We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambiance! Perfect beach and luxurious locale.”
Review of TulumBay Eco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TulumBay Eco Beach
Ranked #95 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We loved this place. It was extremely relaxing and luxurious. The beach at this hotel is beautiful and nice for swimming. The restaurant Memento is fantastic. Irina from the restaurant brought us drinks, breakfasts, and snacks as we hung out on the beach. The Three Tunafish Tartar, Octopus Timbale, fettuccine with shrimps and charry tomatoes, and seafood soup were all extremely good. I highly recommend the restaurant and I also highly recommend the massage. They gave the massage on the observation deck. With the sound of the ocean in the background and the breeze blowing; it was the best massage I've ever had with a mix of Thai massage and several other styles that worked just perfectly. I was hesitant to do the massage because it seemed a little expensive but afterwards I was glad I did. It would have been a serious shame to miss it. Also, we ate at the restaurant for most of our meals and we were completely glad we did.

Room Tip: The room with the king size bed was really nice but we looked at one of the rooms with two twins and...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014
Google Translation

Que alegría que pudieran disfrutar desde la comida a los masajes que ofrece el hotel .
Espero volver a verlos en nuestra hermosa bahía .
TULUM BAY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for TulumBay Eco Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a whole week at this hotel from December 15 to the 22 and loved it. The rooms with ocean view were both peaceful and romantic and every day the lady who did the cleaning left a magic work of arts using the towels! Moreover, the restaurant downstairs called MEMENTO served some of the best foods in Tulum so we both totally recommend staying at this place, which only could improve the Internet access (available only at the reception) but maybe having limited connection helped having a great stay in Tulum!

Room Tip: rooms with ocean view are more expensive but worth booking!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014
Google Translation

Todas las opiniones son importantes para nosotros.
Es muy grato para nosotros que sus estancia en nuestro pequeño hotel fuera de su agrado .
Esperamos volver a verlos prontos .
staf Tulum Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Eco Hotel. It's quite difficult to survive without hot water, anyway the beach could make you forget any bad things happened in your room. In fact that sea is magic. Next time maybe I'll change hotel but I won't change Tulum for any other place!

Room Tip: Don't take room 6.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinaVandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013
Google Translation

Lamentamos el problema con el agua , si bien lo resolvimos en el momento .
Nuestro pequeño hotel es 100% autosustentable ,en algunas oportunidades el sistema falla.
nos alegra que le gustara nuestra pequeña y romántica bahía , y esperamos nos de otra oportunidad el prox año .
gracias por sus comentarios que día a día nos permiten mejorar .
saludos desde estas cálidas tierras !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I hesitated at renting at this hotel because of the reviews, but I am adventurous and took a chance. I took the bus from Cancun to Tulum which BTW was super easy then took a cab to the hotel again very easy, it was $50 pesos. The check-in was fast and I got room #6 which has the double Queen beds and a bathroom. I walked in and it was very clean and super cute. I unpacked and checked out the rest of the hotel. Very Nice open dining/lounge area, they have hammocks and chairs in the shade then there is a walk up to another open air lounge with seating and a palapa for shade that overlooks the cliffs. Beautiful views! The beach is very cozy it is surrounded by cliffs and it is shared with two hotels. There are palapas and lounge chairs, enough for everyone. Just a note we were there during spring break and it was quiet. The crew there do keep people in check if you not a guest at one of the hotels they will ask you to move off the lounges. The sand is super soft and white. It is a bit rocky when you are closer to the seacliffs. Back on the hotel premises they have a kitchen but were in the middle of gutting and overhauling it. I am sure it will be very nice. Now for the room it is facing the road and across from Mateos bar which at night can get loud. Tulum is not know for its nightlife so it settles down between 930 at 1030. If you are like use we did not spend a lot of time in the room. We would go out to eat and come back around that time so it was no big deal for us. We napped in the hammocks or read in the lounge areas to hear and see the ocean. The hotel crew were super nice and accommodating. If I wanted a cocktail while i sat on the beach they would send someone over. They have a deal with some of the restaurants where you get 10-25% off when ordering/eating with them. BTW drinks on the beach, yum! Oh in the lounge area they kinda have a little library going, people leaving there books/magaizines. On the exchange rate whenever I have traveled internationally I always use the ATM and never go to an exchange place, best rates and I don't get swindled. I also pay online, better deals and use visa incase I need a refund. In other words use some common sense when traveling.I found this to be a great little hotel, great rates, great staff and great beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tharper70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario !!
Somos los nuevos dueños de este pequeño hotel , e intentamos día a día hacer lo mejor para nuestros clientes , nosotros leemos todas las criticas y de todas aprendemos algo .
Es real que Tulum bay esta sobre una calle con restaurantes y bares , lo que por la noche la hace encantadora ya que se pueden mover caminando , y disfrutar de los diferentes restaurantes que hacen de Tulum un lugar mágico !
Como todos los restaurantes y bares son 100 % sustentables a las 23:00 horas la música deja nuestra bahía y solo se escuchara el ruido del mar ...
gracias por su comentario y lo estaremos esperando !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

and the hotel was not helpful.

The mosquito nets are not real netting. It's more like the material of a curtain shear.

The beach is only ok here, While it is semi-private because it is bordered by cliffs on either side of their beach area, there are a large number of boulders under foot so if you are walking in the dark you might hurt yourself. The better beaches in Tulum are further south in the hotel zone.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013
Google Translation

Todos los comentarios nos hacen crecer como hotel , lamentamos la perdida de su dinero y le recuerdo que no se les cobro una noche , si bien ustedes no estaban seguros de donde lo dejaron , y no quisieron llamar a la policía .
Lamentamos que nuestro personal les pareciera antipáticos , día a día intentamos mejorar nuestra atención al cliente .
gracias por sus comentarios .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This was one of the worst hotel experiences I have had and I've had some bad ones. Their strategy is to put you in a room adjacent (5 feet) from a very busy and loud road, opposite a loud bar and when you ask to be moved, they want to charge you another $250.00 US on top of the already over priced $150.00.

The bed was like a slab of concrete, no hot water and not enough room on the toilet to sit without hitting your knees on the wall.

A horrible experience over all

Room Tip: go somewhere else
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexicotraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013
Google Translation

gracias por su opinión que nos hace crecer como hotel .
me gustaría aclarar que nuestro pequeño hotel cuenta con agua caliente las 24 horas , y si en algún momento eso no funciona se arregla de forma inmediata ya que tenemos personal de mantenimiento las 24 horas .
Nuestro pequeño hotel cuenta con categorías de habitaciones diferente , como el resto de los hoteles , no todos los cuartos pueden ser iguales ni tener la misma vista .
si usted entra en nuestra pagina , podrá ver claramente la diferencia en las habitaciones y el precio , ustedes rentaron el cuarto mas pequeño ( les recuerdo que en las fotos se ven la cantidad de metros cuadrados que tiene cada habitación ).
Los cuartos mas económicos son los que dan a la calle donde de 20:00 a 23:00 horas se puede escuchar la música de los restaurante .
GRACIAS POR SU OPINION .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Make sure to read the review entitled "unfortunate pick" and be sure to read the part about "bad exchange rate" - you must pay in dollars (if you don't come equipped with wads of dollars - use the middle and left ATMs at the HSBC bank in town). You'll pay a worse rate in pesos or a dramatically far worse rate with a credit card. We lucked into room 3, which is very pleasant with an ocean view balcony.
Our first impression was pretty rotten; the owner was offensive disparaging my Spanish, and acting as if we were idiots for not immediately grasping all the wild disparaity in price based upon payment methods. The maid has been a delight, making us laugh every day with animal-towel creations. If not for the maid, we found the place quite soul-less, but we liked the area a lot. (PS See Zamas reviews - we spent a lot of our time and food and drink budget there...)

Room Tip: 3 is a good room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013
Google Translation

Todas los comentarios son muy buenos para nosotros ,lamentamos mucho que se sintiera atacado por la forma de pago .
El hotel se puede pagar con tarjeta de crédito , o en dólares ,nosotros no manejamos el cambio , al no ser una casa de cambio.
Nos agrada saber que la limpieza de nuestro hotel le pareciera impecable , ponemos mucho énfasis en el .
gracias por su comentario .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#74 of 98 in Tulum
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#21 of 98 in Tulum
585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#57 of 98 in Tulum
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#22 of 98 in Tulum
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunich Jungle Cabanas
Tunich Jungle Cabanas
#24 of 89 in Tulum
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punta Piedra Beach Posada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TulumBay Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TulumBay Eco Beach

Address: Tulum Ruinas Boca Paila Km 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £52 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TulumBay Eco Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TULUMBAY is THE IDEAL PLACE FOR A RELAXING HOLIDAY, YOU CAN REST IN OUR PRIVATE BEACH, MISS THE SPECTACULAR VIEWS OF OUR TERRACE, ALL IN A FAMILY ATMOSPHERE Our hotel is situated directly in front the sea in an area of many kinds of restaurants and shops, 3 km from the archaeological site and a 5 km from the magical pueblo of Tulum. Decorated in a simple and friendly with local products like wood, palapa and clean cement. We are an eco-Hotel that produce electricity with wind power and solar Panel. We offer: breakfast, bottled water, fan, beach towels, private beach, solarium, relaxation area with hammocks and sofas, wi-fi, parking, 24 hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your TulumBay Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing