair and it was dripping. He wanted me to put it outside (on the rain).Haha crazy

Next day I was ready to check out& leave , when suddenly I couldn't find my shoes I came there with!! Apparently the cleaning lady ''put'' them somewhere. The other receptionist guy was nice and actually felt bad and tried to reach her but then told me they are ''not responsible'' for personal belongings. Then when I came back to ask again if they reached the lady, or found my shoes, the older guy completely ignored me and didn't want to give me an answer.

The hostel/hotel has no atmosphere, is not a really good spot for socializing. People that stay there are up-tight hippies that sit around all day with their books and avoid eye contact.

The only good things about this hostel-Is cheap and there are free bikes.But honestly, you can get bikes for 6 dollars/day in any bike rental in Tulum. This hostel/hotel is so not worth it, if you wanna have your peace of mind, avoid it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lafayette87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Review-7, Director General at Hotel and Hostal El Punto, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Google Translation
El Hostal no da servicio de lavanderia! y no se puede colgar la ropa que uno lava en la recepción!!; el hotel y el hostal El Punto no es responsable de las perdidad de las pertenencias de los huespedes, las habitaciones privadas cuentan con cajas de seguridad y en el hostal hay Lockers individuales para cada huesped!!, el no hacer uso de este servicio implica riesgos del cual la gerencia no tiene ningún tipo de responsabilidad.
Lamentamos profundamente que su estancia no halla sido de su agrado.
Saludos cordiales
Carlos E Sastre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#78 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
13.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real
#85 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#17 of 115 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 115 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Hal-Ha Tulum
Posada Hal-Ha Tulum
#68 of 115 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Hostal El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Hostal El Punto

Property: Hotel and Hostal El Punto
Address: Avenida Coba Sur y Avenida Mercurio, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel and Hostal El Punto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exelent Hotel and Hostel for exelent prices! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel and Hostal El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing