We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay in Tulum”
Review of TulumBay Eco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TulumBay Eco Beach
Ranked #93 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay in Tulum”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My boyfriend and I booked the TulumBay through Expedia for a vacation. We deliberately chose Tulum to avoid the all-inclusive craziness of Cancun. Tulumbay is right near the beginning of the hotel strip, so it's a quick drive in to the main town. We had free parking, and checking in was easy. The staff are very friendly and willing to help, although we often had to ask very direct questions to get information. We got a complimentary drink at the bar at Hotel Posada Punta Piedra down the street. It was a nice bar and a great drink, but the owner was very rude when we paid in American and his conversion rate was different from what was advertised at Tulumbay. Tulumbay offers 10% off at that restaurant as they are affiliated, but we didn't go back after our unpleasant experience. It was overpriced too.

We stayed in room 5, which backed onto the main road (some noise at night, but we were so tired and relaxed, it didn't really bother us.) The room was lovely; they supplied an oscillating floor fan, as well as the overhead fan. We had mosquito nets but had no problems in the room as there are screens on the windows.

It was a $100 US (or 1000 peso) deposit for the safe key and two beach towels, which we were happy to pay. We had no issues with the room or hotel amenities- other than the fact that we had read on some reviews that they served breakfast- there was no breakfast at all when we went (June 30-July 7) This was a bit disappointing as we were hoping to save some money, but in the end, we bought pastries and fruit from the lovely big supermarket in town. Our maid even brought us a little styrofoam cooler to leave our food in!

The beach is pretty, but is not a 'Cancun' beach. (If that's what you want, go to Cancun!!!) The beach is shared with two other hotels and is quite a small bay. There are large volcanic rocks on either side.The water on the beach is not the nicest for swimming- it was a bit churny and had a lot of seaweed floating in it. However, there is a beautiful lookout up on the rocks, and we had no difficulty walking 5 minutes over the rocks to the next beach where there was plenty of room for a nice swim. We never had a problem getting a hammock or beach lounger to sit on either!

Overall, we were very happy with Tulumbay and had a lovely vacation. Having a car made it easy to eat cheaply and experience the public beaches, Sian K'aan, and go into town when we felt like it. A lovely spot with great ambiance and very friendly staff. Thanks again TulumBay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    35
    25
    13
    20
See reviews for
16
69
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Room 2 (Terrace Sea View) was lovely. All was as the website states. Great attention to detail which balanced the cost.

The terraces for rooms 1 & 2 are close to each other which made the smoking on terrace 1 unpleasant for me; fortunately this was just 1 day.

My only complaint about the room is that the door breeze and fan aren't angled at the bed enough, so i wasn't able to use the mosquito net (which blocks air).

The area is beautiful but heavily geared toward gringo tourists, even a hotel called My Way, all of which is what I wanted to get away from.

I found mosquitos / gnats / deer flies in the area (not hotel) to be a problem. Beware; use DEET.

Room Tip: Room 2 is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
175 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I only stayed at the Tulum Bay hotel for one night. I found it to be a pleasant change from the more brash and corporate hotels. It reminded me of my beach hutting days of my youth - but with touches of luxury. There is wi-fi, although this tends to be available outside in the public areas. My room had an en-suite bathroom, with toiletries; a fan; bottled water and a comfortable bed with mosquito net. It faced the main road and was opposite a live music bar but the noise did not continue too late into the night and it was rather pleasant to lie in bed listening.

There is a little private beach with a couple of double beds and hammocks as well as the standard sun beds. The sea was fine for cooling dips but was a bit rough and rocky for swimming. I walked 3 km up the road to the beautiful beaches along the national park. There are numerous taxis available for trips further afield.

The hotel is powered solely by renewable energy which I found impressive. It has no bar or dining facilities but there is a nice place opposite and numerous bars, cafes and hotels lining the main road. This is not a fancy hotel but is a very pleasant retreat in a laid-back, cheerful stretch of the coast. I arrived at the ADO bus station at Tulum Town and a taxi to the hotel cost me 70 pesos. Most people seemed to get around by cycling. There's a lovely straight road with a path at the side for some of the way.

Last- but definitely not least- the staff at this hotel were charming, friendly and extremely helpful. They spoke excellent English and went out of their way to assist me. I would certainly return and recommend this hotel for those seeking a great value but basic retreat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElectraCooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario .
Esperamos volver a verlo .
TBAY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Tulum Bay Hotel during our one week New Year's vacation and we could not be happier with the stay, service, location etc. Everything was just great. We were originally booked for Posada Punta Piedra, but due to some issues with the room they moved us to Tulum Bay Hotel and at the end things worked out great. The accommodation was spacious and clean, yes, you do not get the details available at a resort, but you do not come to Tulum for that, at least we did not. The property is nice with direct access to the beach, even though when windy, the beach gets covered with seaweed, but they do the best to clean it up. The staff was friendly and accommodating. In terms of food, the hotel has their own restaurant close to the beach and the hotel itself is right accross from two restaurants with great food options. Another plus, they have a small parking in case you rent a car. To conclude,if we ever return to Tulum we would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SabinaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Propietario at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario ,fue un gusto que pudiéramos alojarlos en nuestro pequeño hotel .
Esperamos verlos pronto .
Emiliana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for first two nights of a 10 night stay in Tulum, wished I had booked for the entire trip! It was a tiny paradise with its own charming beach character. From the moment I stepped out of the taxi and down the hotel's shady front steps to the sandy courtyard I knew I'd found a gem. The rooms are simple but nice, decorated in bright whites and blues. Each with its own cushioned wicker chair out front for enjoying the nice weather (and strong wifi signal). But the best part is the quiet, sheltered beach (shared only with one other small hotel). Clean blue lounge chairs and grass umbrellas are available for guests, along with hammocks and beach beds. On the way to the beach is a wooden staircase that leads up to an incredible look out deck with two chairs for enjoying the stunning views. While the hotel is located at the less touristy end of the Tulum Beach road, there are still plenty of restaurants within steps. I had excellent meals at Mivido, Mateos and the Papaya Playa Project. And there's a bike rental place a few doors down, making it easy to explore the ruins or other end of the beach. I highly recommend the TulumBay hotel!

Room Tip: Room 6 has two Queen beds, but does face the road so I appreciated having earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Google Translation
Es una alegría muy grande para nosotros que los clientes estén tan cómodos en nuestras cabañas .
Gracias por sus comentarios .
Tulum Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in Tulumbay for 4 nights.
We are happy for our choice!
Rooms are clean,they can be a little bit loud since they face on the main street and bar have music but it's not a big deal.
Th staff is amazing, Pedro the security guy,all the receptionists were great and helpful and the housekeeper is a nice lady.
You have a beautiful private beach and they give you free filtered water, and also you have an amazing view terrace where you can watch the sunset.
You will be very happy and prices are reasonable.
Go there!

Room Tip: Maybe they should include a breakfast or something in order to make the place more competitive. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farfallina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Google Translation
Todos los comentarios son buenos para que podamos mejorar , les damos las gracias por su comentario .
Emiliana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

TulumBay was a very charming little hotel. There is no longer a restaurant or bar open at the hotel, but it is very easy to buy drinks from the neighboring hotel when you are on the beach. If you are looking for the kinds of comforts that you would find in a resort (AC, TVs, hair dryers, etc), then you need to book a room at a resort. The staff was helpful and polite and our room was very clean. The hotel does have Wi-Fi, so if you just have to watch a movie, you can bring your iPad and lay in bed. 2 of the restuarants across the street will have live bands on some nights, so you might be able to hear the music at night. If you plan on going to bed before midnight, bring a pair of earplugs or try to make sure you get a room on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel. The roaring of the ocean is enough to almost entirely drown out the music from the bars across the street. If we go back to Tulum, we will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajacks00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex75, Gerente at TulumBay Eco Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Google Translation
Todas las opiniones son buenas para nosotros .
Nos alegra mucho su comentario de que nuestros cuartos son muy limpios es muy importante para nuestro personal ser reconocidos por su trabajo .
Esperamos volver a verlos
Emilian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#69 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#25 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#18 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Punta Piedra Beach Posada
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tunich
Hotel Tunich
#24 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CalaLuna Tulum
Hotel CalaLuna Tulum
#48 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TulumBay Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TulumBay Eco Beach

Property: TulumBay Eco Beach
Address: Tulum Ruinas Boca Paila Km 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TulumBay Eco Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TULUMBAY is THE IDEAL PLACE FOR A RELAXING HOLIDAY, YOU CAN REST IN OUR PRIVATE BEACH, MISS THE SPECTACULAR VIEWS OF OUR TERRACE, ALL IN A FAMILY ATMOSPHERE Our hotel is situated directly in front the sea in an area of many kinds of restaurants and shops, 3 km from the archaeological site and a 5 km from the magical pueblo of Tulum. Decorated in a simple and friendly with local products like wood, palapa and clean cement. We are an eco-Hotel that produce electricity with wind power and solar Panel. We offer: breakfast, bottled water, fan, beach towels, private beach, solarium, relaxation area with hammocks and sofas, wi-fi, parking, 24 hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your TulumBay Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing