We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish credit cards accepted”
Review of Simple

Simple
Ranked #64 of 407 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Simple we know and respect each ingredient we use, that’s why our menu turns out to be original, simple, and unique. In it we gather the taste of the Pacific, preparing grilled and roasted fish, seafood and vegetables; meat and poultry, cooked in their own juices with the preparation of your choice. We offer portions by the weight designed to be shared (we also offer individual portions), as well as natural and buzzing beverages, in the middle of a cozy atmosphere where you will feel treated just like home. Simple is a family-owned and family-operated restaurant where you will find trust, kindness, happiness, party, music and dancing.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fish credit cards accepted”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Had been to a Simple last year and had good experience so we decided to go back...had the pargo or northern red snapper and it was sessoned well and cooked to perfection...sides we ordered were grilled vegetables and the black beans( little salty)...had 2 gitano mojitos which have vodka instead of rum and they add ginger...meal with tip which is included was 963...everything along hotel row is very expensive at least here u can pay with credit...so far we have been paying between 80 to 125 usd for all of our "shared dinners" which is pretty bad considering it only one entré.

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    124
    40
    25
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The best meal on my Mexican trip. The whole fish (I purchased half) was prepared simple and tasty. The owner Richie was very attentive and make our stay at this restaurant very pleasant. Highly recommended for those who love sea food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great flavor”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is another top notch place for dinner in Tulum. Great menu with many different flavors. They also had a great dessert and wine menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“worst experience in Tulum”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We ate here 2 weeks ago after our hotel recommended Simple to us.
The concept is very 'simple', and is one we know very well.
Unfortunately they make it very complicated.

You can choose your fish in the counter and they charge it per 100 grams.
After asking how much my fish weighed the waiter said it was around 300 grams, and they would take of the head and the bones. After receiving my fish i already knew it was going to be very expensive. the fish was at least 600 grams and still had the head and the bones.
It was a very nice red snapper, but not the best meal i had in Tulum so far.
The whole concept makes you feel like they are trying to swindle you, like they are not honest to make a buck.


The service was ok, but not very warm or welcoming. The youngest waiters don't see any work. While receiving our main plate the young waiter kept staring at the plates that were still there from the starters. It was like he didn't realize that you have to clear the table after a course. they didn't feel our glasses, etc. One was even dancing instead of working.

They got the bill 3 !! time wrong. Every time there was something on it that we didn't order and every time it got MORE expensive. Very strange.

When i spend a lot of money for a 'simple meal' i expect to be the service to be EXCELLENT.
I expect to know in advance how much my meal is going to costs.
I don't want to be counting during my meal.

Simple, you have to fine tune your concept and the service so people don't have the feeling they get swindled. Just charge your fish one price like they do in la camella.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassykooymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichyZTulum, Propietario at Simple, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Customer, please help me to understand why you are so mad at us. we have calot of choices of fish, you can order whole or fillet the price of both is on disply and for your easier understanding is calculated for every 3.5oz or 100g as is displayed. you eat genorosly aand people treat you well , our prices are very competitive for the area and the quality that we offer. and really we dont need to steal from you. thank you for coming and we hope we can serve you in the future.

Sincerely

Ricardo Zapata
Chef and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Fish in Tulum”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The best Spanish style fish I have ever eaten. Cooked slowly over charcoal. The fish melted in my mouth. The Lime pie was out of the world. The ambiance, decor, music was fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Playaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simple also viewed

 

Been to Simple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing